starstolenwritings

Writing, Family and More

Day 6, 2394

I took a break yesterday. I’ll blame my cousin Kathy for it, but it really isn’t her fault (and this is just a shameless plug for her blog…). The truth is I was tired and didn’t want to slog through it yesterday.

I think taking breaks is a good idea, but it is important to make sure they are measured. Just because you can take a break at any time, you need to take care that it is only a break. I set a goal for every break, just like I set a goal for the writing when I set myself to it.

For instance, I told myself last night that I have a good long time on Saturday to write and I should make up some of the lost words on Friday night as well. With that in mind, I took my break.

Tonight’s writing session went very well and as you can see I made up about half of the words I didn’t write yesterday. The goal for the end of day six is 10,000 words, and I’m sitting at 9,281 right now. With most of the morning and early afternoon at my disposal, I’m hoping to knock out three or four thousand tomorrow. Hopefully I don’t load up my morning with too many chores 🙂

The story is not progressing quite the way I was expecting. I said it would be a high fantasy story, but the reality is it doesn’t have any of those elements quite yet. Sure there are fantastic elements, but they could be explained a little differently and the setting could otherwise be a tale from the 1200s. I’m not sure yet if I’ll steer away from that – I’m having a good time writing this so far.

3 comments on “Day 6, 2394

  1. Kathy Palm
    November 7, 2015

    You can blame me…that’s okay.
    Breaks are OKAY! And you’re rockin’ the words! Woohoo!

    • starstealer363
      November 8, 2015

      Fine I blame you. Envious too – how’s the book sales doing?

      • Kathy Palm
        November 8, 2015

        Have a few stories in anthologies, but my book is still in edits and won’t be out until next year. I am working on the sequel. This writing thing takes forever. Keep going!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 7, 2015 by in NaNoWriMo and tagged , , , , .
Do Not Get Sick in the Sink, Please

Humor and Sex. Mostly Sex.

just a dad with disney questions

reading into things way too much...

Finding Faeries

My continuing mission to explore ... magic

Learning to Love Anywhere

it's a beautiful existence...

ffeathers

A technical writing and fiction blog by Sarah Maddox

My Hike, 2014

I don't want to get to the end of my life and regret that I didn't do this

18 Wheels and a 12-Speed Bike

It's a beautiful country, but you're going to miss most of it if you spend your free time in the truck stop lounge. Travel tips and pics for truckers and others.

kellysgratitudegarden

a gratitude offering...

Pierr Morgan

Wild Observations Walking

Karma on the Trail

"'That's good for a beginning,' said Frodo. 'I feel like walking.'"

Rejection Love Letters

or A thousand ways to say 'NO!'

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Shannon A Thompson

You need the world, and the world needs good people.

ChopperPapa

go to Chopperpapa.com

Musings of A Learning Pro

Writing, Family and More

Today's Author

Fostering a community of creative writers through articles, comments, writing prompts and a healthy, supportive environment.

Gabrielle Edits

Writing, Family and More

Annema

Anne chews the fat

Do Not Get Sick in the Sink, Please

Humor and Sex. Mostly Sex.

just a dad with disney questions

reading into things way too much...

Finding Faeries

My continuing mission to explore ... magic

Learning to Love Anywhere

it's a beautiful existence...

ffeathers

A technical writing and fiction blog by Sarah Maddox

My Hike, 2014

I don't want to get to the end of my life and regret that I didn't do this

18 Wheels and a 12-Speed Bike

It's a beautiful country, but you're going to miss most of it if you spend your free time in the truck stop lounge. Travel tips and pics for truckers and others.

kellysgratitudegarden

a gratitude offering...

Pierr Morgan

Wild Observations Walking

Karma on the Trail

"'That's good for a beginning,' said Frodo. 'I feel like walking.'"

Rejection Love Letters

or A thousand ways to say 'NO!'

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Shannon A Thompson

You need the world, and the world needs good people.

ChopperPapa

go to Chopperpapa.com

Musings of A Learning Pro

Writing, Family and More

Today's Author

Fostering a community of creative writers through articles, comments, writing prompts and a healthy, supportive environment.

Gabrielle Edits

Writing, Family and More

Annema

Anne chews the fat

