starstolenwritings

Writing, Family and More

Day 7: Goal 1667, Actual 1927

One thing I am doing differently this NaNo than in previous ones is to take the time to go back and add the pieces I think I should have included earlier. For instance, during tonight’s session, I realized I never had the main character look outside the house where the “murder” took place. Since the attack came from outside the house, this seemed like a major oversight.

That all said, it has been a breeze adding those details in. After participating in NaNo in 2011 and trying out WriteWay Professional during that process, I was pretty happy with how it let me organize things. Similarly, I’ve had good experiences with my rewrite of Jacoby Figurine for the same reason (as I mentioned in the post Separation Anxiety).

Eventually, I’d like to get organized enough to do a full scene outline of my stories so that the reorganization of scenes can be more elegantly handled, but for now, this process is probably the easiest for me. It works well during the editing process and I can see how well it works during the writing process itself. If I was still working in Word, it would bother me to insert another section in the middle until I was done with that addition. It would probably mean adding a decent number of tags to my writing so I could search for the problem areas later.

Anyway, tonight’s writing session went very well for me. Truthfully, I wanted to stop after the first 1000 words as I had just gotten to a good stopping point, but when I realized just how little I had written, I stopped myself from stopping (how about that dual stoppage?) and continued forth.

In other news, today’s pep talk by Malinda Lo really spoke volumes to me. I try to stay away from excuses like “I wasn’t inspired today” for precisely the reasons she gives. This particular section is great:

Inspiration is like that hot girl or guy you met at a party one time—and when you talked to him or her, it seemed like you totally clicked. There was eye contact; there was flirting; maybe there was even a bit of casual brushing of your hand over theirs, right? I know. I’ve been there. At the end of the night they asked for your number and said, “I’ll definitely call you. We should hang out.”

But then they never did, and you were left waiting for a call that never came, feeling increasingly like a fool.

That’s what inspiration is. It’s seductive and thrilling, but you can’t depend on it to call you. It doesn’t work that way. The good thing is, inspiration is irrelevant to whether or not you finish your book. The only thing that determines that is your own sense of discipline.

However, even though I try to stay away from excuses like that, I am all too aware of the fact that I’m not writing as much as I’d like during the off-season. That part is still a work in progress. Hopefully, one of these NaNo projects will get me in the right place to follow through. I’m feeling good about this year, so that’s what I’m aiming for.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 8, 2013 by in NaNoWriMo and tagged , , , , .
Do Not Get Sick in the Sink, Please

Humor and Sex. Mostly Sex.

just a dad with disney questions

reading into things way too much...

Finding Faeries

My continuing mission to explore ... magic

Learning to Love Anywhere

it's a beautiful existence...

ffeathers

A technical writing and fiction blog by Sarah Maddox

My Hike, 2014

I don't want to get to the end of my life and regret that I didn't do this

18 Wheels and a 12-Speed Bike

It's a beautiful country, but you're going to miss most of it if you spend your free time in the truck stop lounge. Travel tips and pics for truckers and others.

kellysgratitudegarden

a gratitude offering...

Pierr Morgan

Wild Observations Walking

Karma on the Trail

"'That's good for a beginning,' said Frodo. 'I feel like walking.'"

Rejection Love Letters

or A thousand ways to say 'NO!'

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Shannon A Thompson

You need the world, and the world needs good people.

ChopperPapa

go to Chopperpapa.com

Musings of A Learning Pro

Writing, Family and More

Today's Author

Fostering a community of creative writers through articles, comments, writing prompts and a healthy, supportive environment.

Gabrielle Edits

Writing, Family and More

Annema

Anne chews the fat

Do Not Get Sick in the Sink, Please

Humor and Sex. Mostly Sex.

just a dad with disney questions

reading into things way too much...

Finding Faeries

My continuing mission to explore ... magic

Learning to Love Anywhere

it's a beautiful existence...

ffeathers

A technical writing and fiction blog by Sarah Maddox

My Hike, 2014

I don't want to get to the end of my life and regret that I didn't do this

18 Wheels and a 12-Speed Bike

It's a beautiful country, but you're going to miss most of it if you spend your free time in the truck stop lounge. Travel tips and pics for truckers and others.

kellysgratitudegarden

a gratitude offering...

Pierr Morgan

Wild Observations Walking

Karma on the Trail

"'That's good for a beginning,' said Frodo. 'I feel like walking.'"

Rejection Love Letters

or A thousand ways to say 'NO!'

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Shannon A Thompson

You need the world, and the world needs good people.

ChopperPapa

go to Chopperpapa.com

Musings of A Learning Pro

Writing, Family and More

Today's Author

Fostering a community of creative writers through articles, comments, writing prompts and a healthy, supportive environment.

Gabrielle Edits

Writing, Family and More

Annema

Anne chews the fat

