starstolenwritings

Writing, Family and More

Day 2: Goal 1667, Actual 1729

Usually I look forward to the Saturdays of November because it means I am on my way to a write-in to get upwards of 3k for the day or more. On this particular Saturday, there was even the kick-off event planned. Unfortunately, I didn’t make plans to go as I felt getting a sitter for 6 hours or more would be unreasonable and, quite frankly, I wanted to spend time at home. In addition to just getting some time with the kids as a group and one-on-one, the apartment was in severe need of cleaning. Severe as in “I can’t believe I let this chore go this long.” So I stayed home and spent time with the kids (good) and time with the cleaning (less good, but necessary).

What this does mean is that I didn’t really sit down to write until the tail end of the day. This year, I decided to let the kids “own” their Halloween candy and although they are very good about asking permission to have a piece here and there – I think they are still sneaking a piece here and there in addition to the ones for which I gave them permission. They don’t usually have candy, so this is a special thing to them, but it did make for a bit of a difficult bed time. Tomorrow, I might put a lock down on it so that the school week is not so tough on them. We’ll see how tomorrow goes though.

In terms of writing, I like this story so far. Yesterday, I was timid about it because it had a lot of things that I just wasn’t confident about. Today, it just flowed a lot more naturally. I was distracted by the television (until I turned it off anyway – Bruins lost tonight…), but I was still getting along with the words as they came out.

I read a post earlier that resonated well with me. Although the topic of sacrificing for one’s writing comes up often enough, I think it pointed out much better that you can get quite a bit done in short periods of time. Instead of focusing on “when can I find that hour to get my daily quota in?” maybe instead focus on “I’ve got ten minutes right now – why don’t I toss 400 words on the page and see how well they stick.

I didn’t take that initiative today though. I thought about it a few times, but ended up rambling around on one task to another until the day was all used up. I was very productive today though, just not in terms of writing until the very tail end of it. And while I did make my goal for the day, I know that the fact I didn’t get 3k today might be a sign that this will be a tougher NaNo than my previous ones.

Time will tell though.

Tomorrow is a busy day – with plans to head over to Higgins Armory one last time before they close up shop. I know that they’ll be continuing on as a part of the Worcester Art Museum, but it still gives me a little bit of sorrow to see it go.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 3, 2013 by in kids, NaNoWriMo and tagged , , , , , .
Do Not Get Sick in the Sink, Please

Humor and Sex. Mostly Sex.

just a dad with disney questions

reading into things way too much...

Finding Faeries

My continuing mission to explore ... magic

Learning to Love Anywhere

it's a beautiful existence...

ffeathers

A technical writing and fiction blog by Sarah Maddox

My Hike, 2014

I don't want to get to the end of my life and regret that I didn't do this

18 Wheels and a 12-Speed Bike

It's a beautiful country, but you're going to miss most of it if you spend your free time in the truck stop lounge. Travel tips and pics for truckers and others.

kellysgratitudegarden

a gratitude offering...

Pierr Morgan

Wild Observations Walking

Karma on the Trail

"'That's good for a beginning,' said Frodo. 'I feel like walking.'"

Rejection Love Letters

or A thousand ways to say 'NO!'

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Shannon A Thompson

You need the world, and the world needs good people.

ChopperPapa

go to Chopperpapa.com

Musings of A Learning Pro

Writing, Family and More

Today's Author

Fostering a community of creative writers through articles, comments, writing prompts and a healthy, supportive environment.

Gabrielle Edits

Writing, Family and More

Annema

Anne chews the fat

Do Not Get Sick in the Sink, Please

Humor and Sex. Mostly Sex.

just a dad with disney questions

reading into things way too much...

Finding Faeries

My continuing mission to explore ... magic

Learning to Love Anywhere

it's a beautiful existence...

ffeathers

A technical writing and fiction blog by Sarah Maddox

My Hike, 2014

I don't want to get to the end of my life and regret that I didn't do this

18 Wheels and a 12-Speed Bike

It's a beautiful country, but you're going to miss most of it if you spend your free time in the truck stop lounge. Travel tips and pics for truckers and others.

kellysgratitudegarden

a gratitude offering...

Pierr Morgan

Wild Observations Walking

Karma on the Trail

"'That's good for a beginning,' said Frodo. 'I feel like walking.'"

Rejection Love Letters

or A thousand ways to say 'NO!'

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Shannon A Thompson

You need the world, and the world needs good people.

ChopperPapa

go to Chopperpapa.com

Musings of A Learning Pro

Writing, Family and More

Today's Author

Fostering a community of creative writers through articles, comments, writing prompts and a healthy, supportive environment.

Gabrielle Edits

Writing, Family and More

Annema

Anne chews the fat

