starstolenwritings

Writing, Family and More

Day 12: Goal 1667, Actual 1372

I didn’t quite make the goal today. I certainly could have but found myself at not only a good stopping point but also at a point where I need to make a decision. Or rather, my main character has to make a decision that will either get him in trouble now or in trouble later. I was originally going to deal with this three chapters ago, but instead pushed it off because I felt it was natural for him to avoid the issue for the preference of dealing with more immediate matters.

However, now, in the story, it is the end of the day and his boss is looking for answers. Unfortunately he has the lies he has been instructed to tell or the truth that will likely cause him just as much trouble. Decisions decisions…

Of course, this would also signal the start of another chapter, so I can cut to another scene if I like.

The possibilities are not endless, but they certainly plentiful. So my decision to think on it is a prudent one for now.

For those of you keeping track, I am just over 19,000 words now. If I was keeping pace, I’d be at a solid 20k, so I am a little behind, but definitely not enough to worry about. I was asked today how long it takes me to write my goal amount and he was surprised at how little time it takes. Once he did the math and found out that I’m only writing at about 30 words per minute or so though, he was not as impressed. He didn’t really think it through though; writing creatively takes effort. It isn’t just putting words on the page. It does take brain power and I am often enough tired by the time I’m done.

It is getting late though, so I’m going to take some time to rest and maybe get some sleep. I’ll surely have another update tomorrow. Hopefully by then I’ll have an answer to my character’s conundrum.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 13, 2013 by in NaNoWriMo and tagged , , , , .
Do Not Get Sick in the Sink, Please

Humor and Sex. Mostly Sex.

just a dad with disney questions

reading into things way too much...

Finding Faeries

My continuing mission to explore ... magic

Learning to Love Anywhere

it's a beautiful existence...

ffeathers

A technical writing and fiction blog by Sarah Maddox

My Hike, 2014

I don't want to get to the end of my life and regret that I didn't do this

18 Wheels and a 12-Speed Bike

It's a beautiful country, but you're going to miss most of it if you spend your free time in the truck stop lounge. Travel tips and pics for truckers and others.

kellysgratitudegarden

a gratitude offering...

Pierr Morgan

Wild Observations Walking

Karma on the Trail

"'That's good for a beginning,' said Frodo. 'I feel like walking.'"

Rejection Love Letters

or A thousand ways to say 'NO!'

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Shannon A Thompson

You need the world, and the world needs good people.

ChopperPapa

go to Chopperpapa.com

Musings of A Learning Pro

Writing, Family and More

Today's Author

Fostering a community of creative writers through articles, comments, writing prompts and a healthy, supportive environment.

Gabrielle Edits

Writing, Family and More

Annema

Anne chews the fat

Do Not Get Sick in the Sink, Please

Humor and Sex. Mostly Sex.

just a dad with disney questions

reading into things way too much...

Finding Faeries

My continuing mission to explore ... magic

Learning to Love Anywhere

it's a beautiful existence...

ffeathers

A technical writing and fiction blog by Sarah Maddox

My Hike, 2014

I don't want to get to the end of my life and regret that I didn't do this

18 Wheels and a 12-Speed Bike

It's a beautiful country, but you're going to miss most of it if you spend your free time in the truck stop lounge. Travel tips and pics for truckers and others.

kellysgratitudegarden

a gratitude offering...

Pierr Morgan

Wild Observations Walking

Karma on the Trail

"'That's good for a beginning,' said Frodo. 'I feel like walking.'"

Rejection Love Letters

or A thousand ways to say 'NO!'

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Shannon A Thompson

You need the world, and the world needs good people.

ChopperPapa

go to Chopperpapa.com

Musings of A Learning Pro

Writing, Family and More

Today's Author

Fostering a community of creative writers through articles, comments, writing prompts and a healthy, supportive environment.

Gabrielle Edits

Writing, Family and More

Annema

Anne chews the fat

