starstolenwritings

Writing, Family and More

Day 9: Goal 1667, Actual 2989

A year ago today, I was congratulating a fellow writer on hitting 50k after 9 days of writing. This year, so far, I don’t know of any winners. I do know a few people in the 20k range and one more into the 30s, but no winners yet. 30k in 9 days is still quite impressive to me though and I really do hope to be writing that consistently sometime in the near future.

Today was the first write-in that I was able to attend. I count on my write-ins to get me caught up in my word count and to give me an opportunity to socialize with other writers. My rough plan for the day was to go to the regular write-in and then crash the write-in for a neighboring community. Unfortunately, I wasn’t able to find the second location (I had the right address, but it just didn’t look correct when I got there – turns out it was the right place though), so I only got in the first session and I showed up almost an hour late to it.

Still, two hours at a write-in is worth about 2300 words (or at least – that’s what it was worth today). I participated in one word war with a goal to write 1340 words in 30 minutes, but fell short of my goal (only 1100 or so). I am definitely typing more slowly than in previous years, but I am spending much more time planning this story as I go than I did in previous years. Notable about this is the fact that I really think the whole story I have planned will be more than 50k. Since I tend to be “short-winded” when it comes to story-telling, this is pretty lofty to me.

As to the story itself, I have now started working in “Agatha” who is also a character from Jacoby Figurine. However, as I did so, I almost immediately went back to change the name. James in this story is subtly different from the James in Jacoby Figurine. Agatha has no resemblance whatsoever.

As a result – I am officially divorcing this story from the one I wrote previously. It might be set in the same place and feature some recurring characters, but as far as the main characters go, I think it would just be better to leave them be.

This evening, I got in a little more writing. I was hoping to hit 15k by the end of the day (and I might still), but for now I am just pretty happy with an almost-3k day. I am very happy with the characters I have used so far, the direction of the story and how I think the rest of it will go. Time will tell of course – 3 weeks left!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 10, 2013 by in NaNoWriMo and tagged , , , .
Do Not Get Sick in the Sink, Please

Humor and Sex. Mostly Sex.

just a dad with disney questions

reading into things way too much...

Finding Faeries

My continuing mission to explore ... magic

Learning to Love Anywhere

it's a beautiful existence...

ffeathers

A technical writing and fiction blog by Sarah Maddox

My Hike, 2014

I don't want to get to the end of my life and regret that I didn't do this

18 Wheels and a 12-Speed Bike

It's a beautiful country, but you're going to miss most of it if you spend your free time in the truck stop lounge. Travel tips and pics for truckers and others.

kellysgratitudegarden

a gratitude offering...

Pierr Morgan

Wild Observations Walking

Karma on the Trail

"'That's good for a beginning,' said Frodo. 'I feel like walking.'"

Rejection Love Letters

or A thousand ways to say 'NO!'

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Shannon A Thompson

You need the world, and the world needs good people.

ChopperPapa

go to Chopperpapa.com

Musings of A Learning Pro

Writing, Family and More

Today's Author

Fostering a community of creative writers through articles, comments, writing prompts and a healthy, supportive environment.

Gabrielle Edits

Writing, Family and More

Annema

Anne chews the fat

Do Not Get Sick in the Sink, Please

Humor and Sex. Mostly Sex.

just a dad with disney questions

reading into things way too much...

Finding Faeries

My continuing mission to explore ... magic

Learning to Love Anywhere

it's a beautiful existence...

ffeathers

A technical writing and fiction blog by Sarah Maddox

My Hike, 2014

I don't want to get to the end of my life and regret that I didn't do this

18 Wheels and a 12-Speed Bike

It's a beautiful country, but you're going to miss most of it if you spend your free time in the truck stop lounge. Travel tips and pics for truckers and others.

kellysgratitudegarden

a gratitude offering...

Pierr Morgan

Wild Observations Walking

Karma on the Trail

"'That's good for a beginning,' said Frodo. 'I feel like walking.'"

Rejection Love Letters

or A thousand ways to say 'NO!'

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Shannon A Thompson

You need the world, and the world needs good people.

ChopperPapa

go to Chopperpapa.com

Musings of A Learning Pro

Writing, Family and More

Today's Author

Fostering a community of creative writers through articles, comments, writing prompts and a healthy, supportive environment.

Gabrielle Edits

Writing, Family and More

Annema

Anne chews the fat

