starstolenwritings

Writing, Family and More

NaNoWriMo 2015, Day 1: 1670

I had lofty goals to start the day. I woke up around 5am (thank you kids!) and figured I could get in an early session before the rest of the kids were up. I was up late last night though, and of course I didn’t actually want to get up… so I didn’t. Still, I did get myself organized by 9am and started writing by 9:15am (it took me fifteen minutes to browse through the topics on the NaNoWriMo forum among other things… I really should just turn off the internet when I am working…). The initial scene came out naturally to me (as I was adapting one of the conversations I had with one of the six-year-olds the other day) and with only three interruptions (twice about candy before lunch and the other about electronics use), I managed to get my first day’s worth of writing done.

The writing part was over and done with after an hour. I like the opening so far and the protagonist is a little self-deprecating but not so much that I am going to get depressed reading my own story. I haven’t gotten too far into it of course – 1600 words is barely an introduction – but I’ve set up some of his troubles and referenced that he has family who will be partaking in his story.

My eleven-year-old daughter is also writing this year. We don’t know her word count due to the application she’s using, but on a quick guess over what she has written, I’d say she is pretty close to hitting 1600 words herself (if not more). My eight-year-old son is also working on the Dav Pilkey contest through Scholastic. Although I am not a fan of the Captain Underpants series, I’m happy to have him working on something creative (and I really like the superpowers he came up with!).

Anyway – so far 2015 is turning out to be a good NaNo. Day one usually looks pretty good in my experience, so this might be just the “new novel glow” but I’ll take it.

Onward and upward and have fun writing!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 2, 2015 by in NaNoWriMo and tagged , , , , , .
Do Not Get Sick in the Sink, Please

Humor and Sex. Mostly Sex.

just a dad with disney questions

reading into things way too much...

Finding Faeries

My continuing mission to explore ... magic

Learning to Love Anywhere

it's a beautiful existence...

ffeathers

A technical writing and fiction blog by Sarah Maddox

My Hike, 2014

I don't want to get to the end of my life and regret that I didn't do this

18 Wheels and a 12-Speed Bike

It's a beautiful country, but you're going to miss most of it if you spend your free time in the truck stop lounge. Travel tips and pics for truckers and others.

kellysgratitudegarden

a gratitude offering...

Pierr Morgan

Wild Observations Walking

Karma on the Trail

"'That's good for a beginning,' said Frodo. 'I feel like walking.'"

Rejection Love Letters

or A thousand ways to say 'NO!'

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Shannon A Thompson

You need the world, and the world needs good people.

ChopperPapa

go to Chopperpapa.com

Musings of A Learning Pro

Writing, Family and More

Today's Author

Fostering a community of creative writers through articles, comments, writing prompts and a healthy, supportive environment.

Gabrielle Edits

Writing, Family and More

Annema

Anne chews the fat

Do Not Get Sick in the Sink, Please

Humor and Sex. Mostly Sex.

just a dad with disney questions

reading into things way too much...

Finding Faeries

My continuing mission to explore ... magic

Learning to Love Anywhere

it's a beautiful existence...

ffeathers

A technical writing and fiction blog by Sarah Maddox

My Hike, 2014

I don't want to get to the end of my life and regret that I didn't do this

18 Wheels and a 12-Speed Bike

It's a beautiful country, but you're going to miss most of it if you spend your free time in the truck stop lounge. Travel tips and pics for truckers and others.

kellysgratitudegarden

a gratitude offering...

Pierr Morgan

Wild Observations Walking

Karma on the Trail

"'That's good for a beginning,' said Frodo. 'I feel like walking.'"

Rejection Love Letters

or A thousand ways to say 'NO!'

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Shannon A Thompson

You need the world, and the world needs good people.

ChopperPapa

go to Chopperpapa.com

Musings of A Learning Pro

Writing, Family and More

Today's Author

Fostering a community of creative writers through articles, comments, writing prompts and a healthy, supportive environment.

Gabrielle Edits

Writing, Family and More

Annema

Anne chews the fat

