starstolenwritings

Writing, Family and More

New Year’s Resolution, Revolution

I have never been much of a “New Year’s Resolution” kind of a guy. If I wanted to change something in my life badly enough, I pretty much just did it. This applies as much to my drinking of soda as to cutting down quantities of food, to cutting down on playing video games and increasing the amount of time I play with my children. Of course, with anything, some of these changes have undergone some periods of failure and some periods of success. In general though, I am pretty happy with my overall place in my life in terms of making these things happen.

That all said, one area that has consistently failed to “resolve” would be my writing. Sure, each year I get up the gumption and write fifty thousand words over the course of November – a personal milestone I have sought and attained for five years running now – but other than that my wordy-production has been close to a zero average. That’s a pretty abysmal track record.

For most of that time though, I was also writing full time as a technical writer for work and while I still bear the title, I write much less these days as a manager (unless you count the number of emails I’m writing…). My work life leaves me pretty satisfied most days though (and I know I should consider myself lucky), so I don’t always have the need to explore my creative side. Most days though, I still have those voices in my head; the voices of characters who want to have their stories told, revised and ultimately sent out for publication.

In light of all that, when we went around the table on December 30th, I found myself with a tough question to answer: “Well Dad, what is your New Year’s Resolution?” My eleven year-old son looked at me intently and I sat back and thought hard about the answer. So this year, I have decided to make a resolution and I’m hoping to make it stick well.

Goal: Write 10,000 words per month over the course of the year. Alternatively, revise 20,000 words per month over the course of the year.

After dinner and after more thought, I was talking it over with Kelly and I said I had one more goal.

Stretch Goal: Get Published (even if it means self-published).

This is mostly so I can have that goal to finish Jacoby Figurine and either send it out to the wolves or slap a cover on it and see how it does under my uneasy and shaky hands. Above all – finish it.

So, I ask myself, how are you doing on your goal for January?

Well, self, not very well so far. This here blog is about 500 words though, and I’m adding them to the total…

2014 was a pretty great year for me. I am hoping 2015 will make it pale in comparison, but I guess I’ll have to see what it has in store for me.

3 comments on “New Year’s Resolution, Revolution

  1. Kathy Palm
    January 12, 2015

    I know lots of people out there in publishing land. Let me know if you need anything on your road to getting published! Good luck!

    • starstealer363
      January 13, 2015

      I’ve got to get Jacoby finished first… It is getting there… slowly.

      • Kathy Palm
        January 15, 2015

        This writing stuff takes time. Keep going!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 12, 2015 by in Writing and tagged , , , .
Do Not Get Sick in the Sink, Please

Humor and Sex. Mostly Sex.

just a dad with disney questions

reading into things way too much...

Finding Faeries

My continuing mission to explore ... magic

Learning to Love Anywhere

it's a beautiful existence...

ffeathers

A technical writing and fiction blog by Sarah Maddox

My Hike, 2014

I don't want to get to the end of my life and regret that I didn't do this

18 Wheels and a 12-Speed Bike

It's a beautiful country, but you're going to miss most of it if you spend your free time in the truck stop lounge. Travel tips and pics for truckers and others.

kellysgratitudegarden

a gratitude offering...

Pierr Morgan

Wild Observations Walking

Karma on the Trail

"'That's good for a beginning,' said Frodo. 'I feel like walking.'"

Rejection Love Letters

or A thousand ways to say 'NO!'

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Shannon A Thompson

You need the world, and the world needs good people.

ChopperPapa

go to Chopperpapa.com

Musings of A Learning Pro

Writing, Family and More

Today's Author

Fostering a community of creative writers through articles, comments, writing prompts and a healthy, supportive environment.

Gabrielle Edits

Writing, Family and More

Annema

Anne chews the fat

Do Not Get Sick in the Sink, Please

Humor and Sex. Mostly Sex.

just a dad with disney questions

reading into things way too much...

Finding Faeries

My continuing mission to explore ... magic

Learning to Love Anywhere

it's a beautiful existence...

ffeathers

A technical writing and fiction blog by Sarah Maddox

My Hike, 2014

I don't want to get to the end of my life and regret that I didn't do this

18 Wheels and a 12-Speed Bike

It's a beautiful country, but you're going to miss most of it if you spend your free time in the truck stop lounge. Travel tips and pics for truckers and others.

kellysgratitudegarden

a gratitude offering...

Pierr Morgan

Wild Observations Walking

Karma on the Trail

"'That's good for a beginning,' said Frodo. 'I feel like walking.'"

Rejection Love Letters

or A thousand ways to say 'NO!'

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Shannon A Thompson

You need the world, and the world needs good people.

ChopperPapa

go to Chopperpapa.com

Musings of A Learning Pro

Writing, Family and More

Today's Author

Fostering a community of creative writers through articles, comments, writing prompts and a healthy, supportive environment.

Gabrielle Edits

Writing, Family and More

Annema

Anne chews the fat

