starstolenwritings

Writing, Family and More

NaNo Prep – Scene Outline Continued

I have to say, I’ve been bugged by only having twelve scenes in my scene outline. I sat down tonight to get that doubled or tripled, but the more I looked into it, I think I’m already at that point, I just wasn’t counting it right.

For each “scene”, I jotted down three or four bullets about what would happen in the scene. However, these scenes were conceptually much larger than the scenes in a scene outline are “supposed to be.” I tossed that thought around and decided for myself (and that’s who matters in this particular case), that each individual bullet could count as a scene in the traditional sense of where this idea came from. Even so, some of those bullets might still be double or triple the anticipated word count.

So just by reframing my mind on the project, I went from 12 up to 36. I couldn’t just leave it there though, because that meant I didn’t actually get any prep work done tonight, so I added a few, jotted down some more notes. I added some reminders to myself to make sure to thoroughly describe the scene and give the characters their due. I focused on one of the four threads and fleshed out what I wanted to accomplish.

End result? 18 bullets for the first thread. Hopefully, that will translate into 9-18k in words when I get to writing. Looking at what I want to accomplish in that thread and assuming I don’t revert to my minimalistic ways, I should be going pretty strong. However, if I want to hit 100k this year, I should plan on running long in each thread – not short. So, I’ll see where I can add some more in the coming days.

I still haven’t touched the third thread. It might still get cut – which is another reason to boost up the count in the other areas as well.

In other news, I read tonight about a local writers’ group that is starting up. I haven’t actively sought one out before, but now that one has popped up in my area, I think it is high time I get myself to one and see what I can do about making my writing really take off. We’ll see though.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 7, 2016 by in NaNoWriMo, Writing and tagged , , , .
Do Not Get Sick in the Sink, Please

Humor and Sex. Mostly Sex.

just a dad with disney questions

reading into things way too much...

Finding Faeries

My continuing mission to explore ... magic

Learning to Love Anywhere

it's a beautiful existence...

ffeathers

A technical writing and fiction blog by Sarah Maddox

My Hike, 2014

I don't want to get to the end of my life and regret that I didn't do this

18 Wheels and a 12-Speed Bike

It's a beautiful country, but you're going to miss most of it if you spend your free time in the truck stop lounge. Travel tips and pics for truckers and others.

kellysgratitudegarden

a gratitude offering...

Pierr Morgan

Wild Observations Walking

Karma on the Trail

"'That's good for a beginning,' said Frodo. 'I feel like walking.'"

Rejection Love Letters

or A thousand ways to say 'NO!'

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Shannon A Thompson

You need the world, and the world needs good people.

ChopperPapa

go to Chopperpapa.com

Musings of A Learning Pro

Writing, Family and More

Today's Author

Fostering a community of creative writers through articles, comments, writing prompts and a healthy, supportive environment.

Gabrielle Edits

Writing, Family and More

Annema

Anne chews the fat

Do Not Get Sick in the Sink, Please

Humor and Sex. Mostly Sex.

just a dad with disney questions

reading into things way too much...

Finding Faeries

My continuing mission to explore ... magic

Learning to Love Anywhere

it's a beautiful existence...

ffeathers

A technical writing and fiction blog by Sarah Maddox

My Hike, 2014

I don't want to get to the end of my life and regret that I didn't do this

18 Wheels and a 12-Speed Bike

It's a beautiful country, but you're going to miss most of it if you spend your free time in the truck stop lounge. Travel tips and pics for truckers and others.

kellysgratitudegarden

a gratitude offering...

Pierr Morgan

Wild Observations Walking

Karma on the Trail

"'That's good for a beginning,' said Frodo. 'I feel like walking.'"

Rejection Love Letters

or A thousand ways to say 'NO!'

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Shannon A Thompson

You need the world, and the world needs good people.

ChopperPapa

go to Chopperpapa.com

Musings of A Learning Pro

Writing, Family and More

Today's Author

Fostering a community of creative writers through articles, comments, writing prompts and a healthy, supportive environment.

Gabrielle Edits

Writing, Family and More

Annema

Anne chews the fat

