starstolenwritings

Writing, Family and More

Lucky? Yes, please.

don't worry - this was years ago...

don’t worry – this was years ago…

I don’t know that I necessarily believe in luck or worry too much about it. Some days though, it is good to count your blessings. After the above accident, pretty much everyone involved was able to walk away. Sure we had bumps and bruises and some physical therapy and plenty of trauma from even driving near the scene of the accident, but no one died.

To this day I try to avoid driving near that place though, even though it isn’t an inherently dangerous place.

But to be able to say that a dozen people were able to walk away from a 3 car crash? Yeah, I’d call that lucky.

What does this have to do with writing? Nothing really. And some days, everything.

Today is one of my lucky days. I had an extraordinary day for work. I am getting a huge amount of visibility on a project I am leading and in some ways, I am concerned that it could be a major accident coming up. That said, I am lucky in that I have this opportunity.

Likewise, I reflected on the last month today and really got a chance to think about how well pretty much everything went. No I didn’t finish editing Jacoby Figurine yet, but I did make some progress. Each day that I work on it is progress and it is getting closer and closer to where I want it.

I did work some more on it tonight. I decided to break into two different scenes today and definitely like the second one that I was working with. I have departed completely from the first draft with this scene – so I am writing a new scene while cutting out another – but I think this is both more believable and more in line with what the story aims to accomplish.

All told, I didn’t write as much as I wanted tonight. I had let the kids stay up a little later than usual and that tends to cut into writing time. I can’t complain though, because while I let them stay up, all three of them cuddled up with me while I read a book to them. Life is good.

4 comments on “Lucky? Yes, please.

  1. Jill Weatherholt
    January 5, 2013

    Life is good! Happy New Year! I’ve nominated you for an award: http://jillweatherholt.wordpress.com/2013/01/05/blogging-buds

    • starstealer363
      January 6, 2013

      Wow – thanks! I’ve never been nominated before 🙂 I’ll take a look once I get a chance.

  2. hobacaitbe
    January 6, 2013

    Your grandmother told me over and over again to count my blessings, I still do today.
    Dad

    • starstealer363
      January 7, 2013

      I wish I could have gotten to know her better. Unfortunately, the only bits that I can really recall was from after she got sick.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 5, 2013 by in Editing and tagged , , , , , , .
Do Not Get Sick in the Sink, Please

Humor and Sex. Mostly Sex.

just a dad with disney questions

reading into things way too much...

Finding Faeries

My continuing mission to explore ... magic

Learning to Love Anywhere

it's a beautiful existence...

ffeathers

A technical writing and fiction blog by Sarah Maddox

My Hike, 2014

I don't want to get to the end of my life and regret that I didn't do this

18 Wheels and a 12-Speed Bike

It's a beautiful country, but you're going to miss most of it if you spend your free time in the truck stop lounge. Travel tips and pics for truckers and others.

kellysgratitudegarden

a gratitude offering...

Pierr Morgan

Wild Observations Walking

Karma on the Trail

"'That's good for a beginning,' said Frodo. 'I feel like walking.'"

Rejection Love Letters

or A thousand ways to say 'NO!'

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Shannon A Thompson

You need the world, and the world needs good people.

ChopperPapa

go to Chopperpapa.com

Musings of A Learning Pro

Writing, Family and More

Today's Author

Fostering a community of creative writers through articles, comments, writing prompts and a healthy, supportive environment.

Gabrielle Edits

Writing, Family and More

Annema

Anne chews the fat

Do Not Get Sick in the Sink, Please

Humor and Sex. Mostly Sex.

just a dad with disney questions

reading into things way too much...

Finding Faeries

My continuing mission to explore ... magic

Learning to Love Anywhere

it's a beautiful existence...

ffeathers

A technical writing and fiction blog by Sarah Maddox

My Hike, 2014

I don't want to get to the end of my life and regret that I didn't do this

18 Wheels and a 12-Speed Bike

It's a beautiful country, but you're going to miss most of it if you spend your free time in the truck stop lounge. Travel tips and pics for truckers and others.

kellysgratitudegarden

a gratitude offering...

Pierr Morgan

Wild Observations Walking

Karma on the Trail

"'That's good for a beginning,' said Frodo. 'I feel like walking.'"

Rejection Love Letters

or A thousand ways to say 'NO!'

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Shannon A Thompson

You need the world, and the world needs good people.

ChopperPapa

go to Chopperpapa.com

Musings of A Learning Pro

Writing, Family and More

Today's Author

Fostering a community of creative writers through articles, comments, writing prompts and a healthy, supportive environment.

Gabrielle Edits

Writing, Family and More

Annema

Anne chews the fat

