starstolenwritings

Writing, Family and More

Day 20: Goal 1667, Actual 1992

I am definitely in a groove of writing right now. I can’t help but smile while I work on the story. I love these characters and how they interact with each other, the setting is working well for me and even the bad guys are just the right kind of insane for me to work with. Assuming I don’t have too many low-word days from here on out, I think I might see an early finish even. Not counting on it and I have plenty of time to finish things up if I do run low, but it would be nice.

At the end of last night’s session, I mentioned that I had another choice to be made. Basically the characters had three choices – turn back, proceed through one door or proceed through another door. The exact results of the doors seemed inconsequential, but none of the options really appealed to me. So when the characters started to feel like they were running around in a circle, it seemed logical for them to question the situation and ended up finding a secret passage out of the rooms. If only it could be so simple all of the time!

I am toying around with the possibility of making one last attempt at making these characters bridge the gap and become the characters I originally thought they were, but it truly is looking like they shouldn’t be. If that is the case, I really need to change the major character names throughout the story. So if I was going to rename them, what should their names be?

James, Agatha, Mister Trundolf and Boerigard are all existing characters from Jacoby Figurine who have major parts in the story. Boerigard and Mister Trundolf are true to the characters from the source story, so it is really just James and Agatha who definitely need to change their names or have their entire characters rewritten in this story or in the other (neither of which is going to happen during November – trust me). Also, in this story James and Agatha have an attraction to each other that doesn’t exist in Jacoby, so that would have to be accounted in the grand scheme too.

Anyway, that is more thoughts for later.

Until tomorrow – keep writing!

2 comments on “Day 20: Goal 1667, Actual 1992

  1. ninjaitis
    November 21, 2013

    Nice! I always get nervous when I get behind and I tell myself I won’t be able to make up the words, and then the next day I always do. I have come back from being 2, 3, and 4k behind and made it up every time. Knowing that I can do that helps me on days when I can say ‘Oh, come on! It’s just over 1k!’

    I love my story and my characters are wisking me off to a great climax and then an ending and then I will be DONE.

    • starstealer363
      November 21, 2013

      This is probably the latest into a given NaNo that I have still liked my novel and how it is going. The only concern I have at the moment is perhaps ending too soon, but then I have a couple of areas that I’d like to expand upon, so I know that hope is not lost even if I do.

      Good luck on finishing up both the month and the story as a whole.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 21, 2013 by in NaNoWriMo and tagged , , , , , , , .
Do Not Get Sick in the Sink, Please

Humor and Sex. Mostly Sex.

just a dad with disney questions

reading into things way too much...

Finding Faeries

My continuing mission to explore ... magic

Learning to Love Anywhere

it's a beautiful existence...

ffeathers

A technical writing and fiction blog by Sarah Maddox

My Hike, 2014

I don't want to get to the end of my life and regret that I didn't do this

18 Wheels and a 12-Speed Bike

It's a beautiful country, but you're going to miss most of it if you spend your free time in the truck stop lounge. Travel tips and pics for truckers and others.

kellysgratitudegarden

a gratitude offering...

Pierr Morgan

Wild Observations Walking

Karma on the Trail

"'That's good for a beginning,' said Frodo. 'I feel like walking.'"

Rejection Love Letters

or A thousand ways to say 'NO!'

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Shannon A Thompson

You need the world, and the world needs good people.

ChopperPapa

go to Chopperpapa.com

Musings of A Learning Pro

Writing, Family and More

Today's Author

Fostering a community of creative writers through articles, comments, writing prompts and a healthy, supportive environment.

Gabrielle Edits

Writing, Family and More

Annema

Anne chews the fat

Do Not Get Sick in the Sink, Please

Humor and Sex. Mostly Sex.

just a dad with disney questions

reading into things way too much...

Finding Faeries

My continuing mission to explore ... magic

Learning to Love Anywhere

it's a beautiful existence...

ffeathers

A technical writing and fiction blog by Sarah Maddox

My Hike, 2014

I don't want to get to the end of my life and regret that I didn't do this

18 Wheels and a 12-Speed Bike

It's a beautiful country, but you're going to miss most of it if you spend your free time in the truck stop lounge. Travel tips and pics for truckers and others.

kellysgratitudegarden

a gratitude offering...

Pierr Morgan

Wild Observations Walking

Karma on the Trail

"'That's good for a beginning,' said Frodo. 'I feel like walking.'"

Rejection Love Letters

or A thousand ways to say 'NO!'

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Shannon A Thompson

You need the world, and the world needs good people.

ChopperPapa

go to Chopperpapa.com

Musings of A Learning Pro

Writing, Family and More

Today's Author

Fostering a community of creative writers through articles, comments, writing prompts and a healthy, supportive environment.

Gabrielle Edits

Writing, Family and More

Annema

Anne chews the fat

