starstolenwritings

Writing, Family and More

More Story Ideas

Not uncommon for the weeks before NaNo, I’ve been flooded with a bit of “inspiration” for other stories I would like to write. Sometimes these stories I end up just pocketing away for the future, and sometimes I even remember to jot down some notes so that I can work with it later. Most of the time, however, I don’t.

The end result of this lack of notetaking is I end up forgetting about the story that I might otherwise have written. Truly a nasty thing to have happen.

This time, I did get a couple of the ideas put down. One is right in my wheelhouse – a fantasy adventure story with non-humanoid creatures as the main drivers of the story (though humans/humanoids may have a part to play). This one draws some influence from Jacques’s Redwall series, though only very loosely.

The other is so far out of my comfort zone, I have to admit it is getting me a bit excited with the prospect of it. I’m not a political man by any means, and the current political drama that is unfolding for the election is most likely part of the inspiration behind this particular story. The basic premise is modern day United States at election time where two candidates emerge that make a historic running for the President’s seat.

Unfortunately, since I am not in any way a political man, I would have to do a bit of research about this to do it justice. My own, sad, lack of knowledge about requirements and how the process works are only the cusp of it as well.

This particular idea strikes me just because it would be a story focused on the people. Since my people don’t always have a lot of depth to them, this is an opportunity for me to expand my horizons.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 10, 2016 by in NaNoWriMo, Writing and tagged , , , , , .
Do Not Get Sick in the Sink, Please

Humor and Sex. Mostly Sex.

just a dad with disney questions

reading into things way too much...

Finding Faeries

My continuing mission to explore ... magic

Learning to Love Anywhere

it's a beautiful existence...

ffeathers

A technical writing and fiction blog by Sarah Maddox

My Hike, 2014

I don't want to get to the end of my life and regret that I didn't do this

18 Wheels and a 12-Speed Bike

It's a beautiful country, but you're going to miss most of it if you spend your free time in the truck stop lounge. Travel tips and pics for truckers and others.

kellysgratitudegarden

a gratitude offering...

Pierr Morgan

Wild Observations Walking

Karma on the Trail

"'That's good for a beginning,' said Frodo. 'I feel like walking.'"

Rejection Love Letters

or A thousand ways to say 'NO!'

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Shannon A Thompson

You need the world, and the world needs good people.

ChopperPapa

go to Chopperpapa.com

Musings of A Learning Pro

Writing, Family and More

Today's Author

Fostering a community of creative writers through articles, comments, writing prompts and a healthy, supportive environment.

Gabrielle Edits

Writing, Family and More

Annema

Anne chews the fat

Do Not Get Sick in the Sink, Please

Humor and Sex. Mostly Sex.

just a dad with disney questions

reading into things way too much...

Finding Faeries

My continuing mission to explore ... magic

Learning to Love Anywhere

it's a beautiful existence...

ffeathers

A technical writing and fiction blog by Sarah Maddox

My Hike, 2014

I don't want to get to the end of my life and regret that I didn't do this

18 Wheels and a 12-Speed Bike

It's a beautiful country, but you're going to miss most of it if you spend your free time in the truck stop lounge. Travel tips and pics for truckers and others.

kellysgratitudegarden

a gratitude offering...

Pierr Morgan

Wild Observations Walking

Karma on the Trail

"'That's good for a beginning,' said Frodo. 'I feel like walking.'"

Rejection Love Letters

or A thousand ways to say 'NO!'

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Shannon A Thompson

You need the world, and the world needs good people.

ChopperPapa

go to Chopperpapa.com

Musings of A Learning Pro

Writing, Family and More

Today's Author

Fostering a community of creative writers through articles, comments, writing prompts and a healthy, supportive environment.

Gabrielle Edits

Writing, Family and More

Annema

Anne chews the fat

