starstolenwritings

Writing, Family and More

Day 3, 1816

Hinging off an idea my wife is using in school, I am tempted to make use of the “date-like” post titles as let’s look back at what happened on November 3, 1816. Unfortunately, I’m not as adept at finding things that are interesting and it served as a bit of a distraction when I should be heading to bed rather than surfing the web for random, unverifiable-at-10pm, “facts” about this day in history for a specific year.

I did find out that 1816 is regarded as the year without a summer due to a volcanic eruption the previous year. This interests me to learn more about it, but then again we are going off on a tangent I shall try to avoid a little bit…

Today’s writing was broken into three sessions – one while I was making dinner for about 400 words, another 800 after dinner, and then the tail end of 600 after the kids were in bed. I like this kind of progress because it never ends up feeling like a slog to get through (not that one session often feels that way – but it does rarely), and it helped me get done a little earlier than I was expecting since I did use that time earlier in the day.

The story itself is progressing a little slowly and I’m not sure I’m too fond of how it has started. I’m not following the outline at all (except for the character names I had picked out before the month started), but I think the story does have potential to get somewhere. The key for me will be to get there and not hate it.

I now have several kids wanting to use the computer each day… Although I cringe to think that the number of electronics this household has is not enough, I have to admit the reasoning is good. They all want to do some sort of writing! Well okay, the twins are looking for more coloring pages on most days, but they do tell a good story when asked.

Have a good writing day ahead all, and sleep well. It is early in the month and there is no time to get sick here.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 4, 2015 by in NaNoWriMo and tagged , , , , .
Do Not Get Sick in the Sink, Please

Humor and Sex. Mostly Sex.

just a dad with disney questions

reading into things way too much...

Finding Faeries

My continuing mission to explore ... magic

Learning to Love Anywhere

it's a beautiful existence...

ffeathers

A technical writing and fiction blog by Sarah Maddox

My Hike, 2014

I don't want to get to the end of my life and regret that I didn't do this

18 Wheels and a 12-Speed Bike

It's a beautiful country, but you're going to miss most of it if you spend your free time in the truck stop lounge. Travel tips and pics for truckers and others.

kellysgratitudegarden

a gratitude offering...

Pierr Morgan

Wild Observations Walking

Karma on the Trail

"'That's good for a beginning,' said Frodo. 'I feel like walking.'"

Rejection Love Letters

or A thousand ways to say 'NO!'

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Shannon A Thompson

You need the world, and the world needs good people.

ChopperPapa

go to Chopperpapa.com

Musings of A Learning Pro

Writing, Family and More

Today's Author

Fostering a community of creative writers through articles, comments, writing prompts and a healthy, supportive environment.

Gabrielle Edits

Writing, Family and More

Annema

Anne chews the fat

Do Not Get Sick in the Sink, Please

Humor and Sex. Mostly Sex.

just a dad with disney questions

reading into things way too much...

Finding Faeries

My continuing mission to explore ... magic

Learning to Love Anywhere

it's a beautiful existence...

ffeathers

A technical writing and fiction blog by Sarah Maddox

My Hike, 2014

I don't want to get to the end of my life and regret that I didn't do this

18 Wheels and a 12-Speed Bike

It's a beautiful country, but you're going to miss most of it if you spend your free time in the truck stop lounge. Travel tips and pics for truckers and others.

kellysgratitudegarden

a gratitude offering...

Pierr Morgan

Wild Observations Walking

Karma on the Trail

"'That's good for a beginning,' said Frodo. 'I feel like walking.'"

Rejection Love Letters

or A thousand ways to say 'NO!'

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Shannon A Thompson

You need the world, and the world needs good people.

ChopperPapa

go to Chopperpapa.com

Musings of A Learning Pro

Writing, Family and More

Today's Author

Fostering a community of creative writers through articles, comments, writing prompts and a healthy, supportive environment.

Gabrielle Edits

Writing, Family and More

Annema

Anne chews the fat

