starstolenwritings

Writing, Family and More

Day 14: Goal 1667, Actual 557

Not sure if I’d be able to hit my goal today if I tried harder or not. The simple truth is I am exhausted.

However, that’s not what I wanted to write about tonight. On my way home with the kids tonight, they were asking me a number of questions about NaNoWriMo. They started off asking how I was doing, if it was fun and how old you had to be to participate. Once they heard that there was no age restriction, the questions really started pouring out.

“Can you read me your story tonight?” my daughter asked.

“Well I could start, but not the whole thing.”

“Why?”

“Because 20,000 words is about 80 pages kiddo.”

“WOW!”

And so it went. They asked me about what they should write, what makes a story good and if I thought they could do it. My youngest proclaimed he was going to participate as well.

So when we walked in the door – we sat down in the living room with a couple of notebooks, some pencils and they wrote. And they all handled the pressure of writing differently.

My oldest son (10) decided he would write a guide to Minecraft, proudly wrote his title and then proceeded to tell me exactly what he was going to write. After completing his first paragraph, he asked if I wanted to look it over for spelling errors and I said no – because having correct spelling is not what NaNo is about.

My daughter (9) was concerned about having an idea to write. I explained that NaNo is sometimes about getting out of her own way, that she could just pick up the pencil and write. She shook her head, got out a box of Story Cubes and started rolling them around on the ground until she found a combination that struck her fancy. She didn’t actually write anything, but she was busy thinking about what she wanted to write and had taken some notes about what she might want to write.

My youngest son (6) curled up next to me and said he wanted to write, but might need a little help. I said sure and he asked me quietly how to spell one word after another as he crafted out his sentences. It was cute that he needed no help in spelling furnace (frnsss) and always (oways), but asked for specific help with a few others (crafting table (craftibel) for instance). I didn’t want to tell him to go on without knowing the letters, because it was something he wants to be more secure with.

Perfect end to the day. No I didn’t reach my goal tonight, for writing. But I did reach a different goal: to experience my kids trying to mimic their father in something he loves. I love you guys – sleep tight and happy writing.

2 comments on “Day 14: Goal 1667, Actual 557

  1. hobacaitbe
    November 15, 2013

    Maybe it was the Lemon Sponge Pie.
    Dad

    • starstealer363
      November 15, 2013

      Possibly. Lemon sponge pie can be attributed to any number of inspirations…

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 15, 2013 by in kids, NaNoWriMo and tagged , , , , .
Do Not Get Sick in the Sink, Please

Humor and Sex. Mostly Sex.

just a dad with disney questions

reading into things way too much...

Finding Faeries

My continuing mission to explore ... magic

Learning to Love Anywhere

it's a beautiful existence...

ffeathers

A technical writing and fiction blog by Sarah Maddox

My Hike, 2014

I don't want to get to the end of my life and regret that I didn't do this

18 Wheels and a 12-Speed Bike

It's a beautiful country, but you're going to miss most of it if you spend your free time in the truck stop lounge. Travel tips and pics for truckers and others.

kellysgratitudegarden

a gratitude offering...

Pierr Morgan

Wild Observations Walking

Karma on the Trail

"'That's good for a beginning,' said Frodo. 'I feel like walking.'"

Rejection Love Letters

or A thousand ways to say 'NO!'

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Shannon A Thompson

You need the world, and the world needs good people.

ChopperPapa

go to Chopperpapa.com

Musings of A Learning Pro

Writing, Family and More

Today's Author

Fostering a community of creative writers through articles, comments, writing prompts and a healthy, supportive environment.

Gabrielle Edits

Writing, Family and More

Annema

Anne chews the fat

Do Not Get Sick in the Sink, Please

Humor and Sex. Mostly Sex.

just a dad with disney questions

reading into things way too much...

Finding Faeries

My continuing mission to explore ... magic

Learning to Love Anywhere

it's a beautiful existence...

ffeathers

A technical writing and fiction blog by Sarah Maddox

My Hike, 2014

I don't want to get to the end of my life and regret that I didn't do this

18 Wheels and a 12-Speed Bike

It's a beautiful country, but you're going to miss most of it if you spend your free time in the truck stop lounge. Travel tips and pics for truckers and others.

kellysgratitudegarden

a gratitude offering...

Pierr Morgan

Wild Observations Walking

Karma on the Trail

"'That's good for a beginning,' said Frodo. 'I feel like walking.'"

Rejection Love Letters

or A thousand ways to say 'NO!'

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Shannon A Thompson

You need the world, and the world needs good people.

ChopperPapa

go to Chopperpapa.com

Musings of A Learning Pro

Writing, Family and More

Today's Author

Fostering a community of creative writers through articles, comments, writing prompts and a healthy, supportive environment.

Gabrielle Edits

Writing, Family and More

Annema

Anne chews the fat

