starstolenwritings

Writing, Family and More

Day 5: Goal 1667, Actual 1905

Apparently the dead guy-who-wasn’t-really-dead thing is working well for me. It is so much easier to explain who all of the potential murderers are when the guy who was supposed to be murdered can tell you exactly who they are. I hadn’t really explored that possibility before, but it worked out well for tonight’s session.

I do think I’ll need to make some adjustment to the story at some point. In Jacoby Figurine, James has the ability to read minds and to plant suggestions in others. However, thus far he hasn’t shown any ability like that and, more importantly, seems oblivious to the super-natural world around him. As a result, I have two distinct options: 1. He develops the ability later on in the story as a result of some other action or 2. Disconnect James in this story from the James in Jacoby Figurine. At this point, either option is a possibility and I don’t have to make it one way or the other right now. It is a decision I will need to work out however because otherwise the two characters are certainly not consistent across the stories.

Most of the days so far have been 15-minute sessions of 500-600 words at a time. Tonight was two 30-minute blocks because the writing just came out all the more swiftly and I didn’t want to break until I had exactly the ideas out that I was working on. Since I haven’t been writing at all really all year, these sessions feel difficult by the end. I want to have a break by the end of them.

I have been thinking a fair amount about how I am going to get my writing kickstarted in such a way to really get going with it during the non-NaNo months. This year I wanted to get to writing, but I also wanted to get Jacoby Figurine finished up. Unfortunately, I didn’t really get either one done. Yes Jacoby Figurine is close, but definitely not done.

One other writer suggested putting in 5 pages of writing per day as a goal. This is not work like the Daily News (I thought I had covered this before – but basically the idea is to write 3 pages a day, each day, at the same time, but do it completely off the top of your head), but putting in 5 pages of writing towards a particular piece. The part about the Daily News that I don’t like is that stream of consciousness doesn’t really lend itself to producing useful writing unless you are hyper-focused. I can do that some days, but ideally, I should spend more time thinking about the writing.

Anyway, today was a productive one. From what I can see of my writing buddies, it looks like it is going well for more than a few people – so good job everyone.

2 comments on “Day 5: Goal 1667, Actual 1905

  1. Kathy Palm
    November 6, 2013

    Good for you! Glad the story is speaking to you. 🙂

    • starstealer363
      November 6, 2013

      Not so much speaking as demanding, but yes – I am glad as well 🙂

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 6, 2013 by in NaNoWriMo and tagged , , , .
Do Not Get Sick in the Sink, Please

Humor and Sex. Mostly Sex.

just a dad with disney questions

reading into things way too much...

Finding Faeries

My continuing mission to explore ... magic

Learning to Love Anywhere

it's a beautiful existence...

ffeathers

A technical writing and fiction blog by Sarah Maddox

My Hike, 2014

I don't want to get to the end of my life and regret that I didn't do this

18 Wheels and a 12-Speed Bike

It's a beautiful country, but you're going to miss most of it if you spend your free time in the truck stop lounge. Travel tips and pics for truckers and others.

kellysgratitudegarden

a gratitude offering...

Pierr Morgan

Wild Observations Walking

Karma on the Trail

"'That's good for a beginning,' said Frodo. 'I feel like walking.'"

Rejection Love Letters

or A thousand ways to say 'NO!'

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Shannon A Thompson

You need the world, and the world needs good people.

ChopperPapa

go to Chopperpapa.com

Musings of A Learning Pro

Writing, Family and More

Today's Author

Fostering a community of creative writers through articles, comments, writing prompts and a healthy, supportive environment.

Gabrielle Edits

Writing, Family and More

Annema

Anne chews the fat

Do Not Get Sick in the Sink, Please

Humor and Sex. Mostly Sex.

just a dad with disney questions

reading into things way too much...

Finding Faeries

My continuing mission to explore ... magic

Learning to Love Anywhere

it's a beautiful existence...

ffeathers

A technical writing and fiction blog by Sarah Maddox

My Hike, 2014

I don't want to get to the end of my life and regret that I didn't do this

18 Wheels and a 12-Speed Bike

It's a beautiful country, but you're going to miss most of it if you spend your free time in the truck stop lounge. Travel tips and pics for truckers and others.

kellysgratitudegarden

a gratitude offering...

Pierr Morgan

Wild Observations Walking

Karma on the Trail

"'That's good for a beginning,' said Frodo. 'I feel like walking.'"

Rejection Love Letters

or A thousand ways to say 'NO!'

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Shannon A Thompson

You need the world, and the world needs good people.

ChopperPapa

go to Chopperpapa.com

Musings of A Learning Pro

Writing, Family and More

Today's Author

Fostering a community of creative writers through articles, comments, writing prompts and a healthy, supportive environment.

Gabrielle Edits

Writing, Family and More

Annema

Anne chews the fat

