starstolenwritings

Writing, Family and More

Tears, Fears, and Rears

This post has nothing to do with writing. Or at least it didn’t when I started. We will have to see where it leads.

I’m sorry I haven’t written to the blog in a while. Life sometimes gets away from us. Sometimes those things are distractions like a shiny new shiny… Sometimes those things are challenges and problems that we must either overcome or find a way to deal with them. Sometimes those things are just new in our lives and we have to find a way to rebalance things.

Although the past few months have shown me some challenges, I’m happy to say I’m working on the last one in that bunch. I have happiness in my life right now (aside from my children – they always make me happy) and as a result I’m working on incorporating that happiness into my day-to-day life. Luckily, my writing was already on the backseat or I might have been neglecting it. Right now, I’m working on finding a way to get it back into focus, but let’s face it – happiness is not something to underestimate.

What is prompting me to write tonight in particular though has to do with a couple of other subjects.

My daughter (9) is having a hard time on a couple of fronts and in some ways has been showing some anxiety about missing people / pets. We had a dog some years ago that she misses dearly (Lilo-baby). She passed on about 5 years ago now, but all of my kids have their own moments of missing her.

IMG_1588

Just recently my former-mother-in-law’s dog also passed away. My kids have always had that dog in their lives, so when the news came to them, they were extremely sad about it. Of course, each child expressed it in their own way, but I think my daughter probably took it the hardest.

So I say all that to set up that recently my father went off on an adventure. He’s been out on the Appalachian Trail for a little over a week now. We’ve only gotten four days on his blog so far, but it looks like he is starting to get comfortable with it. I hope he’s doing well and I certainly do miss him. My daughter however has had at least two good cries about him and I wonder if she is associating his absence with the dogs. It amounts to a few tear-filled nights, a few extra hugs and promises to read the blogs to the kids as soon as they come, but I don’t know how long it will take to get comfortable with him being away.

As a part of work, in a few weeks, I’ll be taking my first international trip (well – assuming all the paperwork gets approved). I love to travel, see new things and in general be out of my element, but at the same time, I have fears about being away. I wonder how the kids will get along with me being away. I worry that they will have plenty of tear-filled nights. I worry that I will as well. Don’t get me wrong – I am truly excited about this opportunity to see a part of the world that I probably wouldn’t have otherwise.

Anyway – I figured I’d dust off the old blog tonight. Hopefully I’ll have some more thoughts in the coming weeks, but we’ll see how it goes. Hopefully I’ll have pictures from a new, exotic land for me and stories to tell about how much fun I had. We’ll see.

2 comments on “Tears, Fears, and Rears

  1. Kathy Palm
    April 4, 2014

    Keep searching for the happy in life! It’s there. Your kids will find it too with you showing them how. I hope you have a great adventure on your trip. I’m so glad your dad is living his dream!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 3, 2014 by in kids and tagged , , , , , , .
Do Not Get Sick in the Sink, Please

Humor and Sex. Mostly Sex.

just a dad with disney questions

reading into things way too much...

Finding Faeries

My continuing mission to explore ... magic

Learning to Love Anywhere

it's a beautiful existence...

ffeathers

A technical writing and fiction blog by Sarah Maddox

My Hike, 2014

I don't want to get to the end of my life and regret that I didn't do this

18 Wheels and a 12-Speed Bike

It's a beautiful country, but you're going to miss most of it if you spend your free time in the truck stop lounge. Travel tips and pics for truckers and others.

kellysgratitudegarden

a gratitude offering...

Pierr Morgan

Wild Observations Walking

Karma on the Trail

"'That's good for a beginning,' said Frodo. 'I feel like walking.'"

Rejection Love Letters

or A thousand ways to say 'NO!'

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Shannon A Thompson

You need the world, and the world needs good people.

ChopperPapa

go to Chopperpapa.com

Musings of A Learning Pro

Writing, Family and More

Today's Author

Fostering a community of creative writers through articles, comments, writing prompts and a healthy, supportive environment.

Gabrielle Edits

Writing, Family and More

Annema

Anne chews the fat

Do Not Get Sick in the Sink, Please

Humor and Sex. Mostly Sex.

just a dad with disney questions

reading into things way too much...

Finding Faeries

My continuing mission to explore ... magic

Learning to Love Anywhere

it's a beautiful existence...

ffeathers

A technical writing and fiction blog by Sarah Maddox

My Hike, 2014

I don't want to get to the end of my life and regret that I didn't do this

18 Wheels and a 12-Speed Bike

It's a beautiful country, but you're going to miss most of it if you spend your free time in the truck stop lounge. Travel tips and pics for truckers and others.

kellysgratitudegarden

a gratitude offering...

Pierr Morgan

Wild Observations Walking

Karma on the Trail

"'That's good for a beginning,' said Frodo. 'I feel like walking.'"

Rejection Love Letters

or A thousand ways to say 'NO!'

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Shannon A Thompson

You need the world, and the world needs good people.

ChopperPapa

go to Chopperpapa.com

Musings of A Learning Pro

Writing, Family and More

Today's Author

Fostering a community of creative writers through articles, comments, writing prompts and a healthy, supportive environment.

Gabrielle Edits

Writing, Family and More

Annema

Anne chews the fat

