starstolenwritings

Writing, Family and More

Progress?

Not all days will show progress, but some will and we’ll just have to see how often they are.

Last night, I imported the content of Slivers into WriteWay Pro and just perused the end (as it caught my eye). I remember now how hard it was for me to finish the first year of NaNoWriMo. I was struggling with 40k and only 2 days left. I had to pull out 5k per day in the last two and then I only put out around 3k on the 29th.

So with 1200 words left at about 11pm, I was in full-on panic mode and not sure I would find it in me to finish. The story itself was done, I just needed to hit that magical word count.

In other words, the last 1200 words are definitely getting cut without any consideration about keeping them. They are gone. They just don’t know it yet!

Today, I spent a little while working on my ideas for this year’s NaNoWriMo. I have two story ideas at the moment. One looks to me more like a short story (and maybe shorter than short…), but it would push my limits quite well and deal with content that is not in my comfort zone. The other is less ambitious in terms of challenging myself, but has elements that I have never seen in high fantasy writing before. The second idea is something I’ve been considering at the edge of my mind for some time as well, so in terms of mental preparation, I am a little more ready with that content.

I’m not sold on either story yet though, so I’m keeping my options open and willing to consider other ideas. Still have a few weeks until NaNo after all – no need to set my roots too deep on any one particular story yet.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 15, 2015 by in Writing and tagged , , .
Do Not Get Sick in the Sink, Please

Humor and Sex. Mostly Sex.

just a dad with disney questions

reading into things way too much...

Finding Faeries

My continuing mission to explore ... magic

Learning to Love Anywhere

it's a beautiful existence...

ffeathers

A technical writing and fiction blog by Sarah Maddox

My Hike, 2014

I don't want to get to the end of my life and regret that I didn't do this

18 Wheels and a 12-Speed Bike

It's a beautiful country, but you're going to miss most of it if you spend your free time in the truck stop lounge. Travel tips and pics for truckers and others.

kellysgratitudegarden

a gratitude offering...

Pierr Morgan

Wild Observations Walking

Karma on the Trail

"'That's good for a beginning,' said Frodo. 'I feel like walking.'"

Rejection Love Letters

or A thousand ways to say 'NO!'

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Shannon A Thompson

You need the world, and the world needs good people.

ChopperPapa

go to Chopperpapa.com

Musings of A Learning Pro

Writing, Family and More

Today's Author

Fostering a community of creative writers through articles, comments, writing prompts and a healthy, supportive environment.

Gabrielle Edits

Writing, Family and More

Annema

Anne chews the fat

Do Not Get Sick in the Sink, Please

Humor and Sex. Mostly Sex.

just a dad with disney questions

reading into things way too much...

Finding Faeries

My continuing mission to explore ... magic

Learning to Love Anywhere

it's a beautiful existence...

ffeathers

A technical writing and fiction blog by Sarah Maddox

My Hike, 2014

I don't want to get to the end of my life and regret that I didn't do this

18 Wheels and a 12-Speed Bike

It's a beautiful country, but you're going to miss most of it if you spend your free time in the truck stop lounge. Travel tips and pics for truckers and others.

kellysgratitudegarden

a gratitude offering...

Pierr Morgan

Wild Observations Walking

Karma on the Trail

"'That's good for a beginning,' said Frodo. 'I feel like walking.'"

Rejection Love Letters

or A thousand ways to say 'NO!'

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Shannon A Thompson

You need the world, and the world needs good people.

ChopperPapa

go to Chopperpapa.com

Musings of A Learning Pro

Writing, Family and More

Today's Author

Fostering a community of creative writers through articles, comments, writing prompts and a healthy, supportive environment.

Gabrielle Edits

Writing, Family and More

Annema

Anne chews the fat

