starstolenwritings

Writing, Family and More

NaNoWriMo 2014 – Day 21: 1456

Well that was not quite 2000 words last night… Guenevere needed some one-on-one time last night and I needed to get some writing in, so we wrote together for a little while. So much fun listening to her come up with her next sentences and figuring out where the story will go next.

I wrote fairly well during that time, but I didn’t get back to writing after we were done. Still only 500 words down from where I wanted to be for the end of last night and I probably should acknowledge the fact that the last three days of NaNo are on a long weekend, so if I really need to buckle down and churn out words, it should be a reasonable possibility.

I think in order to make this story more effective, I’m going to need to read some more realistic fiction. I’m struggling with the “real” events in the story being compelling enough to capture my readers’ attentions. I mean if I had a choice between an action scene featuring a dragon and one featuring a heated argument between a scientist and her former employer, I think I’ll take the former. Maybe the latter has some cunning dialogue, but let’s face it, even a boring scene with a dragon is usually more interesting. This is probably why I tend to stick to the worlds of fantasy, science fiction and even horror/suspense more than any other. Real life can be interesting for sure (and maybe that heated argument truly is interesting), but when compared with the limits of the imagination, I doubt it can really compare.

I’m all about trying something new though, so hopefully I round out the month with a solid ending to this.

Okay, I’ve got to go get ready. Gabriel has a Lego Robotics competition today (speaking of really cool new things to try…) and Guenevere has a chorus recital this afternoon. Busy busy.

Oh right, I should probably write too…

Have a good day everyone!

2 comments on “NaNoWriMo 2014 – Day 21: 1456

  1. dulsi
    November 22, 2014

    Falling behind again. 🙂 Now if only I wasn’t days behind still.

    • starstealer363
      November 22, 2014

      You made a solid show this past week though – nice!

      Four days without work to end off the month though. “I’m sorry kids – we can’t do Thanksgiving dinner, I have to write” might not go over very well though.

      Good luck on finishing.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 22, 2014 by in NaNoWriMo and tagged , , , .
Do Not Get Sick in the Sink, Please

Humor and Sex. Mostly Sex.

just a dad with disney questions

reading into things way too much...

Finding Faeries

My continuing mission to explore ... magic

Learning to Love Anywhere

it's a beautiful existence...

ffeathers

A technical writing and fiction blog by Sarah Maddox

My Hike, 2014

I don't want to get to the end of my life and regret that I didn't do this

18 Wheels and a 12-Speed Bike

It's a beautiful country, but you're going to miss most of it if you spend your free time in the truck stop lounge. Travel tips and pics for truckers and others.

kellysgratitudegarden

a gratitude offering...

Pierr Morgan

Wild Observations Walking

Karma on the Trail

"'That's good for a beginning,' said Frodo. 'I feel like walking.'"

Rejection Love Letters

or A thousand ways to say 'NO!'

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Shannon A Thompson

You need the world, and the world needs good people.

ChopperPapa

go to Chopperpapa.com

Musings of A Learning Pro

Writing, Family and More

Today's Author

Fostering a community of creative writers through articles, comments, writing prompts and a healthy, supportive environment.

Gabrielle Edits

Writing, Family and More

Annema

Anne chews the fat

Do Not Get Sick in the Sink, Please

Humor and Sex. Mostly Sex.

just a dad with disney questions

reading into things way too much...

Finding Faeries

My continuing mission to explore ... magic

Learning to Love Anywhere

it's a beautiful existence...

ffeathers

A technical writing and fiction blog by Sarah Maddox

My Hike, 2014

I don't want to get to the end of my life and regret that I didn't do this

18 Wheels and a 12-Speed Bike

It's a beautiful country, but you're going to miss most of it if you spend your free time in the truck stop lounge. Travel tips and pics for truckers and others.

kellysgratitudegarden

a gratitude offering...

Pierr Morgan

Wild Observations Walking

Karma on the Trail

"'That's good for a beginning,' said Frodo. 'I feel like walking.'"

Rejection Love Letters

or A thousand ways to say 'NO!'

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Shannon A Thompson

You need the world, and the world needs good people.

ChopperPapa

go to Chopperpapa.com

Musings of A Learning Pro

Writing, Family and More

Today's Author

Fostering a community of creative writers through articles, comments, writing prompts and a healthy, supportive environment.

Gabrielle Edits

Writing, Family and More

Annema

Anne chews the fat

