starstolenwritings

Writing, Family and More

NaNoWriMo 2014: Day 2 – 1821

Starting NaNoWriMo on the weekend is bittersweet. I should be able to get good production because I don’t have to worry about work, but when I don’t get amazing production (like a 5k day or something similar), it feels like I’m not getting the most out of it. Fortunately for me, I know I am a busy man and the fact that I didn’t get more written this weekend is largely due to the fact that there aren’t more hours in the day.

So far, not much has happened in the story and it is toying with me. Yes, the story is toying with me. It wants to become a survival horror in a zombie apocalypse. I felt that it was like that last night and my session tonight has only emboldened the story to be more zombie-esque. No zombies have shown up yet. In fact, other than the two main characters, the only other people they saw were in the opening scene. I think I’ll need to change that during tomorrow’s writing though. They need more interaction with others. The main character is getting a little punchy from a lack of sleep. She runs the risk of going crazy if I keep going the way I have…

I’m taking my time with developing the main thread of the story so far. I want to make sure it has the power to last through 50k (or more). The last few years, I ended up having to write a whole bunch of filler (and technically last year’s end was to a different book – so in that respect I cheated a little – but I can live with that). Writing is writing and I am fine with whatever book it goes into.

Tomorrow will be the first opportunity for the characters to do something other than wonder if they are alone. Maybe I’ll get back to the whole fossils question by then too.

How is everyone else’s work going this month? Two days in is not the time to be behind, but I know it is easy to get there if you aren’t careful.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 3, 2014 by in NaNoWriMo and tagged , , , .
Do Not Get Sick in the Sink, Please

Humor and Sex. Mostly Sex.

just a dad with disney questions

reading into things way too much...

Finding Faeries

My continuing mission to explore ... magic

Learning to Love Anywhere

it's a beautiful existence...

ffeathers

A technical writing and fiction blog by Sarah Maddox

My Hike, 2014

I don't want to get to the end of my life and regret that I didn't do this

18 Wheels and a 12-Speed Bike

It's a beautiful country, but you're going to miss most of it if you spend your free time in the truck stop lounge. Travel tips and pics for truckers and others.

kellysgratitudegarden

a gratitude offering...

Pierr Morgan

Wild Observations Walking

Karma on the Trail

"'That's good for a beginning,' said Frodo. 'I feel like walking.'"

Rejection Love Letters

or A thousand ways to say 'NO!'

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Shannon A Thompson

You need the world, and the world needs good people.

ChopperPapa

go to Chopperpapa.com

Musings of A Learning Pro

Writing, Family and More

Today's Author

Fostering a community of creative writers through articles, comments, writing prompts and a healthy, supportive environment.

Gabrielle Edits

Writing, Family and More

Annema

Anne chews the fat

Do Not Get Sick in the Sink, Please

Humor and Sex. Mostly Sex.

just a dad with disney questions

reading into things way too much...

Finding Faeries

My continuing mission to explore ... magic

Learning to Love Anywhere

it's a beautiful existence...

ffeathers

A technical writing and fiction blog by Sarah Maddox

My Hike, 2014

I don't want to get to the end of my life and regret that I didn't do this

18 Wheels and a 12-Speed Bike

It's a beautiful country, but you're going to miss most of it if you spend your free time in the truck stop lounge. Travel tips and pics for truckers and others.

kellysgratitudegarden

a gratitude offering...

Pierr Morgan

Wild Observations Walking

Karma on the Trail

"'That's good for a beginning,' said Frodo. 'I feel like walking.'"

Rejection Love Letters

or A thousand ways to say 'NO!'

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Shannon A Thompson

You need the world, and the world needs good people.

ChopperPapa

go to Chopperpapa.com

Musings of A Learning Pro

Writing, Family and More

Today's Author

Fostering a community of creative writers through articles, comments, writing prompts and a healthy, supportive environment.

Gabrielle Edits

Writing, Family and More

Annema

Anne chews the fat

