starstolenwritings

Writing, Family and More

Jacoby Figurine

A few weeks ago, I sent Jacoby Figurine off to my cousin, Kathy, because she offered to read it and give it some, much needed, feedback. She was the original reader some years ago and it had gone through a complete transformation since then. (Kathy also has a blog which I read as often as I can: Finding Faeries)

One of the pieces of advice she gave me in the original version and this one though stayed the same: my setting needs work. I don’t like to have long sections that deal with setting up the time and place of the story, so I have a tendency to only sprinkle in the details that I feel are necessary. What this does mean though is my reader is left feeling like the world couldn’t exist.

Today, I spent some time working on that aspect of the story though and I found myself liking how it was going. Now I need to get myself working on the story again on a more regular basis. It was so long ago when I first started on it that I can’t recall all of the details right off the tip of my fingers (and my notes are woefully missing… or rather, I never made any…).

In any case, more work to get done and we’ll see how it goes.

Also, I’m keenly aware of the date – less than two months away from NaNoWriMo. I haven’t put in thought on what to work on this year and I want to have a solid outline this year. If I don’t have the outline, I’ll definitely need a strong idea to drive me. If I come up with nothing else, I have the story “On/Off” that I drafted an outline on earlier this year and that is on my list of stories I need to write anyway.

With respect to reading, I’m in the middle of two books right now. I’m on the 5th book in Tui T. Sutherland’s Wings of Fire series. Three of the kids have found the series spellbinding and I enjoyed reading pieces of it with them (but they kept on reading ahead, so I inevitably only caught portions of it). Earlier this year, I read through the Kane Chronicles trilogy by Rick Riordan and enjoyed the fast pace they provided as well.

I’m also reading Ender’s Shadow by Orson Scott Card with my wife. I can’t say enough good things about reading a book out loud or hearing someone else read it. We’ve already made it through the five books in the main series (Ender’s Game, Ender in Exile, Speaker for the Dead, Xenocide, and Children of the Mind) and embarked on Ender’s Shadow recently. We both felt that Children of the Mind was getting a little long, but enjoyed the books previous to it and Ender’s Shadow feels refreshing now.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 4, 2016 by in Writing and tagged , , , , , , , .
Do Not Get Sick in the Sink, Please

Humor and Sex. Mostly Sex.

just a dad with disney questions

reading into things way too much...

Finding Faeries

My continuing mission to explore ... magic

Learning to Love Anywhere

it's a beautiful existence...

ffeathers

A technical writing and fiction blog by Sarah Maddox

My Hike, 2014

I don't want to get to the end of my life and regret that I didn't do this

18 Wheels and a 12-Speed Bike

It's a beautiful country, but you're going to miss most of it if you spend your free time in the truck stop lounge. Travel tips and pics for truckers and others.

kellysgratitudegarden

a gratitude offering...

Pierr Morgan

Wild Observations Walking

Karma on the Trail

"'That's good for a beginning,' said Frodo. 'I feel like walking.'"

Rejection Love Letters

or A thousand ways to say 'NO!'

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Shannon A Thompson

You need the world, and the world needs good people.

ChopperPapa

go to Chopperpapa.com

Musings of A Learning Pro

Writing, Family and More

Today's Author

Fostering a community of creative writers through articles, comments, writing prompts and a healthy, supportive environment.

Gabrielle Edits

Writing, Family and More

Annema

Anne chews the fat

Do Not Get Sick in the Sink, Please

Humor and Sex. Mostly Sex.

just a dad with disney questions

reading into things way too much...

Finding Faeries

My continuing mission to explore ... magic

Learning to Love Anywhere

it's a beautiful existence...

ffeathers

A technical writing and fiction blog by Sarah Maddox

My Hike, 2014

I don't want to get to the end of my life and regret that I didn't do this

18 Wheels and a 12-Speed Bike

It's a beautiful country, but you're going to miss most of it if you spend your free time in the truck stop lounge. Travel tips and pics for truckers and others.

kellysgratitudegarden

a gratitude offering...

Pierr Morgan

Wild Observations Walking

Karma on the Trail

"'That's good for a beginning,' said Frodo. 'I feel like walking.'"

Rejection Love Letters

or A thousand ways to say 'NO!'

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Shannon A Thompson

You need the world, and the world needs good people.

ChopperPapa

go to Chopperpapa.com

Musings of A Learning Pro

Writing, Family and More

Today's Author

Fostering a community of creative writers through articles, comments, writing prompts and a healthy, supportive environment.

Gabrielle Edits

Writing, Family and More

Annema

Anne chews the fat

