starstolenwritings

Writing, Family and More

Appalachian Trail

No, I am not hiking the Appalachian trail. I do love to hike, but so far I have tended toward a day hike here and there and a couple of overnights. Never anything serious. That might change with time, but I’ve got three kids who need me. The trail isn’t going anywhere and I don’t think I have that kind of wanderlust.

Someone who did have that desire however, was my father. Sometime last year – right around when I last went to Purgatory Chasm actually – he mentioned he was going to go do it. And from that point on until March 26th this year, I heard off and on about his preparations for that adventure.

And since March 26th, I’ve been following his blog like an eagle after a scrumptious, tasty morsel on the ground, eagerly waiting for the next bite of his trip.

I am so proud of my father for attempting the trip. Last year, I pleasantly followed one other thru-hiker (Karma on the Trail), so I was very excited to see what he would bring to the trail and what the trail would bring to him.

Last night, I learned that he had to stop, at least for the short term, in his trek. He hiked 538 miles out of the 2000+. And I am still, so very proud of him. Thanks Dad for showing me that the unattainable dream is attainable. That the dream you have when you set out is not always going to be the dream that you end up with. Thanks for showing my kids something to look forward to every few days that was not a video game. And for showing my kids that it is okay to stop and ask for help. Thanks for being the natural story teller that you are.

Thanks again, for everything.

8 comments on “Appalachian Trail

  1. Kelly
    May 16, 2014

    Well said.

  2. Kathy Palm
    May 16, 2014

    Beautiful words for a really great man.

  3. hobacaitbe
    May 16, 2014

    You’re welcome. Glad so many followed along. But, I did this selfishly for myself that’s why I called it My Hike, 2014
    Love Dad

    • starstealer363
      May 16, 2014

      Selfish sure – but you did share it with a wide audience 🙂

  4. Kathy Houghton
    May 17, 2014

    David I couldn’t have said it better. I am also very proud of your father and I am very glad he is my brother.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 16, 2014 by in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , .
Do Not Get Sick in the Sink, Please

Humor and Sex. Mostly Sex.

just a dad with disney questions

reading into things way too much...

Finding Faeries

My continuing mission to explore ... magic

Learning to Love Anywhere

it's a beautiful existence...

ffeathers

A technical writing and fiction blog by Sarah Maddox

My Hike, 2014

I don't want to get to the end of my life and regret that I didn't do this

18 Wheels and a 12-Speed Bike

It's a beautiful country, but you're going to miss most of it if you spend your free time in the truck stop lounge. Travel tips and pics for truckers and others.

kellysgratitudegarden

a gratitude offering...

Pierr Morgan

Wild Observations Walking

Karma on the Trail

"'That's good for a beginning,' said Frodo. 'I feel like walking.'"

Rejection Love Letters

or A thousand ways to say 'NO!'

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Shannon A Thompson

You need the world, and the world needs good people.

ChopperPapa

go to Chopperpapa.com

Musings of A Learning Pro

Writing, Family and More

Today's Author

Fostering a community of creative writers through articles, comments, writing prompts and a healthy, supportive environment.

Gabrielle Edits

Writing, Family and More

Annema

Anne chews the fat

Do Not Get Sick in the Sink, Please

Humor and Sex. Mostly Sex.

just a dad with disney questions

reading into things way too much...

Finding Faeries

My continuing mission to explore ... magic

Learning to Love Anywhere

it's a beautiful existence...

ffeathers

A technical writing and fiction blog by Sarah Maddox

My Hike, 2014

I don't want to get to the end of my life and regret that I didn't do this

18 Wheels and a 12-Speed Bike

It's a beautiful country, but you're going to miss most of it if you spend your free time in the truck stop lounge. Travel tips and pics for truckers and others.

kellysgratitudegarden

a gratitude offering...

Pierr Morgan

Wild Observations Walking

Karma on the Trail

"'That's good for a beginning,' said Frodo. 'I feel like walking.'"

Rejection Love Letters

or A thousand ways to say 'NO!'

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Shannon A Thompson

You need the world, and the world needs good people.

ChopperPapa

go to Chopperpapa.com

Musings of A Learning Pro

Writing, Family and More

Today's Author

Fostering a community of creative writers through articles, comments, writing prompts and a healthy, supportive environment.

Gabrielle Edits

Writing, Family and More

Annema

Anne chews the fat

