starstolenwritings

Writing, Family and More

NaNoWriMo 2016 – Day 7 – 28101

I am happy to say, I am still sitting down with this story and want to write it the rest of the way. I am excited to sit down and write it because it is going so well. I had to fight with myself because there are things I still should be doing other than writing, and I am busy thinking up the next few scenes of the story instead.

In the midst of the second story arc right now. I found myself thinking I could pretty easily add a fifth thread the other day; today I came up with a sixth too. I’m happy to have the prolific mind right now. It will save me if I end up needing to pad the word count at the end, but I know most of it would end up getting cut if I went that route.

The kids wanted to hear more of the story today, but I didn’t do that. I regret that now, even though the reason at the moment was sound (my son wasn’t done with his homework yet and was trying not to do it). I’ll remedy it tomorrow if I can find a segment that I think they’ll want to hear.

One piece that I know will need to be rewritten out of today’s content is some “in game chat” that I wrote for the three characters when they weren’t in each others’ physical company. I wrote it as if they were speaking normally – this would need to be converted to “chat speak.” The problem is, I abhor chat speak. About the only one I use is “lol” and that’s only because it is universal with the people I associate with at home and at work.

So that will need to be fixed to something I would hate to write myself. I might leave it alone just so it doesn’t bother me, but I think it will read better if it was more “authentic” to the mode I was working in.

Oh, I also had the 11-year old use a regular cordless telephone (not a mobile phone). I know for some that might be a little too unrealistic in this day and age, but I couldn’t picture this kid having a phone of her own yet. That might end up getting changed later, but for now, I think it works okay in the scenario. We’ll see though. It might end up on the floor at some point.

In other news, although I like the ability to set my own goal in WriteWay Pro, I think I still prefer the chart I have on NaNo. Maybe it is because it makes it look like I’m doing awesome rather than just barely ahead of pace:

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 8, 2016 by in NaNoWriMo and tagged , , , , .
Do Not Get Sick in the Sink, Please

Humor and Sex. Mostly Sex.

just a dad with disney questions

reading into things way too much...

Finding Faeries

My continuing mission to explore ... magic

Learning to Love Anywhere

it's a beautiful existence...

ffeathers

A technical writing and fiction blog by Sarah Maddox

My Hike, 2014

I don't want to get to the end of my life and regret that I didn't do this

18 Wheels and a 12-Speed Bike

It's a beautiful country, but you're going to miss most of it if you spend your free time in the truck stop lounge. Travel tips and pics for truckers and others.

kellysgratitudegarden

a gratitude offering...

Pierr Morgan

Wild Observations Walking

Karma on the Trail

"'That's good for a beginning,' said Frodo. 'I feel like walking.'"

Rejection Love Letters

or A thousand ways to say 'NO!'

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Shannon A Thompson

You need the world, and the world needs good people.

ChopperPapa

go to Chopperpapa.com

Musings of A Learning Pro

Writing, Family and More

Today's Author

Fostering a community of creative writers through articles, comments, writing prompts and a healthy, supportive environment.

Gabrielle Edits

Writing, Family and More

Annema

Anne chews the fat

Do Not Get Sick in the Sink, Please

Humor and Sex. Mostly Sex.

just a dad with disney questions

reading into things way too much...

Finding Faeries

My continuing mission to explore ... magic

Learning to Love Anywhere

it's a beautiful existence...

ffeathers

A technical writing and fiction blog by Sarah Maddox

My Hike, 2014

I don't want to get to the end of my life and regret that I didn't do this

18 Wheels and a 12-Speed Bike

It's a beautiful country, but you're going to miss most of it if you spend your free time in the truck stop lounge. Travel tips and pics for truckers and others.

kellysgratitudegarden

a gratitude offering...

Pierr Morgan

Wild Observations Walking

Karma on the Trail

"'That's good for a beginning,' said Frodo. 'I feel like walking.'"

Rejection Love Letters

or A thousand ways to say 'NO!'

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Shannon A Thompson

You need the world, and the world needs good people.

ChopperPapa

go to Chopperpapa.com

Musings of A Learning Pro

Writing, Family and More

Today's Author

Fostering a community of creative writers through articles, comments, writing prompts and a healthy, supportive environment.

Gabrielle Edits

Writing, Family and More

Annema

Anne chews the fat

