starstolenwritings

Writing, Family and More

Day 17: Goal 1667, Actual 964

I didn’t take a break today, but I did take it easy. I have the startling realization that my story is going to end early… I think in my rush to get to the next part of it, I missed out on an opportunity to really flesh things out. I could potentially write the last few scenes in 17k, but I think that might be drawing too much out in the conclusion. We’ll see though. I am having a good time writing the climax here, it really just flows out of my head so smoothly, I wrote the 900+ words today in about 15 minutes. Unfortunately, I was making some nachos at the same time and overcooked them. They weren’t a total loss, but definitely not the reward I was looking for.

I know that write-ins aren’t for everyone, but I really can’t say enough of what they do for my writing. Over the course of yesterday, I participated in 6 or 7 word wars with the other attendees. Generally for these, we each pick a word goal out of a hat/box/thing and that defines whether we win or lose and then write for half-hour sprints. I am pretty consistently around 1000-1300 words during these word wars, so 6-7 of them makes up almost everything that I wrote yesterday. And while I wasn’t participating in one, I was spending some time talking with the others about writing, socializing and pretty much just having a grand old time.

I don’t think I mentioned the second location we stopped at yesterday – The Cake Bar in Franklin. I had intended on sampling something they served there, but I was pretty preoccupied with personal stuff during that leg. For that matter, I almost closed up shop and went home, I was just that distracted. I’m glad I didn’t, but it is something that concerns me about the rest of the month.

I definitely feel like I am in the home stretch now. I’ve now got one person on my list who I follow who is already finished. Congratulations to her. Hopefully in the next week, I’ll start seeing others hitting that same number and I’ll follow suit.

Good luck in your writing everyone!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 18, 2013 by in NaNoWriMo and tagged , , , .
Do Not Get Sick in the Sink, Please

Humor and Sex. Mostly Sex.

just a dad with disney questions

reading into things way too much...

Finding Faeries

My continuing mission to explore ... magic

Learning to Love Anywhere

it's a beautiful existence...

ffeathers

A technical writing and fiction blog by Sarah Maddox

My Hike, 2014

I don't want to get to the end of my life and regret that I didn't do this

18 Wheels and a 12-Speed Bike

It's a beautiful country, but you're going to miss most of it if you spend your free time in the truck stop lounge. Travel tips and pics for truckers and others.

kellysgratitudegarden

a gratitude offering...

Pierr Morgan

Wild Observations Walking

Karma on the Trail

"'That's good for a beginning,' said Frodo. 'I feel like walking.'"

Rejection Love Letters

or A thousand ways to say 'NO!'

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Shannon A Thompson

You need the world, and the world needs good people.

ChopperPapa

go to Chopperpapa.com

Musings of A Learning Pro

Writing, Family and More

Today's Author

Fostering a community of creative writers through articles, comments, writing prompts and a healthy, supportive environment.

Gabrielle Edits

Writing, Family and More

Annema

Anne chews the fat

Do Not Get Sick in the Sink, Please

Humor and Sex. Mostly Sex.

just a dad with disney questions

reading into things way too much...

Finding Faeries

My continuing mission to explore ... magic

Learning to Love Anywhere

it's a beautiful existence...

ffeathers

A technical writing and fiction blog by Sarah Maddox

My Hike, 2014

I don't want to get to the end of my life and regret that I didn't do this

18 Wheels and a 12-Speed Bike

It's a beautiful country, but you're going to miss most of it if you spend your free time in the truck stop lounge. Travel tips and pics for truckers and others.

kellysgratitudegarden

a gratitude offering...

Pierr Morgan

Wild Observations Walking

Karma on the Trail

"'That's good for a beginning,' said Frodo. 'I feel like walking.'"

Rejection Love Letters

or A thousand ways to say 'NO!'

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Shannon A Thompson

You need the world, and the world needs good people.

ChopperPapa

go to Chopperpapa.com

Musings of A Learning Pro

Writing, Family and More

Today's Author

Fostering a community of creative writers through articles, comments, writing prompts and a healthy, supportive environment.

Gabrielle Edits

Writing, Family and More

Annema

Anne chews the fat

