starstolenwritings

Writing, Family and More

Day 21: Goal 1667, Actual 2208

I had a severe case of “I don’t want to write today,” again. Luckily, I didn’t fall victim to it, but it was certainly tempting. I know I am a little ahead and if I didn’t write today, I wouldn’t even be behind.

But I didn’t not write. Better yet – the parts I did write were quick, action-packed and enjoyable to write. Nothing groundbreaking, but then that can wait until draft 2. And if it is half as enjoyable to read as it was to write, I am going to call that a win anyway.

I’m looking forward to the 40k mark. That officially puts me into the realm of “If I absolutely have to write the rest in one day, I can.” I’ve done 10k in one day twice now, so I know it can be done. Since the 30th is a Saturday and I won’t have my kids that day, I have the perfect conditions to be able to do it. Not saying that I want to of course, but if it has to happen, I know I can. And since I know I can, it gives me some amount of extra hope.

I almost stopped just shy of the goal amount tonight as well, but I was in the middle of describing a particularly intense action scene, so I felt like I should finish off the current thought. That thought turned into another, then another, and suddenly my surge to get another 100 words turned into 600 words. Bonus words!

I’m somewhat jealous of my brother. He took the week off from work and has been writing each day to catch up. I know if I had the time I’d probably squander it, but I see him hitting the goals by noon or 1pm and think to myself that I’d like to have it out of the way before the kids get out of school. Unfortunately, I’ve been starting work earlier this week than normal and not really taking a break for lunch, so even if I wanted to get it done for the middle of the day, it really wouldn’t work out.

He’s putting in the final push though, and for that I am happy to see. I encourage plenty of people to participate in NaNo (including a mother who is at the bus stop), but even though it is no loss to not meet the 50k goal, it is a great thing to see them succeed. I love talking about NaNo with my coworkers, even if they are a little surprised I can manage it while also maintaining my workload.

Anyway – good day. Hopefully it was good for you too and the end is near. Regardless though, keep writing and have a good night.

5 comments on “Day 21: Goal 1667, Actual 2208

  1. BrantleyNewton
    November 22, 2013

    10k in one day is quite a feat! I wish I had the confidence to say that “if it comes down to the last day, I know I can crank out 10k to cross that finish line.”

    That being said, I’m hoping to really churn some words next week and finish a couple of days early.

    November is such a ridiculous month for this. With Thanksgiving coming up (meaning family commitments for most people), Christmas starting earlier and earlier each year (meaning work commitments for a lot of people), and final exams coming up for students, there really couldn’t be a worse time of year. I guess the correlation of the letter ‘N’ was just too good to pass up though.

    • starstealer363
      November 22, 2013

      Thankfully I don’t work in retail (never really did) and don’t torture myself with black friday (my sanity is far more important than dealing with that mess). Still I can understand the stress of the last few days of NaNo who do have other obligations.

      Good luck on finishing up!

  2. dulsi
    November 22, 2013

    I find it disappointing that I haven’t gotten ahead of par yet. This week was supposes to make the rest of November easy not just easier. I’m not a very good wrimoer either. I refuse to put “do not” where a character would really say “don’t”. I tried the official word count yesterday and lose a lot of words due to apostrophe. I should really use something other than the stupid text editor that thinks “Phil’s” is two words.

    • starstealer363
      November 22, 2013

      Well I’m sure you could hear that principles have no place in NaNo (principals probably don’t either, but that is a different matter). And don’t discount what this week has done for you – you were only a few hundred words behind yesterday (last I checked), so with another 1800+ day you are caught up and with two days of the weekend, you can still get a 2500 word day or two.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 22, 2013 by in NaNoWriMo and tagged , , .
Do Not Get Sick in the Sink, Please

Humor and Sex. Mostly Sex.

just a dad with disney questions

reading into things way too much...

Finding Faeries

My continuing mission to explore ... magic

Learning to Love Anywhere

it's a beautiful existence...

ffeathers

A technical writing and fiction blog by Sarah Maddox

My Hike, 2014

I don't want to get to the end of my life and regret that I didn't do this

18 Wheels and a 12-Speed Bike

It's a beautiful country, but you're going to miss most of it if you spend your free time in the truck stop lounge. Travel tips and pics for truckers and others.

kellysgratitudegarden

a gratitude offering...

Pierr Morgan

Wild Observations Walking

Karma on the Trail

"'That's good for a beginning,' said Frodo. 'I feel like walking.'"

Rejection Love Letters

or A thousand ways to say 'NO!'

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Shannon A Thompson

You need the world, and the world needs good people.

ChopperPapa

go to Chopperpapa.com

Musings of A Learning Pro

Writing, Family and More

Today's Author

Fostering a community of creative writers through articles, comments, writing prompts and a healthy, supportive environment.

Gabrielle Edits

Writing, Family and More

Annema

Anne chews the fat

Do Not Get Sick in the Sink, Please

Humor and Sex. Mostly Sex.

just a dad with disney questions

reading into things way too much...

Finding Faeries

My continuing mission to explore ... magic

Learning to Love Anywhere

it's a beautiful existence...

ffeathers

A technical writing and fiction blog by Sarah Maddox

My Hike, 2014

I don't want to get to the end of my life and regret that I didn't do this

18 Wheels and a 12-Speed Bike

It's a beautiful country, but you're going to miss most of it if you spend your free time in the truck stop lounge. Travel tips and pics for truckers and others.

kellysgratitudegarden

a gratitude offering...

Pierr Morgan

Wild Observations Walking

Karma on the Trail

"'That's good for a beginning,' said Frodo. 'I feel like walking.'"

Rejection Love Letters

or A thousand ways to say 'NO!'

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Shannon A Thompson

You need the world, and the world needs good people.

ChopperPapa

go to Chopperpapa.com

Musings of A Learning Pro

Writing, Family and More

Today's Author

Fostering a community of creative writers through articles, comments, writing prompts and a healthy, supportive environment.

Gabrielle Edits

Writing, Family and More

Annema

Anne chews the fat

