starstolenwritings

Writing, Family and More

February 1st: No, I am still not done.

So I didn’t have much focus on Jacoby Figurine for January. I did make some significant headway, but let’s be honest: I didn’t have enough focus on it.

Today, my brother pointed out that some people on NaNoWriMo’s forum are pledging to do 50 hours of editing in February. I doubt I’ll need an additional 50 hours to finish up this draft, but I can certainly use the focus that will come with it. So day 1, here we are and I’ve put in 1 hour of work on it. Not a lot, but it is progress and I’ll take it.

I have a few goals to finish up the second draft at this point:

1. To start with, I have the 2 remaining chapters of the story to update and change the point of view and voice. This has been the most major change from the first draft. I had a drifting third person narrator who floated into and out of people even within a chapter or scene. My reader found it very distracting; I’m certainly finding it distracting as I go through as well. In addition, the story was written in the “present” tense (though I often switched there too…) and so part of this rewrite is to pay particular attention and switch it to a past tense.

2. I have story-boarded an additional chapter that will add in some much needed detail about the figurine, the people looking to steal it and some depth of character.

3. I want to add in a few more chapters on the middle to make the ending make more sense. The ultimate source of the problem only shows up in the last chapter and while he is clearly powerful and evil, he is dealt with too swiftly to make him seem that much of a threat. I have already decided to extend the ending, so the original final chapter will probably be more like the beginning of the 3rd act (if you prescribe to that sort of cadence).

So – making progress and hoping to make more of it soon. February is going to be a productive month.

This isn't what I picture for the Jacoby Figurine, but I've always liked Atlas.

This isn’t what I picture for the Jacoby Figurine, but I’ve always liked Atlas.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 2, 2013 by in Editing and tagged , , , , .
Do Not Get Sick in the Sink, Please

Humor and Sex. Mostly Sex.

just a dad with disney questions

reading into things way too much...

Finding Faeries

My continuing mission to explore ... magic

Learning to Love Anywhere

it's a beautiful existence...

ffeathers

A technical writing and fiction blog by Sarah Maddox

My Hike, 2014

I don't want to get to the end of my life and regret that I didn't do this

18 Wheels and a 12-Speed Bike

It's a beautiful country, but you're going to miss most of it if you spend your free time in the truck stop lounge. Travel tips and pics for truckers and others.

kellysgratitudegarden

a gratitude offering...

Pierr Morgan

Wild Observations Walking

Karma on the Trail

"'That's good for a beginning,' said Frodo. 'I feel like walking.'"

Rejection Love Letters

or A thousand ways to say 'NO!'

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Shannon A Thompson

You need the world, and the world needs good people.

ChopperPapa

go to Chopperpapa.com

Musings of A Learning Pro

Writing, Family and More

Today's Author

Fostering a community of creative writers through articles, comments, writing prompts and a healthy, supportive environment.

Gabrielle Edits

Writing, Family and More

Annema

Anne chews the fat

Do Not Get Sick in the Sink, Please

Humor and Sex. Mostly Sex.

just a dad with disney questions

reading into things way too much...

Finding Faeries

My continuing mission to explore ... magic

Learning to Love Anywhere

it's a beautiful existence...

ffeathers

A technical writing and fiction blog by Sarah Maddox

My Hike, 2014

I don't want to get to the end of my life and regret that I didn't do this

18 Wheels and a 12-Speed Bike

It's a beautiful country, but you're going to miss most of it if you spend your free time in the truck stop lounge. Travel tips and pics for truckers and others.

kellysgratitudegarden

a gratitude offering...

Pierr Morgan

Wild Observations Walking

Karma on the Trail

"'That's good for a beginning,' said Frodo. 'I feel like walking.'"

Rejection Love Letters

or A thousand ways to say 'NO!'

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Shannon A Thompson

You need the world, and the world needs good people.

ChopperPapa

go to Chopperpapa.com

Musings of A Learning Pro

Writing, Family and More

Today's Author

Fostering a community of creative writers through articles, comments, writing prompts and a healthy, supportive environment.

Gabrielle Edits

Writing, Family and More

Annema

Anne chews the fat

