starstolenwritings

Writing, Family and More

July was Hot

As if it needed to be said…

I was off to a great start this month despite the heat though. Two rides with the Ashland bike club for about 50 miles, a ride with my father for another 18 and many many other rides, and I was off and running. Or biking as it were.

During the second half of the month though, my biking diminished considerably. I took a “vacation” from work for the 3rd week of the month and, while I didn’t have plans to travel, I did have plans to do some outdoor activities. I spent one day at the ocean with the kids and many cousins, aunts, uncles and new kids whom I hadn’t seen in quite a while or whom I had never met before.

On Wednesday, we took a canoe/kayak trip with 14 people down the Ipswich river. My father planned for a nice and leisurely 6 hour trip, but with the presence of so many kids, we were a little behind schedule…

On Friday, we took a hike up Mount Monadnock with 14 people. Most of us made the summit – including the 5 year old and the 6 year old! The few who didn’t make the summit were within a few hundred feet though – so that’s plenty good enough!

So, while I didn’t get much biking done, I could hardly say I was inactive. According to MapMyRide, I was burning 4000 calories on those trips. I don’t necessarily believe it – but then I don’t really know.

I’ve also been playing some basketball with my oldest (and losing terribly). I may have height on him, but I’ve never had a passion for that infernal game. He on the other hand does have a knack for it and I look forward to seeing him get better at it.

So the end result is I didn’t have quite as many miles on my bike this month and while I am wicked close, I haven’t quite breached 500 miles on my bike (492…). I get a free tune up from the Milford Bike store and I was planning on using it before the biking season next year. However, I think it could really use one soon, so I might have to reconsider that plan. We’ll see how the weather looks when I get back from vacation though.

Here’s the month:

july

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 1, 2013 by in Biking and tagged , , , , , , , .
Do Not Get Sick in the Sink, Please

Humor and Sex. Mostly Sex.

just a dad with disney questions

reading into things way too much...

Finding Faeries

My continuing mission to explore ... magic

Learning to Love Anywhere

it's a beautiful existence...

ffeathers

A technical writing and fiction blog by Sarah Maddox

My Hike, 2014

I don't want to get to the end of my life and regret that I didn't do this

18 Wheels and a 12-Speed Bike

It's a beautiful country, but you're going to miss most of it if you spend your free time in the truck stop lounge. Travel tips and pics for truckers and others.

kellysgratitudegarden

a gratitude offering...

Pierr Morgan

Wild Observations Walking

Karma on the Trail

"'That's good for a beginning,' said Frodo. 'I feel like walking.'"

Rejection Love Letters

or A thousand ways to say 'NO!'

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Shannon A Thompson

You need the world, and the world needs good people.

ChopperPapa

go to Chopperpapa.com

Musings of A Learning Pro

Writing, Family and More

Today's Author

Fostering a community of creative writers through articles, comments, writing prompts and a healthy, supportive environment.

Gabrielle Edits

Writing, Family and More

Annema

Anne chews the fat

Do Not Get Sick in the Sink, Please

Humor and Sex. Mostly Sex.

just a dad with disney questions

reading into things way too much...

Finding Faeries

My continuing mission to explore ... magic

Learning to Love Anywhere

it's a beautiful existence...

ffeathers

A technical writing and fiction blog by Sarah Maddox

My Hike, 2014

I don't want to get to the end of my life and regret that I didn't do this

18 Wheels and a 12-Speed Bike

It's a beautiful country, but you're going to miss most of it if you spend your free time in the truck stop lounge. Travel tips and pics for truckers and others.

kellysgratitudegarden

a gratitude offering...

Pierr Morgan

Wild Observations Walking

Karma on the Trail

"'That's good for a beginning,' said Frodo. 'I feel like walking.'"

Rejection Love Letters

or A thousand ways to say 'NO!'

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Shannon A Thompson

You need the world, and the world needs good people.

ChopperPapa

go to Chopperpapa.com

Musings of A Learning Pro

Writing, Family and More

Today's Author

Fostering a community of creative writers through articles, comments, writing prompts and a healthy, supportive environment.

Gabrielle Edits

Writing, Family and More

Annema

Anne chews the fat

