starstolenwritings

Writing, Family and More

How’s the Weather?

So April was pretty much a bust. I didn’t get myself going and ultimately did not have the mettle to force the writing out. Not sure why November is different than April, but apparently it is. I’m not going to dwell on it too much though. Time to get back to things though and with the warmer weather, there are so many things to do…

For the last few years, I’ve been biking with the kids on a old, somewhat rusty-chained 10-speed “mountain bike” (ie – what they called a mountain bike when I was a kid, but other than slightly wider and knobbier tires, it really was not much different than a road bike) with questionable brakes. When I took it out of the basement this year and remembered that the main reason I didn’t go riding much last year was because of a flat tire, I decided it was about time to spend some of the money I had been saving and get myself a bike that both fit my size and, quite frankly, wasn’t a death trap.

For the last few weeks, I’ve been talking with a few people on the subject of bikes. Basically, I was trying to figure out what features I wanted, what things I should watch out for and try to figure out what my budget was. Ultimately, I wasn’t getting much though and with the weather turning warmer, I didn’t want to be the one holding us back when the kids wanted to go for a ride. On Saturday, I went down to the local bike shop and took a couple of bikes out. I specifically did not transfer money to my checking account in order to give myself the time to think about it.

I tried out two Specialized bikes and while I really liked the second one, the first was clearly not what I wanted. On the first one, I was constantly trying to shift into gears that the bike simply didn’t have and as a result, I always felt like I wasn’t in the right gear for the speed and the incline/decline I was on.

The second one, a Sirrus, didn’t have that problem. At first I was a little apprehensive of 24-gears, but I found the shifting instantaneous and comfortable. I had a 21-speed road bike when I was a teenager and spent more time putting the chain back on than riding it, but the gearing on this one was just perfect. Before I left, the salesman suggested I try out another brand or two if I found the time, just to give myself some more perspective.

I came back to the store on Wednesday and immediately jumped on Trek’s equivalent. After pedaling down the path for about a quarter-mile though, I was ready to walk back. I’m not exactly sure what was wrong with it, but something just didn’t sit right with me. I contrasted it with another ride on the Sirrus though and it was no question.

Anyway, biking is one of my favorite forms of exercise, so I’m glad to be able to do it again. A 20 minute ride after lunch helps break up the day nicely (when my work schedule allows) and a quick ride between work and dinner is a solid second option. I figure with 20+ miles of riding a week, I might get myself back into reasonable shape. Not sure what that shape is, but I’m hoping it is reasonable.

On another note, also due to the nicer weather, I’m making plans for the first hike into Purgatory Chasm for the year this weekend. Hopefully the weather stays nice.

4 comments on “How’s the Weather?

  1. hobacaitbe
    May 3, 2013

    It’s going to be a beautiful weekend. Chasm here we come.
    Dad

    • starstealer363
      May 3, 2013

      The kids are so ready to go climbing on some rocks. Can I trouble you to bring your camera?

  2. Jill Weatherholt
    May 3, 2013

    April was a bust here in Charlotte with the exception of a few 70 degree days. So far May has been in the 60s. Where is spring??? Have a great weekend!

    • starstealer363
      May 3, 2013

      This past week has definitely felt springy to me. 60s and 70s for most of the week. Better than last year anyway – where we went from bitter cold to summer and nothing in between…

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 3, 2013 by in Exercise and tagged , , , , , .
Do Not Get Sick in the Sink, Please

Humor and Sex. Mostly Sex.

just a dad with disney questions

reading into things way too much...

Finding Faeries

My continuing mission to explore ... magic

Learning to Love Anywhere

it's a beautiful existence...

ffeathers

A technical writing and fiction blog by Sarah Maddox

My Hike, 2014

I don't want to get to the end of my life and regret that I didn't do this

18 Wheels and a 12-Speed Bike

It's a beautiful country, but you're going to miss most of it if you spend your free time in the truck stop lounge. Travel tips and pics for truckers and others.

kellysgratitudegarden

a gratitude offering...

Pierr Morgan

Wild Observations Walking

Karma on the Trail

"'That's good for a beginning,' said Frodo. 'I feel like walking.'"

Rejection Love Letters

or A thousand ways to say 'NO!'

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Shannon A Thompson

You need the world, and the world needs good people.

ChopperPapa

go to Chopperpapa.com

Musings of A Learning Pro

Writing, Family and More

Today's Author

Fostering a community of creative writers through articles, comments, writing prompts and a healthy, supportive environment.

Gabrielle Edits

Writing, Family and More

Annema

Anne chews the fat

Do Not Get Sick in the Sink, Please

Humor and Sex. Mostly Sex.

just a dad with disney questions

reading into things way too much...

Finding Faeries

My continuing mission to explore ... magic

Learning to Love Anywhere

it's a beautiful existence...

ffeathers

A technical writing and fiction blog by Sarah Maddox

My Hike, 2014

I don't want to get to the end of my life and regret that I didn't do this

18 Wheels and a 12-Speed Bike

It's a beautiful country, but you're going to miss most of it if you spend your free time in the truck stop lounge. Travel tips and pics for truckers and others.

kellysgratitudegarden

a gratitude offering...

Pierr Morgan

Wild Observations Walking

Karma on the Trail

"'That's good for a beginning,' said Frodo. 'I feel like walking.'"

Rejection Love Letters

or A thousand ways to say 'NO!'

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Shannon A Thompson

You need the world, and the world needs good people.

ChopperPapa

go to Chopperpapa.com

Musings of A Learning Pro

Writing, Family and More

Today's Author

Fostering a community of creative writers through articles, comments, writing prompts and a healthy, supportive environment.

Gabrielle Edits

Writing, Family and More

Annema

Anne chews the fat

