starstolenwritings

Writing, Family and More

India Trip – New York and Home

So I didn’t really sleep at all from Doha to New York. I must have slept some early on – maybe an hour, maybe less. I’m not real sure. I ended up watching both of the Hunger Game movies, listening to a fair amount of music, watching another movie that I can’t think of right now and wondering why I always got stuck behind someone who reclined her seat fully so I couldn’t use my laptop at all.

I didn’t move around much during the flight, but at least the food was better than the flight out. And by that flight, my stomach had settled down.

My neighbor to the right was a young business man (definitely younger than myself, but probably still late twenties) who apparently did a lot of traveling. He had plenty to tell me about what to buy and not to buy at the duty free shops. I didn’t tell him I didn’t get anything there. He was pleasant enough to sit next to, though once we were underway, he plugged into a movie and slept for most of the way. He was polite though, which is good enough for company in my opinion.

Landing in New York, I was beyond tired, missing home and wishing I didn’t have a third leg to the journey. I figured between 4 hours of sleep from Monday into Tuesday, 3 hours or less of sleep before I left Tuesday night and maybe 2-3 hours between India, Doha and New York, and with the extended hours of my day on Wednesday (I took off from India at 4am, flew for 16 hours and landed at 5pm), I was about 8-16 hours short of sleep. I don’t know how accurate that is – but I was definitely exhausted.

Getting off the flight, they reminded us for the 10th time that we had to stop at baggage claim to pick up our bags and go through customs. I filled out my form on the plane this time and didn’t make any errors, so when I got to the front of the line, it went smoothly. Except that I couldn’t find my passport that I had conveniently stuck in my shirt pocket. Did I mention I was tired? The officer was very nice however and pointed it out to me.

Since I had a short layover in New York – under 2 hours and we arrived a few minutes late – I felt I had to rush as fast as I could. So while waiting for my baggage – that never seemed to come – and then waiting in customs and then waiting to go through the fast side of the security check, I was convinced I was going to miss my flight. I looked at the time and was sure I had ten minutes until the plane took off.

So I ran, as fast as I could manage, over to the gate listed on my boarding pass to find an empty gate aside from one woman who worked at the airport and a man who told me he was waiting for a flight leaving for Paris from the gate at which we were standing. I had missed my flight. I was convinced of it! I wearily handed my boarding pass to the woman and she said, “Oh this isn’t your gate honey!” but she didn’t know which gate I had been redirected and showed me where the nearest set of screens were. I stood there impatiently and found soon enough where I was supposed to go. Luckily it was right nearby.

I ran over there, out of breath and found the gate pretty full and people coming out of the gate. I thought maybe the next flight had already arrived. Dave (who let me know I had the “right first name” explained that Cleveland had just arrived and they would be boarding shortly. I breathed a sigh of relief, set down, opened my laptop and realized I still had an HOUR to wait until takeoff. I was too tired…

When they did finally call me for boarding, I was quick to find my seat, took out my book to read, read one chapter and then put the book away as we took off.

Next thing I knew, we had landed.

The rest of the night was a blur of emotion. Tears as I was able to get a hug at baggage claim. Tears that I didn’t have to drive. Tears when I could see my kids.

At some point, I must have fallen asleep.

 

And that concludes the India Trip. I hope you enjoyed it.

2 comments on “India Trip – New York and Home

  1. Kathy Palm
    May 16, 2014

    Wow, Dave. What an experience. Tuck it away, be happy you have it and enjoy being home.

    • starstealer363
      May 16, 2014

      Oh I have definitely tucked it away. I don’t know if I’ll ever be back – but it was a great experience to have.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 16, 2014 by in Travel and tagged , , , , , , .
Do Not Get Sick in the Sink, Please

Humor and Sex. Mostly Sex.

just a dad with disney questions

reading into things way too much...

Finding Faeries

My continuing mission to explore ... magic

Learning to Love Anywhere

it's a beautiful existence...

ffeathers

A technical writing and fiction blog by Sarah Maddox

My Hike, 2014

I don't want to get to the end of my life and regret that I didn't do this

18 Wheels and a 12-Speed Bike

It's a beautiful country, but you're going to miss most of it if you spend your free time in the truck stop lounge. Travel tips and pics for truckers and others.

kellysgratitudegarden

a gratitude offering...

Pierr Morgan

Wild Observations Walking

Karma on the Trail

"'That's good for a beginning,' said Frodo. 'I feel like walking.'"

Rejection Love Letters

or A thousand ways to say 'NO!'

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Shannon A Thompson

You need the world, and the world needs good people.

ChopperPapa

go to Chopperpapa.com

Musings of A Learning Pro

Writing, Family and More

Today's Author

Fostering a community of creative writers through articles, comments, writing prompts and a healthy, supportive environment.

Gabrielle Edits

Writing, Family and More

Annema

Anne chews the fat

Do Not Get Sick in the Sink, Please

Humor and Sex. Mostly Sex.

just a dad with disney questions

reading into things way too much...

Finding Faeries

My continuing mission to explore ... magic

Learning to Love Anywhere

it's a beautiful existence...

ffeathers

A technical writing and fiction blog by Sarah Maddox

My Hike, 2014

I don't want to get to the end of my life and regret that I didn't do this

18 Wheels and a 12-Speed Bike

It's a beautiful country, but you're going to miss most of it if you spend your free time in the truck stop lounge. Travel tips and pics for truckers and others.

kellysgratitudegarden

a gratitude offering...

Pierr Morgan

Wild Observations Walking

Karma on the Trail

"'That's good for a beginning,' said Frodo. 'I feel like walking.'"

Rejection Love Letters

or A thousand ways to say 'NO!'

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Shannon A Thompson

You need the world, and the world needs good people.

ChopperPapa

go to Chopperpapa.com

Musings of A Learning Pro

Writing, Family and More

Today's Author

Fostering a community of creative writers through articles, comments, writing prompts and a healthy, supportive environment.

Gabrielle Edits

Writing, Family and More

Annema

Anne chews the fat

