starstolenwritings

Writing, Family and More

Introspection

I’ve been in an uncanny good mood the last few days. I can speculate on why but I think I’d rather just let it be. I am in a good mood because I am in a good mood and that is good enough for me.

gabe smiling

Tonight, I worked a bit on Jacoby Figurine. I’m in the midst of chapter 4 at this point, but the important thing to note here is that neither chapter 3 nor 4 were in the original draft. I’m forging ahead, carefully, and making sure everything I add has a purpose, but it can be slower progress than I’d like. I didn’t write anything particularly contrite tonight or anything that would send me on a spin of personal reflection, but at least I got some more done.

In addition, I’ve been doing a fair bit of reading. Every night, before turning off my light, I aim to read about a chapter in whatever book I’m reading. Right now it is an advanced copy of a book whose name won’t yet be mentioned. Let it be said though that I have a hard time reading just a chapter in this book. So despite being tired, I often push the limits on what I plan to read because the book is that good.

I’ve also been looking into other blogs to read. The other day, I was nominated for The Reality Award and the Shine On Blog Award (Thanks Jill!). I haven’t posted about it because I am not really sure I deserve the notice. That said, one of the “requirements” of acceptance of it is to post a healthy number of other blogs to nominate. While I read my sister-in-law’s blog and my father’s blog, are there enough other blogs that I would recommend to others?

The answer I came up with was that no, I didn’t know enough other blogs. Sure I follow a few others, but if I was going to really recommend some, I’d need to establish that there are some that I wouldn’t recommend.

In that search, I’ve been thinking about what I want out of the blogs I read. I read my father’s blog because I think his stories are funny and his point of view is unique and classic. I have a number of blogs to read that focus around writing, editing and other writer-ly activities, but startlingly few about other aspects.

So in short, before I talk about the above-mentioned award, I’m going to go ahead and read some more.

One comment on “Introspection

  1. hobacaitbe
    January 11, 2013

    Thanks.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 10, 2013 by in Editing and tagged , , , , , .
Do Not Get Sick in the Sink, Please

Humor and Sex. Mostly Sex.

just a dad with disney questions

reading into things way too much...

Finding Faeries

My continuing mission to explore ... magic

Learning to Love Anywhere

it's a beautiful existence...

ffeathers

A technical writing and fiction blog by Sarah Maddox

My Hike, 2014

I don't want to get to the end of my life and regret that I didn't do this

18 Wheels and a 12-Speed Bike

It's a beautiful country, but you're going to miss most of it if you spend your free time in the truck stop lounge. Travel tips and pics for truckers and others.

kellysgratitudegarden

a gratitude offering...

Pierr Morgan

Wild Observations Walking

Karma on the Trail

"'That's good for a beginning,' said Frodo. 'I feel like walking.'"

Rejection Love Letters

or A thousand ways to say 'NO!'

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Shannon A Thompson

You need the world, and the world needs good people.

ChopperPapa

go to Chopperpapa.com

Musings of A Learning Pro

Writing, Family and More

Today's Author

Fostering a community of creative writers through articles, comments, writing prompts and a healthy, supportive environment.

Gabrielle Edits

Writing, Family and More

Annema

Anne chews the fat

Do Not Get Sick in the Sink, Please

Humor and Sex. Mostly Sex.

just a dad with disney questions

reading into things way too much...

Finding Faeries

My continuing mission to explore ... magic

Learning to Love Anywhere

it's a beautiful existence...

ffeathers

A technical writing and fiction blog by Sarah Maddox

My Hike, 2014

I don't want to get to the end of my life and regret that I didn't do this

18 Wheels and a 12-Speed Bike

It's a beautiful country, but you're going to miss most of it if you spend your free time in the truck stop lounge. Travel tips and pics for truckers and others.

kellysgratitudegarden

a gratitude offering...

Pierr Morgan

Wild Observations Walking

Karma on the Trail

"'That's good for a beginning,' said Frodo. 'I feel like walking.'"

Rejection Love Letters

or A thousand ways to say 'NO!'

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Shannon A Thompson

You need the world, and the world needs good people.

ChopperPapa

go to Chopperpapa.com

Musings of A Learning Pro

Writing, Family and More

Today's Author

Fostering a community of creative writers through articles, comments, writing prompts and a healthy, supportive environment.

Gabrielle Edits

Writing, Family and More

Annema

Anne chews the fat

