starstolenwritings

Writing, Family and More

Was that a gunshot?

I decided this weekend that my kids and I would join the Ashland Bike Club for a “family friendly” ride through a beautiful, historic section of Sudbury. The ride started at the Grist Mill. Unfortunately, while we did make it there, it wasn’t without casualty.

About five minutes away, we were driving along route 20 and heard a loud pop. I saw no car in range that would have likely backfired like this and I felt it was too quiet to be a gunshot (though the kids were certain it was…). I felt it was too loud to be anything on the back of the car, but a sinking feeling in the pit of my stomach had me worried it might have been one of the kids’ bikes. All four were still on the rack at least.

Once we got to the meeting point though, my daughter pointed out that her back tire was flat. This bike was bought new from a store about three years ago and previous to this, I’ve had to replace tubes on two separate occasions, but figured the worst was over and done. It wasn’t however and this tube was beyond the point that it might have been able to be patched. So before we had even begun, the ride was over. My daughter has been complaining for months that she “needs a new bike” but the reality is that hers was the newest of the bunch (aside from mine now anyway).

My father is a great man though, so when we stopped by, he took my daughter down to the Holliston Recycle Center. Most of the kids’ bikes have come from there over time; residents leave bikes that are still in very good condition as kids outgrow them. Some of them are high quality bikes and you can’t beat the freeness of the price. He came back fifteen minutes later with three girls bikes of about the right size and immediately checked their tires, chains, etc until he and my daughter found the right combination.

We only did a little two-mile loop around his neighborhood. It was much less than I wanted, but it was good to get them on the road again. Hopefully July 4th and 5th will see some good riding opportunities as well. We’ll see though.

3 comments on “Was that a gunshot?

  1. hobacaitbe
    July 1, 2013

    I’m not sure about “a great man” but I am grampa. Not sure how that is going to work when she brings me here car to be fixed in a few years.
    Dad

    • starstealer363
      July 1, 2013

      Okay noted – when the kids have car troubles, send them to grampa 🙂

      • hobacaitbe
        July 1, 2013

        I think you missed something here.
        Dad

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 29, 2013 by in Biking and tagged , , , , .
Do Not Get Sick in the Sink, Please

Humor and Sex. Mostly Sex.

just a dad with disney questions

reading into things way too much...

Finding Faeries

My continuing mission to explore ... magic

Learning to Love Anywhere

it's a beautiful existence...

ffeathers

A technical writing and fiction blog by Sarah Maddox

My Hike, 2014

I don't want to get to the end of my life and regret that I didn't do this

18 Wheels and a 12-Speed Bike

It's a beautiful country, but you're going to miss most of it if you spend your free time in the truck stop lounge. Travel tips and pics for truckers and others.

kellysgratitudegarden

a gratitude offering...

Pierr Morgan

Wild Observations Walking

Karma on the Trail

"'That's good for a beginning,' said Frodo. 'I feel like walking.'"

Rejection Love Letters

or A thousand ways to say 'NO!'

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Shannon A Thompson

You need the world, and the world needs good people.

ChopperPapa

go to Chopperpapa.com

Musings of A Learning Pro

Writing, Family and More

Today's Author

Fostering a community of creative writers through articles, comments, writing prompts and a healthy, supportive environment.

Gabrielle Edits

Writing, Family and More

Annema

Anne chews the fat

Do Not Get Sick in the Sink, Please

Humor and Sex. Mostly Sex.

just a dad with disney questions

reading into things way too much...

Finding Faeries

My continuing mission to explore ... magic

Learning to Love Anywhere

it's a beautiful existence...

ffeathers

A technical writing and fiction blog by Sarah Maddox

My Hike, 2014

I don't want to get to the end of my life and regret that I didn't do this

18 Wheels and a 12-Speed Bike

It's a beautiful country, but you're going to miss most of it if you spend your free time in the truck stop lounge. Travel tips and pics for truckers and others.

kellysgratitudegarden

a gratitude offering...

Pierr Morgan

Wild Observations Walking

Karma on the Trail

"'That's good for a beginning,' said Frodo. 'I feel like walking.'"

Rejection Love Letters

or A thousand ways to say 'NO!'

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Shannon A Thompson

You need the world, and the world needs good people.

ChopperPapa

go to Chopperpapa.com

Musings of A Learning Pro

Writing, Family and More

Today's Author

Fostering a community of creative writers through articles, comments, writing prompts and a healthy, supportive environment.

Gabrielle Edits

Writing, Family and More

Annema

Anne chews the fat

