starstolenwritings

Writing, Family and More

Weekend in Wells, Maine

File this under travel for fun. And food. Definitely file it under food…

This weekend, I spent a few days in beautiful Wells, Maine. I’ve been up there two other times with my girlfriend – once in February (which for the time of year – it was perfect weather – but it was still February) and once for Mother’s Day (just for the one day). Both times were great, but didn’t afford me much time to enjoy much other than one meal or one walk along the beach.

This weekend, I got two overnights and while my Sunday was interrupted with a quick run back to Massachusetts, I felt I got to enjoy much more.

Dinner Saturday: The Steakhouse. This was one of the main reasons we were going up this weekend. Kelly’s been raving about this since we first went up in February, but since it doesn’t open until April, we didn’t get to go and we didn’t have the time on Mother’s day since it didn’t open until 4pm. Since we arrived in Maine around 2pm, she figured we would go for a walk along the beach and then head up to be there right at 4pm. I didn’t understand just how important it was to be there early… we arrived at 5pm and had a 90 minute wait!

Their drinks were delicious however and while it was a long wait, the food was delicious. I tried the Surf and Turf – filet mignon with a kabob of spicy orange shrimp. Who includes filet mignon with a surf and turf? Delicious.

Breakfast Sunday: Congdon’s Doughnuts. Apparently this is a mainstay breakfast location. Each time I’ve been up there, we have made a stop in here and I haven’t yet been disappointed. Their doughnuts truly are delicious and their other breakfast fare is top notch. I won’t regret making a stop in here, even though if I timed it wrong, I could be waiting upwards of an hour. In the past, I’ve eaten their special omelets of the day. This weekend, I branched out and had some french toast. Simply delicious.

Dinner Sunday: The Oarweed. It was only after some discussion that we decided to eat here. Kelly is not a big fan of seafood (though I am) and while she is a huge fan of eating on the ocean, we both had a very bad server when we came up on Mother’s day. Still, we wanted to walk the Marginal Way and this was a convenient place from which to start. My first experience there was truly from a bad server though; the food was good, it just took forever for our server to get it to us.

This time, the waiter was far better and the food was quite good as well. I went with the seafood trio (scallops, shrimp and haddock) and while the haddock and shrimp were simply good, the scallops were fabulous. Highly recommended.

The visit wasn’t perfect. On coming to our table, I found my chair had not been cleaned up before I got there. I’m not convinced it wasn’t because of the adjacent table though, who would be my other complaint. Sitting next to a boisterous table of 10, the two of us had a hard time talking due to the noise. Once they left though – dinner was quite pleasant.

The views the restaurant offers, particularly at high tide, are spectacular. I also highly recommend walking the Marginal Way.

Brunch Monday: The Maine Diner. Another mainstay location in the area, apparently this particular diner has been featured on a few shows (not the least of which is Diners, Drive-ins and Dives). We arrived around 11am and had a 30-minute wait, but the food was well worth the wait and the gift shop next door was certainly worth walking through.

I tried out a simple haddock sandwich and found it to be full of flavor and just the right kind of crunchy. The potato salad that came on the side was also prepared well and the onion rings were thin, crispy and fresh. The waitress suggested we split the half-order of onion rings because it is such a large order and I’m glad we listened.

We also split a slice of blueberry pie that was hot, oozy and devoured in short order.

All in all – a very good weekend.

Memorial Weekend 2014-05-26 7

One comment on “Weekend in Wells, Maine

  1. Pingback: Weekend in Wells, Maine

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 27, 2014 by in Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , .
Do Not Get Sick in the Sink, Please

Humor and Sex. Mostly Sex.

just a dad with disney questions

reading into things way too much...

Finding Faeries

My continuing mission to explore ... magic

Learning to Love Anywhere

it's a beautiful existence...

ffeathers

A technical writing and fiction blog by Sarah Maddox

My Hike, 2014

I don't want to get to the end of my life and regret that I didn't do this

18 Wheels and a 12-Speed Bike

It's a beautiful country, but you're going to miss most of it if you spend your free time in the truck stop lounge. Travel tips and pics for truckers and others.

kellysgratitudegarden

a gratitude offering...

Pierr Morgan

Wild Observations Walking

Karma on the Trail

"'That's good for a beginning,' said Frodo. 'I feel like walking.'"

Rejection Love Letters

or A thousand ways to say 'NO!'

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Shannon A Thompson

You need the world, and the world needs good people.

ChopperPapa

go to Chopperpapa.com

Musings of A Learning Pro

Writing, Family and More

Today's Author

Fostering a community of creative writers through articles, comments, writing prompts and a healthy, supportive environment.

Gabrielle Edits

Writing, Family and More

Annema

Anne chews the fat

Do Not Get Sick in the Sink, Please

Humor and Sex. Mostly Sex.

just a dad with disney questions

reading into things way too much...

Finding Faeries

My continuing mission to explore ... magic

Learning to Love Anywhere

it's a beautiful existence...

ffeathers

A technical writing and fiction blog by Sarah Maddox

My Hike, 2014

I don't want to get to the end of my life and regret that I didn't do this

18 Wheels and a 12-Speed Bike

It's a beautiful country, but you're going to miss most of it if you spend your free time in the truck stop lounge. Travel tips and pics for truckers and others.

kellysgratitudegarden

a gratitude offering...

Pierr Morgan

Wild Observations Walking

Karma on the Trail

"'That's good for a beginning,' said Frodo. 'I feel like walking.'"

Rejection Love Letters

or A thousand ways to say 'NO!'

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Shannon A Thompson

You need the world, and the world needs good people.

ChopperPapa

go to Chopperpapa.com

Musings of A Learning Pro

Writing, Family and More

Today's Author

Fostering a community of creative writers through articles, comments, writing prompts and a healthy, supportive environment.

Gabrielle Edits

Writing, Family and More

Annema

Anne chews the fat

