starstolenwritings

Writing, Family and More

Monthly Checkin – January

Just to recap, my goals for this year are to either write 10,000 words per month or edit for 20,000 words (or some combination where editing is worth about half of the writing). They were just numbers I picked out of the air, but I felt they were reasonable enough.

Tonight I took some time to revisit Jacoby Figurine again, working my way through the first two chapters in earnest – a total of 8409 words. I’m still not doing a whole lot of nitpicky changes, but trying to look at the story from the whole story point of view and make sure that it makes sense to me and that it achieves its goals.

Largely, I am pretty happy with it. I did make some notes in chapter two about a continuity issue and a few other points, but I think they are salvageable. As I mentioned in the previous post, I probably will take the first scene of the first chapter and rework it because it doesn’t set quite right to me. Otherwise though, with some smaller changes in the rest, I think this is workable.

January as a whole has been very busy, so I am a little behind where I wanted to be for the month. Not far behind though and if I put just a little bit of effort in the last two days, I should meet it handily. Did I really get through all that much? No – not at all.

So my plan for February is to try to feel more accomplished in my efforts and really start forging ahead. This is due in no small part to the news of the success of my cousin, who announced today that her debut book has been picked up by Reuts. Since she was my “alpha” reader for Jacoby (and for that I am eternally grateful), I am happy to have earned some writerly feedback from her.

Onward!

4 comments on “Monthly Checkin – January

  1. Kathy Palm
    January 30, 2015

    Every step no matter how small counts! Keep going, you got this! I am always happy to critique! The writers on Twitter are supportive and helpful. I’ve found so many excellent CPs (critique partners). Without the help and support I never would have gotten here.

  2. dulsi
    January 30, 2015

    I’m still debating how to polish up my mouse story. I keep thinking of decreasing the complexity of the text to make it easier for Christopher to read. He has almost heard the whole summary of the story now. He was not pleased with where we stopped last night.

    • starstealer363
      January 31, 2015

      Look at you thinking about how to revise your 2014 NaNo… I’m still looking forward to my 2011 one… (I am so far behind)

      • dulsi
        February 2, 2015

        I still want to revise my 2012 novel as well. I just want to revise the 2014 novel to give in book form to Christopher. I’ve summarized the whole novel for him now. He has now asked me to tell the story of them going after the foot of the Eternal King as they only destroyed two of the three pieces of the Eternal King. He has also requested a phoenix in the story.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 30, 2015 by in Editing and tagged , , , , .
Do Not Get Sick in the Sink, Please

Humor and Sex. Mostly Sex.

just a dad with disney questions

reading into things way too much...

Finding Faeries

My continuing mission to explore ... magic

Learning to Love Anywhere

it's a beautiful existence...

ffeathers

A technical writing and fiction blog by Sarah Maddox

My Hike, 2014

I don't want to get to the end of my life and regret that I didn't do this

18 Wheels and a 12-Speed Bike

It's a beautiful country, but you're going to miss most of it if you spend your free time in the truck stop lounge. Travel tips and pics for truckers and others.

kellysgratitudegarden

a gratitude offering...

Pierr Morgan

Wild Observations Walking

Karma on the Trail

"'That's good for a beginning,' said Frodo. 'I feel like walking.'"

Rejection Love Letters

or A thousand ways to say 'NO!'

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Shannon A Thompson

You need the world, and the world needs good people.

ChopperPapa

go to Chopperpapa.com

Musings of A Learning Pro

Writing, Family and More

Today's Author

Fostering a community of creative writers through articles, comments, writing prompts and a healthy, supportive environment.

Gabrielle Edits

Writing, Family and More

Annema

Anne chews the fat

Do Not Get Sick in the Sink, Please

Humor and Sex. Mostly Sex.

just a dad with disney questions

reading into things way too much...

Finding Faeries

My continuing mission to explore ... magic

Learning to Love Anywhere

it's a beautiful existence...

ffeathers

A technical writing and fiction blog by Sarah Maddox

My Hike, 2014

I don't want to get to the end of my life and regret that I didn't do this

18 Wheels and a 12-Speed Bike

It's a beautiful country, but you're going to miss most of it if you spend your free time in the truck stop lounge. Travel tips and pics for truckers and others.

kellysgratitudegarden

a gratitude offering...

Pierr Morgan

Wild Observations Walking

Karma on the Trail

"'That's good for a beginning,' said Frodo. 'I feel like walking.'"

Rejection Love Letters

or A thousand ways to say 'NO!'

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Shannon A Thompson

You need the world, and the world needs good people.

ChopperPapa

go to Chopperpapa.com

Musings of A Learning Pro

Writing, Family and More

Today's Author

Fostering a community of creative writers through articles, comments, writing prompts and a healthy, supportive environment.

Gabrielle Edits

Writing, Family and More

Annema

Anne chews the fat

