starstolenwritings

Writing, Family and More

June Biking Wrap-up

The first half of June was mostly a wash out and as a result, I wasn’t sure I was even going to come close to the goal of 100 miles for the month. However, once I was able to get in my first ride with the Ashland Bike Club, and then a second, I knew I was in good shape.

That said, I think the absolutely beautiful weather for the last half of the month has made everything possible. A couple of days ago, I realized 200 miles in the month was reachable, but I didn’t want to push myself too hard. Still, beating last month by 25% was nice and I hope I can do more in the coming weeks. Biking weather is a short season in New England. It can end as early as September and start even later in May than I did this year. As a result, I should take advantage as much as I can.

I basically end up with two complaints about my rides so far:

  • I can’t seem to get my daily lunch/afternoon rides above ~13 mph. I push myself hard in those rides, but with all of the stops for road crossings and the occasional group of kids blocking the whole bike path, I just can’t seem to get any faster.
  • I haven’t had many times out with the kids so far this season. Truthfully, I don’t record them all because either they are so short that it isn’t worth writing down or we plan to go a distance and then stop at the park instead. That all said – I did ride with all three of them on Sunday for a short ride of 2 miles and this afternoon, I managed to coax 5.8 miles out of my oldest. He was pretty beat at the end, but he pushed through.

I’m now participating in two “challenges” through MapMyRide. The Aetna challenge is pretty much a no-brainer for me. I’m able to do pretty much what I’ve been doing and I’m almost certainly eligible for each of the prizes.

The other challenge is something I have no hope of finishing, but I should be still eligible for some of the prizes. This one coincides with the Tour de France and features five different milestones: 100 miles (doable), 250 miles (not likely), 500 miles (no way Jose), half-tour (yeah right) and full tour (uh huh…). I probably will have no problem hitting 100 miles as long as the weather stays reasonable and I take the time given to me. 250miles? Well it is a shorter time frame than a month (21 days), and the most I’ve done in a month is this month – 180 miles.

Essentially, I don’t think I’m going to make that second milestone, but if I can get close, that would be a great challenge to build up to next year.

Here’s the full month:

biking - 2013 june

One comment on “June Biking Wrap-up

  1. Jill Weatherholt
    June 30, 2013

    Nice job!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 30, 2013 by in Biking and tagged , , , .
Do Not Get Sick in the Sink, Please

Humor and Sex. Mostly Sex.

just a dad with disney questions

reading into things way too much...

Finding Faeries

My continuing mission to explore ... magic

Learning to Love Anywhere

it's a beautiful existence...

ffeathers

A technical writing and fiction blog by Sarah Maddox

My Hike, 2014

I don't want to get to the end of my life and regret that I didn't do this

18 Wheels and a 12-Speed Bike

It's a beautiful country, but you're going to miss most of it if you spend your free time in the truck stop lounge. Travel tips and pics for truckers and others.

kellysgratitudegarden

a gratitude offering...

Pierr Morgan

Wild Observations Walking

Karma on the Trail

"'That's good for a beginning,' said Frodo. 'I feel like walking.'"

Rejection Love Letters

or A thousand ways to say 'NO!'

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Shannon A Thompson

You need the world, and the world needs good people.

ChopperPapa

go to Chopperpapa.com

Musings of A Learning Pro

Writing, Family and More

Today's Author

Fostering a community of creative writers through articles, comments, writing prompts and a healthy, supportive environment.

Gabrielle Edits

Writing, Family and More

Annema

Anne chews the fat

Do Not Get Sick in the Sink, Please

Humor and Sex. Mostly Sex.

just a dad with disney questions

reading into things way too much...

Finding Faeries

My continuing mission to explore ... magic

Learning to Love Anywhere

it's a beautiful existence...

ffeathers

A technical writing and fiction blog by Sarah Maddox

My Hike, 2014

I don't want to get to the end of my life and regret that I didn't do this

18 Wheels and a 12-Speed Bike

It's a beautiful country, but you're going to miss most of it if you spend your free time in the truck stop lounge. Travel tips and pics for truckers and others.

kellysgratitudegarden

a gratitude offering...

Pierr Morgan

Wild Observations Walking

Karma on the Trail

"'That's good for a beginning,' said Frodo. 'I feel like walking.'"

Rejection Love Letters

or A thousand ways to say 'NO!'

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Shannon A Thompson

You need the world, and the world needs good people.

ChopperPapa

go to Chopperpapa.com

Musings of A Learning Pro

Writing, Family and More

Today's Author

Fostering a community of creative writers through articles, comments, writing prompts and a healthy, supportive environment.

Gabrielle Edits

Writing, Family and More

Annema

Anne chews the fat

