starstolenwritings

Writing, Family and More

Hodgepodge

It has been a couple of busy weeks around here – though not for one reason alone. Rather – it has been busy on many facets. In case you didn’t know, I like busy. It keeps life interesting.

Over the Independence day and the ensuing weekend, I played host to a friend of mine I hadn’t seen in a few months. He and I spent some good time with the kids, got caught up on our personal lives and just enjoyed some adult company. Sometimes when the kids are gone, I begin to remember just how empty this apartment is, so it is good to have a visitor to help fill the space from time to time.

Last week, I decided I would get myself a new laptop. This had a host of reasons, but the biggest one was that I didn’t really want to continue using my work laptop for personal business. I’m generally pretty good about staying away from websites during the day anyway, but not being able to go wherever I pleased did bother me on rare occasions (and the kids on many occasions). Additionally, while the work laptop performs admirably for work, it is easily five years old in terms of hardware and I figured it would be nice to have something new. I am not regretting moving up to Windows 8 thus far (I cheated by trying it out in the store enough to know that I would be comfortable with it anyway). So here I am on my first new personal laptop since about sophomore year in college…

In terms of writing, I’ve been going in fits and starts, but I have been chipping away at what I need to finish up in Jacoby Figurine. I’d really like to see this draft finished finally and I have a couple of people asking me for updates on it. So there is some push there. Hopefully the kind of push that will see it through to the finish. Assuming I can get it done before November, it will give me some time to prepare a little for NaNoWriMo 2013.

I haven’t been out on the bike “as much” in the last couple of weeks – but I did get out to the beach, go ten-pin bowling with my kids and even 3 strings of candlepin bowling (which I haven’t done since my kids were infants). Here’s an odd tidbit: I’m left handed, and for most sports – I am left-hand dominant. That said, I have a hard time playing baseball because I want to catch right-handed (yet throw left-handed). In ten-pin, I bowl left-handed, but for candlepin, it is more comfortable to bowl right-handed.

So anyway – there’s a bunch of random things. It should be another busy weekend around here with a bike ride with my kids and the Ashland Bike Club on Saturday and a day at the beach on Sunday. Both assuming the weather holds up.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 13, 2013 by in Biking, Editing and tagged , , , , , , .
Do Not Get Sick in the Sink, Please

Humor and Sex. Mostly Sex.

just a dad with disney questions

reading into things way too much...

Finding Faeries

My continuing mission to explore ... magic

Learning to Love Anywhere

it's a beautiful existence...

ffeathers

A technical writing and fiction blog by Sarah Maddox

My Hike, 2014

I don't want to get to the end of my life and regret that I didn't do this

18 Wheels and a 12-Speed Bike

It's a beautiful country, but you're going to miss most of it if you spend your free time in the truck stop lounge. Travel tips and pics for truckers and others.

kellysgratitudegarden

a gratitude offering...

Pierr Morgan

Wild Observations Walking

Karma on the Trail

"'That's good for a beginning,' said Frodo. 'I feel like walking.'"

Rejection Love Letters

or A thousand ways to say 'NO!'

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Shannon A Thompson

You need the world, and the world needs good people.

ChopperPapa

go to Chopperpapa.com

Musings of A Learning Pro

Writing, Family and More

Today's Author

Fostering a community of creative writers through articles, comments, writing prompts and a healthy, supportive environment.

Gabrielle Edits

Writing, Family and More

Annema

Anne chews the fat

Do Not Get Sick in the Sink, Please

Humor and Sex. Mostly Sex.

just a dad with disney questions

reading into things way too much...

Finding Faeries

My continuing mission to explore ... magic

Learning to Love Anywhere

it's a beautiful existence...

ffeathers

A technical writing and fiction blog by Sarah Maddox

My Hike, 2014

I don't want to get to the end of my life and regret that I didn't do this

18 Wheels and a 12-Speed Bike

It's a beautiful country, but you're going to miss most of it if you spend your free time in the truck stop lounge. Travel tips and pics for truckers and others.

kellysgratitudegarden

a gratitude offering...

Pierr Morgan

Wild Observations Walking

Karma on the Trail

"'That's good for a beginning,' said Frodo. 'I feel like walking.'"

Rejection Love Letters

or A thousand ways to say 'NO!'

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Shannon A Thompson

You need the world, and the world needs good people.

ChopperPapa

go to Chopperpapa.com

Musings of A Learning Pro

Writing, Family and More

Today's Author

Fostering a community of creative writers through articles, comments, writing prompts and a healthy, supportive environment.

Gabrielle Edits

Writing, Family and More

Annema

Anne chews the fat

