starstolenwritings

Writing, Family and More

Purgatory Chasm

It was such a beautiful weekend and I am very glad I took the initiative and got some people together for a little walk in the woods. All total, there were 5 adults and 7 kids in our group and we spent the better part of two hours to hike through Purgatory, Little Purgatory and back. For the first hike of the year, I only heard one complaint (my daughter once we were on our way back from Little Purgatory, complaining that her heel hurt) and otherwise, we all went at our own pace. The kids scaled all kinds of rocks and even played a little in the water. I don’t have a camera, but luckily my neighbor was well armed with one.

So here’s a bit of a photo montage of the experience:

Looking down from the beginning of Purgatory

Another view looking down

Looking up from the bottom of Purgatory

Looking up from the bottom of Purgatory

Climbing up the side of Purgatory

Climbing up the side of Purgatory

Gabriel and Grayson

Gabriel and Grayson

Guenevere posing in front of the entrance to Devil's Coffin

Guenevere posing in front of the entrance to Devil’s Coffin

Dad poking his head out of the back end of Devil's Coffin, my two youngest in the foreground

Dad poking his head out of the back end of Devil’s Coffin, my two youngest in the foreground

Guenevere, Grayson and myself

Guenevere, Grayson and myself

Guenevere and my dad

Guenevere and my dad

Dad, Guenevere and my father

Dad, Guenevere and my father

Most of the kids at Little Purgatory

Most of the kids at Little Purgatory

Guenevere balancing on a log at Little Purgatory

Guenevere balancing on a log at Little Purgatory

 

5 comments on “Purgatory Chasm

  1. hobacaitbe
    May 8, 2013

    It was a good day. Unfortunately my knee really didn’t like it. I went for an MRI this afternoon, hopefully this will tell the doctors what is going on in my knee.
    Dad

    • starstealer363
      May 8, 2013

      Oh that’s too bad. Though I suppose it is better to find out after a mile of hiking instead of 5 miles in or something like that. Glad you were able to make it on Sunday.

  2. kellyburke8
    June 14, 2013

    What a gorgeous family- three generations- how lovely! LOVE purgatory chasm- thanks for generating those memories for me today. Keep writing! i’ll be following šŸ˜‰

    • starstealer363
      June 14, 2013

      Thanks Kelly. If I’m ever in your neck of the woods – I’m counting on a guide šŸ™‚

  3. Pingback: Appalachian Trail | starstolenwritings

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 8, 2013 by in Exercise and tagged , , , , , , .
Do Not Get Sick in the Sink, Please

Humor and Sex. Mostly Sex.

just a dad with disney questions

reading into things way too much...

Finding Faeries

My continuing mission to explore ... magic

Learning to Love Anywhere

it's a beautiful existence...

ffeathers

A technical writing and fiction blog by Sarah Maddox

My Hike, 2014

I don't want to get to the end of my life and regret that I didn't do this

18 Wheels and a 12-Speed Bike

It's a beautiful country, but you're going to miss most of it if you spend your free time in the truck stop lounge. Travel tips and pics for truckers and others.

kellysgratitudegarden

a gratitude offering...

Pierr Morgan

Wild Observations Walking

Karma on the Trail

"'That's good for a beginning,' said Frodo. 'I feel like walking.'"

Rejection Love Letters

or A thousand ways to say 'NO!'

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Shannon A Thompson

You need the world, and the world needs good people.

ChopperPapa

go to Chopperpapa.com

Musings of A Learning Pro

Writing, Family and More

Today's Author

Fostering a community of creative writers through articles, comments, writing prompts and a healthy, supportive environment.

Gabrielle Edits

Writing, Family and More

Annema

Anne chews the fat

Do Not Get Sick in the Sink, Please

Humor and Sex. Mostly Sex.

just a dad with disney questions

reading into things way too much...

Finding Faeries

My continuing mission to explore ... magic

Learning to Love Anywhere

it's a beautiful existence...

ffeathers

A technical writing and fiction blog by Sarah Maddox

My Hike, 2014

I don't want to get to the end of my life and regret that I didn't do this

18 Wheels and a 12-Speed Bike

It's a beautiful country, but you're going to miss most of it if you spend your free time in the truck stop lounge. Travel tips and pics for truckers and others.

kellysgratitudegarden

a gratitude offering...

Pierr Morgan

Wild Observations Walking

Karma on the Trail

"'That's good for a beginning,' said Frodo. 'I feel like walking.'"

Rejection Love Letters

or A thousand ways to say 'NO!'

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Shannon A Thompson

You need the world, and the world needs good people.

ChopperPapa

go to Chopperpapa.com

Musings of A Learning Pro

Writing, Family and More

Today's Author

Fostering a community of creative writers through articles, comments, writing prompts and a healthy, supportive environment.

Gabrielle Edits

Writing, Family and More

Annema

Anne chews the fat

