starstolenwritings

Writing, Family and More

Lies and Books

pinnochio

Yesterday my oldest decided to lie to me about getting his homework done earlier in the day. When he copped to it later in the evening (around bedtime), I was beside myself. I had asked him “Is your homework all done?” and his response was “Yes.” I followed up with “Did you do your reading?” and his response was “Yes Dad.” Since he had done it all, to my knowledge, he got to have his screen time with the Kindle.

But my son doesn’t lie and he certainly can’t live with it. Around 7:30, as I told all of them to curl up with a book or anything else non-electronic, he got this sheepish look on his face and confessed.

Now, I know lying is going to happen and I try not to blow things out of proportion. At least he confessed in a way that enabled him to still get the work done (albeit by staying up a little later than I wanted him to), and the work was finished for when he went to school this morning.

My youngest has been “trading” items at school as well. He’ll swear up and down that he didn’t bring anything to school and then come home with some new toy or game. I’ve talked with the teachers already once, but apparently the sneaky little kindergartners are having their swap party out in the hall and unbeknownst to the teachers altogether. No tears have been shed to my knowledge, but someone is getting a raw deal somewhere and I imagine a parent is going to get more than a little irate about it eventually.

On the other hand, these are the gray marks on my day. I do like to focus more on the positive, so let’s think about that. The other day, my youngest brought home the reading challenge worksheet which his older siblings have done before him. He has only occasionally asked to sit down and read with me and I don’t always remember to initiate with him, so the last two nights now we sat down and polished off five books together.

He’s also getting more interested in writing lately and got out a notebook and wrote while I typed away at Jacoby Figurine. Granted, he asked me to help him spell a few words, so I would get a fair amount of interruption, but it was nice to have the company while I worked at it.

Jacoby figurine is of course moving slowly. I have not been as dedicated to it as I would like. I have come to the decision that I might need some time away from it again, but on the other hand, I want to finish up this draft. I don’t want to leave it in this half-finished state. I can happily say that I am better than 50% through the rewrite of the original text, even though I feel it could benefit from another 50-60 pages of content in addition to what is already there. I’ve got 8 days to finish up the month. Can I knock it out in that time? Assuming I don’t try to add to much right now, I think that’s a possibility. I’d really like to address the remaining pieces and maybe work a little more on the items identified by my reader. We’ll see how it goes.

Certainly, I’m going to be watching a fair bit less television while I try though and that’s just a good plan overall.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 24, 2013 by in Editing and tagged , , , , , .
Do Not Get Sick in the Sink, Please

Humor and Sex. Mostly Sex.

just a dad with disney questions

reading into things way too much...

Finding Faeries

My continuing mission to explore ... magic

Learning to Love Anywhere

it's a beautiful existence...

ffeathers

A technical writing and fiction blog by Sarah Maddox

My Hike, 2014

I don't want to get to the end of my life and regret that I didn't do this

18 Wheels and a 12-Speed Bike

It's a beautiful country, but you're going to miss most of it if you spend your free time in the truck stop lounge. Travel tips and pics for truckers and others.

kellysgratitudegarden

a gratitude offering...

Pierr Morgan

Wild Observations Walking

Karma on the Trail

"'That's good for a beginning,' said Frodo. 'I feel like walking.'"

Rejection Love Letters

or A thousand ways to say 'NO!'

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Shannon A Thompson

You need the world, and the world needs good people.

ChopperPapa

go to Chopperpapa.com

Musings of A Learning Pro

Writing, Family and More

Today's Author

Fostering a community of creative writers through articles, comments, writing prompts and a healthy, supportive environment.

Gabrielle Edits

Writing, Family and More

Annema

Anne chews the fat

Do Not Get Sick in the Sink, Please

Humor and Sex. Mostly Sex.

just a dad with disney questions

reading into things way too much...

Finding Faeries

My continuing mission to explore ... magic

Learning to Love Anywhere

it's a beautiful existence...

ffeathers

A technical writing and fiction blog by Sarah Maddox

My Hike, 2014

I don't want to get to the end of my life and regret that I didn't do this

18 Wheels and a 12-Speed Bike

It's a beautiful country, but you're going to miss most of it if you spend your free time in the truck stop lounge. Travel tips and pics for truckers and others.

kellysgratitudegarden

a gratitude offering...

Pierr Morgan

Wild Observations Walking

Karma on the Trail

"'That's good for a beginning,' said Frodo. 'I feel like walking.'"

Rejection Love Letters

or A thousand ways to say 'NO!'

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Shannon A Thompson

You need the world, and the world needs good people.

ChopperPapa

go to Chopperpapa.com

Musings of A Learning Pro

Writing, Family and More

Today's Author

Fostering a community of creative writers through articles, comments, writing prompts and a healthy, supportive environment.

Gabrielle Edits

Writing, Family and More

Annema

Anne chews the fat

