starstolenwritings

Writing, Family and More

Saturday Write-in: How to Sabotage Yourself

So, the short story is that I have not completed the ending of Jacoby Figurine as I wanted. I also did not go to my informal write-in yesterday.

The reason why is something I am so disappointed about, and, quite frankly, I can be mad at no one but myself.

mad face

I am able to go to the informal write-ins because they coincide with the weekends where I don’t have my kids. What’s more is my ex and I organize to have them picked up at 9am and the write-in starts at 9am. However, this week she picked them up at 10am. That still would have left me just under 2 hours to go write, but instead of going, I decided that her change in schedule just put me in the wrong frame of mind. So I should blame her right?

No, I really can’t. See, she called a few days before and told me she wouldn’t be able to get there right at 9. So she didn’t spring this change of schedule on me, I just didn’t adjust to it.

What’s more is I could have very easily written at home during that hour and gotten things done, but I didn’t even do that.

So yes, I disappointed myself about writing yesterday and here I am admitting it. I made up for it today. While watching the Atlanta/San Fran game, I managed to knock out another 6 or 7 pages for the ending and I’m solidly on my way to finishing it up. I am not done yet, but we’ll see how much I get done during the New England/Baltimore game. Even if I don’t write more, I’ll be satisfied in knowing I did get more done today anyway.

I still am aiming to finish the rewrite by the end of the month. I think it is pretty much a pipe dream, but we’ll see. Maybe I’ll just get a surge and power through it. Maybe I’ll fail miserably, but at least I will have worked on it anyway.

So, don’t sabotage yourself. There is no good that can come out of it. And you certainly can’t blame it on anyone else either.

Happy writing!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 20, 2013 by in Editing and tagged , , , , , .
Do Not Get Sick in the Sink, Please

Humor and Sex. Mostly Sex.

just a dad with disney questions

reading into things way too much...

Finding Faeries

My continuing mission to explore ... magic

Learning to Love Anywhere

it's a beautiful existence...

ffeathers

A technical writing and fiction blog by Sarah Maddox

My Hike, 2014

I don't want to get to the end of my life and regret that I didn't do this

18 Wheels and a 12-Speed Bike

It's a beautiful country, but you're going to miss most of it if you spend your free time in the truck stop lounge. Travel tips and pics for truckers and others.

kellysgratitudegarden

a gratitude offering...

Pierr Morgan

Wild Observations Walking

Karma on the Trail

"'That's good for a beginning,' said Frodo. 'I feel like walking.'"

Rejection Love Letters

or A thousand ways to say 'NO!'

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Shannon A Thompson

You need the world, and the world needs good people.

ChopperPapa

go to Chopperpapa.com

Musings of A Learning Pro

Writing, Family and More

Today's Author

Fostering a community of creative writers through articles, comments, writing prompts and a healthy, supportive environment.

Gabrielle Edits

Writing, Family and More

Annema

Anne chews the fat

Do Not Get Sick in the Sink, Please

Humor and Sex. Mostly Sex.

just a dad with disney questions

reading into things way too much...

Finding Faeries

My continuing mission to explore ... magic

Learning to Love Anywhere

it's a beautiful existence...

ffeathers

A technical writing and fiction blog by Sarah Maddox

My Hike, 2014

I don't want to get to the end of my life and regret that I didn't do this

18 Wheels and a 12-Speed Bike

It's a beautiful country, but you're going to miss most of it if you spend your free time in the truck stop lounge. Travel tips and pics for truckers and others.

kellysgratitudegarden

a gratitude offering...

Pierr Morgan

Wild Observations Walking

Karma on the Trail

"'That's good for a beginning,' said Frodo. 'I feel like walking.'"

Rejection Love Letters

or A thousand ways to say 'NO!'

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Shannon A Thompson

You need the world, and the world needs good people.

ChopperPapa

go to Chopperpapa.com

Musings of A Learning Pro

Writing, Family and More

Today's Author

Fostering a community of creative writers through articles, comments, writing prompts and a healthy, supportive environment.

Gabrielle Edits

Writing, Family and More

Annema

Anne chews the fat

