starstolenwritings

Writing, Family and More

NaNoWriMo 2016 – Day 12 – 41431

I’m so glad I make a statement that I might have a lower word count over the next few days due to this cold and then go over and write my day’s allotment before 10am. I wouldn’t say I was overly inspired to write yesterday, but once I got started, I was on a roll and just didn’t stop (except for a short break around 2.5k) until I made the daily goal.

I toyed with the idea yesterday that technically parts of my novel fall under the realm of “fan fiction,” but even if it is, it is only for one small section of it (granted that section is already up to 10k). I never make reference to a specific real game, though one of them it is pretty obvious that I have a specific game in mind for the actions the characters take. It is arguable in any case, that the section of the “dwarven settlers” is too similar to Dwarf Fortress. In all likelihood, I won’t have to worry about it for this specific story, but if I did publish, I’ll have to make sure I review the content from Bay 12 Games to make sure I’m not infringing anywhere. They make a great game by the way, if you are looking for a civilization simulation with a strange bent on dwarves and doing crazy things with engineering… Oh and something with ASCII graphics and an incredibly steep learning curve.

I’ve started most of the sections of the story at this point. The only one I haven’t touched upon is the “Gods” section – which is an analog to chess.

dungeon-board-game

And of course, because I can’t seem to stop thinking, while I was playing a game of Dungeon! with my boys yesterday, I thought that I could restructure the whole story to be based on board games rather than video games… it would require more rewriting, but I think I like the idea better overall. We’ll see though. First, I need to get through the draft.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 13, 2016 by in NaNoWriMo and tagged , , , , , .
Do Not Get Sick in the Sink, Please

Humor and Sex. Mostly Sex.

just a dad with disney questions

reading into things way too much...

Finding Faeries

My continuing mission to explore ... magic

Learning to Love Anywhere

it's a beautiful existence...

ffeathers

A technical writing and fiction blog by Sarah Maddox

My Hike, 2014

I don't want to get to the end of my life and regret that I didn't do this

18 Wheels and a 12-Speed Bike

It's a beautiful country, but you're going to miss most of it if you spend your free time in the truck stop lounge. Travel tips and pics for truckers and others.

kellysgratitudegarden

a gratitude offering...

Pierr Morgan

Wild Observations Walking

Karma on the Trail

"'That's good for a beginning,' said Frodo. 'I feel like walking.'"

Rejection Love Letters

or A thousand ways to say 'NO!'

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Shannon A Thompson

You need the world, and the world needs good people.

ChopperPapa

go to Chopperpapa.com

Musings of A Learning Pro

Writing, Family and More

Today's Author

Fostering a community of creative writers through articles, comments, writing prompts and a healthy, supportive environment.

Gabrielle Edits

Writing, Family and More

Annema

Anne chews the fat

Do Not Get Sick in the Sink, Please

Humor and Sex. Mostly Sex.

just a dad with disney questions

reading into things way too much...

Finding Faeries

My continuing mission to explore ... magic

Learning to Love Anywhere

it's a beautiful existence...

ffeathers

A technical writing and fiction blog by Sarah Maddox

My Hike, 2014

I don't want to get to the end of my life and regret that I didn't do this

18 Wheels and a 12-Speed Bike

It's a beautiful country, but you're going to miss most of it if you spend your free time in the truck stop lounge. Travel tips and pics for truckers and others.

kellysgratitudegarden

a gratitude offering...

Pierr Morgan

Wild Observations Walking

Karma on the Trail

"'That's good for a beginning,' said Frodo. 'I feel like walking.'"

Rejection Love Letters

or A thousand ways to say 'NO!'

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Shannon A Thompson

You need the world, and the world needs good people.

ChopperPapa

go to Chopperpapa.com

Musings of A Learning Pro

Writing, Family and More

Today's Author

Fostering a community of creative writers through articles, comments, writing prompts and a healthy, supportive environment.

Gabrielle Edits

Writing, Family and More

Annema

Anne chews the fat

