starstolenwritings

Writing, Family and More

NaNoWriMo 2014 – Day 30: (enough)

nanowrimo 2014 winner badge nanowrimo 2014 progress

The last week has been tough to get this story finished. Aside from the fact that I was not at all liking how it turned out in the end, I found life and work enough of a disturbance that I wasn’t focused too heavily on my writing. This is particularly tough on me because I do want to continue working on my stories after November.

My partner has been a great influence in this department though. When I was running quickly through my words, she was there to tell me how good I was doing. More importantly, when I was starting to falter, she took a hard stance and said, “Write.” Simple, but effective, I am so happy that she is my partner. Thank you Kelly, for this and everything else.

As with most years, I’ve gotten curious about my word count in the last few days and found that the “official” counter on the NaNoWriMo site had my count a little higher than my counts. This is likely because of scene names and a few other inconsistencies, but we’re not even talking 1% here, so I’m not worried about it. 49,800 is still plenty enough when the site counter is telling me I won.

So what’s next?

Well, my plan right now is to pick up Jacoby Figurine and not put it down until it is ready. Five years old at this point, it needs to get out there and be finished. The actual plan here is to carve out time each day to work on it. It is too easy to say “I want to do this, but I don’t have time.” Instead, I am saying, “This is what I want to do, and here is the time I have put into my day to make it work.”

So December will be a month of revision and, if I need it, so will the months beyond. Once Jacoby Figurine is done, it will be time to go through Slivers, which is still possibly my favorite story that has come out of NaNoWriMo so far. After that, maybe something new or continue on revising. The point is to actually get somewhere with my writing that I haven’t yet attained.

So thanks for following along for the month. I’ll poke in from time to time, I’m sure to update about Jacoby and my other work and, if nothing else, I’ll be back next November. Until then, keep writing.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on December 1, 2014 by in NaNoWriMo and tagged , , , , , .
Do Not Get Sick in the Sink, Please

Humor and Sex. Mostly Sex.

just a dad with disney questions

reading into things way too much...

Finding Faeries

My continuing mission to explore ... magic

Learning to Love Anywhere

it's a beautiful existence...

ffeathers

A technical writing and fiction blog by Sarah Maddox

My Hike, 2014

I don't want to get to the end of my life and regret that I didn't do this

18 Wheels and a 12-Speed Bike

It's a beautiful country, but you're going to miss most of it if you spend your free time in the truck stop lounge. Travel tips and pics for truckers and others.

kellysgratitudegarden

a gratitude offering...

Pierr Morgan

Wild Observations Walking

Karma on the Trail

"'That's good for a beginning,' said Frodo. 'I feel like walking.'"

Rejection Love Letters

or A thousand ways to say 'NO!'

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Shannon A Thompson

You need the world, and the world needs good people.

ChopperPapa

go to Chopperpapa.com

Musings of A Learning Pro

Writing, Family and More

Today's Author

Fostering a community of creative writers through articles, comments, writing prompts and a healthy, supportive environment.

Gabrielle Edits

Writing, Family and More

Annema

Anne chews the fat

Do Not Get Sick in the Sink, Please

Humor and Sex. Mostly Sex.

just a dad with disney questions

reading into things way too much...

Finding Faeries

My continuing mission to explore ... magic

Learning to Love Anywhere

it's a beautiful existence...

ffeathers

A technical writing and fiction blog by Sarah Maddox

My Hike, 2014

I don't want to get to the end of my life and regret that I didn't do this

18 Wheels and a 12-Speed Bike

It's a beautiful country, but you're going to miss most of it if you spend your free time in the truck stop lounge. Travel tips and pics for truckers and others.

kellysgratitudegarden

a gratitude offering...

Pierr Morgan

Wild Observations Walking

Karma on the Trail

"'That's good for a beginning,' said Frodo. 'I feel like walking.'"

Rejection Love Letters

or A thousand ways to say 'NO!'

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Shannon A Thompson

You need the world, and the world needs good people.

ChopperPapa

go to Chopperpapa.com

Musings of A Learning Pro

Writing, Family and More

Today's Author

Fostering a community of creative writers through articles, comments, writing prompts and a healthy, supportive environment.

Gabrielle Edits

Writing, Family and More

Annema

Anne chews the fat

