starstolenwritings

Writing, Family and More

NaNoWriMo 2016

I’m determined to be prepared for this year’s NaNo event. I’m still not sure what I’ll be writing, but in order to be as prepared as I can be at this point, I’ve started culling together notes for stories I would like to draft in the hopes that one of them will end up being the one I work on for the month of November.

One of these stories is tentatively called On / Off – a speculative fiction story with four threads. At the moment, I have them arranged in my outline as happening one after the other, but it will take writing it to know whether I need to weave them together or leave them as they are. I’ll write them independently of each other most likely though, because while they are not altogether separate, the details internal to each one will need to be pretty specific to make it all work.

At the moment, I have a very rough outline of the story and its four threads. Over the next few days, I’m planning to flesh out some characters, and maybe put together scene outlines. As always, I’m planning on this being at least fifty thousand words, but I’d actually like it to work out to be closer to one hundred thousand as a finished project. In order to make that a successful venture though, I’ll need to push myself harder and to stretch my limits. 50k is a win by NaNo standards; 100k is my ultimate goal though.

While I was going through my outline today, I found myself asking questions about the notes I had taken. Rather than answer them all right now though, I’ve left the questions in the notes – things like “What makes this section compelling?” and “Will this thread even be needed?” Hopefully I’ll figure them out through investigation into the prep work.

There is the possibility that this story doesn’t end up being the one I choose for NaNo this year, but even if not, I want it to be ready to work on it soon. I think it might have a limited shelf life, so it would be best to get it written sooner rather than later. If I do end up picking something else before November for that matter, I might start working on it right away. We’ll see how the next week unfolds though.

One comment on “NaNoWriMo 2016

  1. Kathy Palm
    September 12, 2016

    You got this!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 12, 2016 by in NaNoWriMo and tagged , , , , .
Do Not Get Sick in the Sink, Please

Humor and Sex. Mostly Sex.

just a dad with disney questions

reading into things way too much...

Finding Faeries

My continuing mission to explore ... magic

Learning to Love Anywhere

it's a beautiful existence...

ffeathers

A technical writing and fiction blog by Sarah Maddox

My Hike, 2014

I don't want to get to the end of my life and regret that I didn't do this

18 Wheels and a 12-Speed Bike

It's a beautiful country, but you're going to miss most of it if you spend your free time in the truck stop lounge. Travel tips and pics for truckers and others.

kellysgratitudegarden

a gratitude offering...

Pierr Morgan

Wild Observations Walking

Karma on the Trail

"'That's good for a beginning,' said Frodo. 'I feel like walking.'"

Rejection Love Letters

or A thousand ways to say 'NO!'

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Shannon A Thompson

You need the world, and the world needs good people.

ChopperPapa

go to Chopperpapa.com

Musings of A Learning Pro

Writing, Family and More

Today's Author

Fostering a community of creative writers through articles, comments, writing prompts and a healthy, supportive environment.

Gabrielle Edits

Writing, Family and More

Annema

Anne chews the fat

Do Not Get Sick in the Sink, Please

Humor and Sex. Mostly Sex.

just a dad with disney questions

reading into things way too much...

Finding Faeries

My continuing mission to explore ... magic

Learning to Love Anywhere

it's a beautiful existence...

ffeathers

A technical writing and fiction blog by Sarah Maddox

My Hike, 2014

I don't want to get to the end of my life and regret that I didn't do this

18 Wheels and a 12-Speed Bike

It's a beautiful country, but you're going to miss most of it if you spend your free time in the truck stop lounge. Travel tips and pics for truckers and others.

kellysgratitudegarden

a gratitude offering...

Pierr Morgan

Wild Observations Walking

Karma on the Trail

"'That's good for a beginning,' said Frodo. 'I feel like walking.'"

Rejection Love Letters

or A thousand ways to say 'NO!'

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Shannon A Thompson

You need the world, and the world needs good people.

ChopperPapa

go to Chopperpapa.com

Musings of A Learning Pro

Writing, Family and More

Today's Author

Fostering a community of creative writers through articles, comments, writing prompts and a healthy, supportive environment.

Gabrielle Edits

Writing, Family and More

Annema

Anne chews the fat

