starstolenwritings

Writing, Family and More

Writing Prompt from Today’s Author

I haven’t been writing at all lately. I don’t have any excuse, so I just sat down and wrote tonight. I wanted to work on Jacoby Figurine, but it felt hollow. I’m out of practice. Funny how I can seem to churn out plenty of words during November, but the rest of the year, I languish.

So anyway, I took it upon myself to go to Today’s Author and use their writing prompt. I can’t say it particularly inspired me, but twenty minutes of stream-of-consciousness gave me a few words to go with. I’ll include it here since I don’t really see it going anywhere useful.

He took a step and heard a dull, crunching sound beneath his foot. It sounded just like he expected bones would sound, crushing under the weight of a car, but it was only the gravel underfoot. Darren couldn’t be bothered with something so mundane though. He had plans to be executed and the sounds of him walking were only a distraction.

Fifteen more crunching steps and he turned off the road and up onto the driveway. Julie was there, waiting expectantly.

“Hurry up!” She called out, but Darren’s gait did not waiver.

Darren had places to be, but he wasn’t about to change his speed for anyone, even someone as beautiful as Julie. Her yellow-splotched sundress allowed plenty of her long legs to poke out underneath. Her auburn hair nestled in on her shoulders and her smile… well that was something he could enjoy every day of the week. Even when she wanted him to hurry, she smiled despite herself.

“I’m coming. And they aren’t going anywhere.”

“Oh just come on.”

She turned and led the way up to the front door of the old house. She stopped on the front porch and opened the door wide for him to go in.

No details about Darren. Julie gets a few sentences. The rest is just kind of sitting there.

Anyway – it is a little bit of nothing, but at least I did something. We’ll see if I can’t get myself kickstarted again.

Hopefully I’ll have another successful bike trip tomorrow with the Ashland Bike Club. Have a great weekend everyone.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 22, 2013 by in Challenge and tagged , , .
Do Not Get Sick in the Sink, Please

Humor and Sex. Mostly Sex.

just a dad with disney questions

reading into things way too much...

Finding Faeries

My continuing mission to explore ... magic

Learning to Love Anywhere

it's a beautiful existence...

ffeathers

A technical writing and fiction blog by Sarah Maddox

My Hike, 2014

I don't want to get to the end of my life and regret that I didn't do this

18 Wheels and a 12-Speed Bike

It's a beautiful country, but you're going to miss most of it if you spend your free time in the truck stop lounge. Travel tips and pics for truckers and others.

kellysgratitudegarden

a gratitude offering...

Pierr Morgan

Wild Observations Walking

Karma on the Trail

"'That's good for a beginning,' said Frodo. 'I feel like walking.'"

Rejection Love Letters

or A thousand ways to say 'NO!'

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Shannon A Thompson

You need the world, and the world needs good people.

ChopperPapa

go to Chopperpapa.com

Musings of A Learning Pro

Writing, Family and More

Today's Author

Fostering a community of creative writers through articles, comments, writing prompts and a healthy, supportive environment.

Gabrielle Edits

Writing, Family and More

Annema

Anne chews the fat

Do Not Get Sick in the Sink, Please

Humor and Sex. Mostly Sex.

just a dad with disney questions

reading into things way too much...

Finding Faeries

My continuing mission to explore ... magic

Learning to Love Anywhere

it's a beautiful existence...

ffeathers

A technical writing and fiction blog by Sarah Maddox

My Hike, 2014

I don't want to get to the end of my life and regret that I didn't do this

18 Wheels and a 12-Speed Bike

It's a beautiful country, but you're going to miss most of it if you spend your free time in the truck stop lounge. Travel tips and pics for truckers and others.

kellysgratitudegarden

a gratitude offering...

Pierr Morgan

Wild Observations Walking

Karma on the Trail

"'That's good for a beginning,' said Frodo. 'I feel like walking.'"

Rejection Love Letters

or A thousand ways to say 'NO!'

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Shannon A Thompson

You need the world, and the world needs good people.

ChopperPapa

go to Chopperpapa.com

Musings of A Learning Pro

Writing, Family and More

Today's Author

Fostering a community of creative writers through articles, comments, writing prompts and a healthy, supportive environment.

Gabrielle Edits

Writing, Family and More

Annema

Anne chews the fat

