starstolenwritings

Writing, Family and More

India Trip – Doha

I had another short layover in Doha. Since I had already experienced it late at night, I didn’t expect it to be much different early in the morning. I wasn’t even expecting to have much of a view, since I’m not used to seeing the sun up at 5am (and when I arrived the first time it was midnight). I should mention, on arriving the first time (and on arriving the second time), they played commercials about how Doha was an up and coming location for luxury and beauty. However, when we landed, it was already bright. And by bright, I mean I could see for quite a distance because we were in the middle of the desert. Suddenly it was clear to me how “up and coming” the location was.

We disembarked the plane at 5am to 40 degree Celsius temperatures and dryness that I can’t even articulate. For a man who has only visited locations outside of New England, and never to anything even close to desert, this was just foreign to me. I was glad I still had a bottle of water on me.

I managed to make it through to the US gate, which required a second security check (complete with taking my shoes off), and then back on a bus and on to the plane. I had enough time in the airport to take out my laptop and search for a connection before they called me up – so I didn’t even get a chance to contact home about where I was. And then I was off and heading towards the Atlantic.

For the record, I still don’t like the Doha airport. Traveling in one bus once you get off the plane, just to go through a security check and then a holding room (with never enough seats or even room for the people in there) to then get on another bus and head right back to the flight? No good.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 16, 2014 by in Travel and tagged , , , , .
Do Not Get Sick in the Sink, Please

Humor and Sex. Mostly Sex.

just a dad with disney questions

reading into things way too much...

Finding Faeries

My continuing mission to explore ... magic

Learning to Love Anywhere

it's a beautiful existence...

ffeathers

A technical writing and fiction blog by Sarah Maddox

My Hike, 2014

I don't want to get to the end of my life and regret that I didn't do this

18 Wheels and a 12-Speed Bike

It's a beautiful country, but you're going to miss most of it if you spend your free time in the truck stop lounge. Travel tips and pics for truckers and others.

kellysgratitudegarden

a gratitude offering...

Pierr Morgan

Wild Observations Walking

Karma on the Trail

"'That's good for a beginning,' said Frodo. 'I feel like walking.'"

Rejection Love Letters

or A thousand ways to say 'NO!'

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Shannon A Thompson

You need the world, and the world needs good people.

ChopperPapa

go to Chopperpapa.com

Musings of A Learning Pro

Writing, Family and More

Today's Author

Fostering a community of creative writers through articles, comments, writing prompts and a healthy, supportive environment.

Gabrielle Edits

Writing, Family and More

Annema

Anne chews the fat

Do Not Get Sick in the Sink, Please

Humor and Sex. Mostly Sex.

just a dad with disney questions

reading into things way too much...

Finding Faeries

My continuing mission to explore ... magic

Learning to Love Anywhere

it's a beautiful existence...

ffeathers

A technical writing and fiction blog by Sarah Maddox

My Hike, 2014

I don't want to get to the end of my life and regret that I didn't do this

18 Wheels and a 12-Speed Bike

It's a beautiful country, but you're going to miss most of it if you spend your free time in the truck stop lounge. Travel tips and pics for truckers and others.

kellysgratitudegarden

a gratitude offering...

Pierr Morgan

Wild Observations Walking

Karma on the Trail

"'That's good for a beginning,' said Frodo. 'I feel like walking.'"

Rejection Love Letters

or A thousand ways to say 'NO!'

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Shannon A Thompson

You need the world, and the world needs good people.

ChopperPapa

go to Chopperpapa.com

Musings of A Learning Pro

Writing, Family and More

Today's Author

Fostering a community of creative writers through articles, comments, writing prompts and a healthy, supportive environment.

Gabrielle Edits

Writing, Family and More

Annema

Anne chews the fat

