starstolenwritings

Writing, Family and More

NaNoWriMo 2014 – Day 5: 1686

So it was bound to happen. I decided tonight to start working in some of the “knowledge” that an archaeologist would know in order to give myself some credibility while working up on my word count. This of course means doing a little research on the fly and startles me the amount of misinformation is out there. Or, at the least, the amount of misleading information.

Take the protoceratops. On one website, it claimed it was a dinosaur who weighed around 900 pounds. On the next, it claimed it could not have weighed more than 400 pounds. 500 pounds. 570 pounds. And so on and so forth. What a mess! I know I need to be cautious with this sort of thing, but with a range of 400 – 900 pounds, it sounds like I can pretty much make up a number and say that I’m working in the range… Seriously – that is a wide gap.

I did learn some about radiocarbon dating, which I assumed would have been a valid way of dating fossils (wrong) and then went on a tangent with K-Ar dating and even Ar-Ar dating, but it amounted to me deciding that I didn’t want to mention it specifically in the story yet. The way things are going, it won’t matter anyway.

I didn’t realize it until now, but this session took a long time to get down – almost an hour and twenty minutes. I haven’t been timing myself this season, but that seemed like a long time (but much less so when you account for my “research” time). Still, it feels good to be writing and I’m not going to complain about that.

Speaking of the protoceratops, that reminds me that I need to find out when Draw a Dinosaur day is… speaking of tangents.

2 comments on “NaNoWriMo 2014 – Day 5: 1686

  1. dulsi
    November 6, 2014

    It takes me longer to get the same amount. Timing it would probably be depressing. Although I don’t always just focus on writing. When looking up info about Anubis I found Cynopolis, the city of dogs. They are definately going there. I did beat your words for the day (but still slightly behind for total).

    • starstealer363
      November 6, 2014

      Well knowing how fast you write is not necessary by any means. I just like to know how much time I need to allocate to it each day. I know from past NaNos that I average under 40 WPM overall, but that in short bursts, I can be upwards of 70. One word war where I apparently was on my game, I managed just under 80 WPM, but I think that was more of a fluke than something sustainable 🙂

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 6, 2014 by in NaNoWriMo and tagged , , , , , , .
Do Not Get Sick in the Sink, Please

Humor and Sex. Mostly Sex.

just a dad with disney questions

reading into things way too much...

Finding Faeries

My continuing mission to explore ... magic

Learning to Love Anywhere

it's a beautiful existence...

ffeathers

A technical writing and fiction blog by Sarah Maddox

My Hike, 2014

I don't want to get to the end of my life and regret that I didn't do this

18 Wheels and a 12-Speed Bike

It's a beautiful country, but you're going to miss most of it if you spend your free time in the truck stop lounge. Travel tips and pics for truckers and others.

kellysgratitudegarden

a gratitude offering...

Pierr Morgan

Wild Observations Walking

Karma on the Trail

"'That's good for a beginning,' said Frodo. 'I feel like walking.'"

Rejection Love Letters

or A thousand ways to say 'NO!'

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Shannon A Thompson

You need the world, and the world needs good people.

ChopperPapa

go to Chopperpapa.com

Musings of A Learning Pro

Writing, Family and More

Today's Author

Fostering a community of creative writers through articles, comments, writing prompts and a healthy, supportive environment.

Gabrielle Edits

Writing, Family and More

Annema

Anne chews the fat

Do Not Get Sick in the Sink, Please

Humor and Sex. Mostly Sex.

just a dad with disney questions

reading into things way too much...

Finding Faeries

My continuing mission to explore ... magic

Learning to Love Anywhere

it's a beautiful existence...

ffeathers

A technical writing and fiction blog by Sarah Maddox

My Hike, 2014

I don't want to get to the end of my life and regret that I didn't do this

18 Wheels and a 12-Speed Bike

It's a beautiful country, but you're going to miss most of it if you spend your free time in the truck stop lounge. Travel tips and pics for truckers and others.

kellysgratitudegarden

a gratitude offering...

Pierr Morgan

Wild Observations Walking

Karma on the Trail

"'That's good for a beginning,' said Frodo. 'I feel like walking.'"

Rejection Love Letters

or A thousand ways to say 'NO!'

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Shannon A Thompson

You need the world, and the world needs good people.

ChopperPapa

go to Chopperpapa.com

Musings of A Learning Pro

Writing, Family and More

Today's Author

Fostering a community of creative writers through articles, comments, writing prompts and a healthy, supportive environment.

Gabrielle Edits

Writing, Family and More

Annema

Anne chews the fat

