starstolenwritings

Writing, Family and More

Biking – Memorial Day Weekend

Well the nicer weather has been calling me, so let’s talk about bike riding a little bit today.

Most of the days that I’m on my bike, I get on to the Upper Charles River Rail trail (or the Milford Bike trail as you like) and ride from Fino field up to almost the I-495 crossing during lunch. That route and back, plus the amount to get me down to the trail in the first place is about 4.5 miles. If I get the opportunity after work, I’ll take it all the way to the Hopkinton line which is a 9 mile round trip.

Today, in preparing for a longer ride tomorrow, I went down to the local bike shop (Milford Bike) to pick up a couple of things and did the other section of the trail, which is not directly connected to the first section. I can’t wait for the two to be connected, but for now it is what it is. Still, the wind was whipping and even though the section is very straight and flat, I was not going anywhere quickly.

All told though, it worked out to be another 6.1 miles today and if it stays nice (it was supposed to rain this afternoon), I might get out again. Here I am on the 26th of the month (having purchased the bike on 5/1) and realize I am less than one mile shy of my 100th mile! I really wasn’t expecting to get that much in this month and I was definitely expecting to be paying for any amount of exercise. I’m glad to say I’ve come this far though.

So as I said, I’m planning on getting out for a longer ride tomorrow. I’m a little nervous it will be too much as it is 20 miles round trip with some significant hills along the way. I’m very familiar with the roads though and I’ll be riding with the Ashland Bike Club, so I’ll have some company to hopefully provide the correct amount of encouragement.

So knock on wood that tomorrow’s ride goes well, that I break the century mark and that I can still walk on Tuesday. I hope everyone is having a good Memorial day weekend.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 26, 2013 by in Biking and tagged , , , , , .
Do Not Get Sick in the Sink, Please

Humor and Sex. Mostly Sex.

just a dad with disney questions

reading into things way too much...

Finding Faeries

My continuing mission to explore ... magic

Learning to Love Anywhere

it's a beautiful existence...

ffeathers

A technical writing and fiction blog by Sarah Maddox

My Hike, 2014

I don't want to get to the end of my life and regret that I didn't do this

18 Wheels and a 12-Speed Bike

It's a beautiful country, but you're going to miss most of it if you spend your free time in the truck stop lounge. Travel tips and pics for truckers and others.

kellysgratitudegarden

a gratitude offering...

Pierr Morgan

Wild Observations Walking

Karma on the Trail

"'That's good for a beginning,' said Frodo. 'I feel like walking.'"

Rejection Love Letters

or A thousand ways to say 'NO!'

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Shannon A Thompson

You need the world, and the world needs good people.

ChopperPapa

go to Chopperpapa.com

Musings of A Learning Pro

Writing, Family and More

Today's Author

Fostering a community of creative writers through articles, comments, writing prompts and a healthy, supportive environment.

Gabrielle Edits

Writing, Family and More

Annema

Anne chews the fat

Do Not Get Sick in the Sink, Please

Humor and Sex. Mostly Sex.

just a dad with disney questions

reading into things way too much...

Finding Faeries

My continuing mission to explore ... magic

Learning to Love Anywhere

it's a beautiful existence...

ffeathers

A technical writing and fiction blog by Sarah Maddox

My Hike, 2014

I don't want to get to the end of my life and regret that I didn't do this

18 Wheels and a 12-Speed Bike

It's a beautiful country, but you're going to miss most of it if you spend your free time in the truck stop lounge. Travel tips and pics for truckers and others.

kellysgratitudegarden

a gratitude offering...

Pierr Morgan

Wild Observations Walking

Karma on the Trail

"'That's good for a beginning,' said Frodo. 'I feel like walking.'"

Rejection Love Letters

or A thousand ways to say 'NO!'

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Shannon A Thompson

You need the world, and the world needs good people.

ChopperPapa

go to Chopperpapa.com

Musings of A Learning Pro

Writing, Family and More

Today's Author

Fostering a community of creative writers through articles, comments, writing prompts and a healthy, supportive environment.

Gabrielle Edits

Writing, Family and More

Annema

Anne chews the fat

