starstolenwritings

Writing, Family and More

Happy New Year’s Day Everyone!

I’m usually not too big on making resolutions for the new year. Quite honestly, I had dismissed 2012 as a bad year pretty much from the get-go since I knew I was going to be dealing with the divorce and I knew financially I was going to be in a tight spot for a while. Also, while I had inklings that my job might be improving, it hadn’t yet occurred by the end of 2011, so I was still in a bit of a limbo.

2012 ended up being fairly good though and it was mostly brought up on the fact that work turned suddenly really good for me and gave me a level of enjoyment I hadn’t had in years. The change of outlook on something that takes up an easy 40-50 hours per week is a big difference and I’m glad I have that change of perspective. On the other two matters, they weren’t so good, but since I was so much improved from the work outlook, I started to see other things that made my days better.

Purgatory Chasm, Summer 2012

Purgatory Chasm, Summer 2012

For example, over the spring, summer and fall, I took my kids out hiking through Purgatory Chasm or swimming at the West Hill dam nearly every weekend. Although there was a certain amount of repetition there, the chasm is diverse enough, despite its small size, to accommodate a wide variety of trips. I’m very surprised that it took the kids until November to even discover the narrow space that is called “Fat Man’s Misery” there.

car

Also, in 2012, I purchased my first ever new car. I have purchased cars that were only a year or two old, so this isn’t too significant, but I purchased it after going through three months without any sort of car of my own, so this alleviated a fair amount of stress. The piece of mind of having reliable transportation, especially when it is cheaper per month to maintain than the previous vehicle (monthly payment + insurance versus repair bill + monthly payment + insurance).

I think I am expecting to have a good year for 2013 and I really am looking forward to what it will bring.

First off, for work, I am leading the charge to unify my team onto one documentation platform. This is a huge change but necessary in order to get us working on the same page and able to produce documentation that is consistent across all of the products that we sell.

Second, I expect to finish my second cut of Jacoby Figurine. I don’t feel that I did enough on it in December, but that’s behind me now. January is here and I’m ready to cook. I’ll be ecstatic if I get this story into a final state and either publish it traditionally or even on my own.

Third, I expect to write a good deal more than I did in 2012, 2011 and 2010. This is as much about new material as it is about works that I already wrote and want to revise. A tangent to this is to write a few short stories, polish them up and send them out for publication. I will participate in and finish NaNoWriMo 2013 as well.

Next, I want to make a significant cut into my current financial situation. This is both to build up a savings that can bear the brunt of an emergency or two and also cutting down on my current debt. I made good progress on this in 2012 without focusing on it, but I want to see it really bloom this year. I have more solid numbers on where I want to be on paper and I think they are attainable. We’ll see how I do though.

I want to take my kids down to see my mother, her partner and my grandfather down in Florida. I think this is an excellent excuse to get down to Florida in general, but I don’t plan on making it a Disney-focused vacation. We’ll see how it goes though.

I’m also looking forward to seeing family come to Massachusetts who I haven’t seen in a few years. Canoeing, kayaking, hiking and possibly camping are in store for this, so I think that will be a great time.

Mount Tom in Western Massachusetts, Sept 2010

Mount Tom in Western Massachusetts, Sept 2010

Speaking of hiking, I’d like to get up a couple of mountains next year. I’ve done Monadnock probably a dozen times or more and did it again this year. If I can knock off a couple of the 4,000-footers in New Hampshire, I think that’s a good place to start. How about 6 of them? That sounds like a place to start anyway.

I’d like to read more as well. Right now I’m going through a book per month or so. I read through most of Barb and J.C. Hendee’s Noble Dead series, the second and third novel in Stephen Deas’s Memory of Flames series, two books by Sharon Shinn (read Troubled Waters and reread Shape Changer’s Wife) as well as most of Leiber’s Swords Masters (which I read as a teenager and I am rereading now). For non-fiction, I read through Finding Kansas and a part of book about organizational effectiveness that I feel wasn’t very well written.

So basically, I am looking to develop myself intellectually, professionally, physically and “vacationally.”

Good luck to everyone out there in meeting your own goals.

2 comments on “Happy New Year’s Day Everyone!

  1. Jill Weatherholt
    January 1, 2013

    Wishing you the best in 2013!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 1, 2013 by in Resolutions and tagged , , , , , , , , , , .
Do Not Get Sick in the Sink, Please

Humor and Sex. Mostly Sex.

just a dad with disney questions

reading into things way too much...

Finding Faeries

My continuing mission to explore ... magic

Learning to Love Anywhere

it's a beautiful existence...

ffeathers

A technical writing and fiction blog by Sarah Maddox

My Hike, 2014

I don't want to get to the end of my life and regret that I didn't do this

18 Wheels and a 12-Speed Bike

It's a beautiful country, but you're going to miss most of it if you spend your free time in the truck stop lounge. Travel tips and pics for truckers and others.

kellysgratitudegarden

a gratitude offering...

Pierr Morgan

Wild Observations Walking

Karma on the Trail

"'That's good for a beginning,' said Frodo. 'I feel like walking.'"

Rejection Love Letters

or A thousand ways to say 'NO!'

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Shannon A Thompson

You need the world, and the world needs good people.

ChopperPapa

go to Chopperpapa.com

Musings of A Learning Pro

Writing, Family and More

Today's Author

Fostering a community of creative writers through articles, comments, writing prompts and a healthy, supportive environment.

Gabrielle Edits

Writing, Family and More

Annema

Anne chews the fat

Do Not Get Sick in the Sink, Please

Humor and Sex. Mostly Sex.

just a dad with disney questions

reading into things way too much...

Finding Faeries

My continuing mission to explore ... magic

Learning to Love Anywhere

it's a beautiful existence...

ffeathers

A technical writing and fiction blog by Sarah Maddox

My Hike, 2014

I don't want to get to the end of my life and regret that I didn't do this

18 Wheels and a 12-Speed Bike

It's a beautiful country, but you're going to miss most of it if you spend your free time in the truck stop lounge. Travel tips and pics for truckers and others.

kellysgratitudegarden

a gratitude offering...

Pierr Morgan

Wild Observations Walking

Karma on the Trail

"'That's good for a beginning,' said Frodo. 'I feel like walking.'"

Rejection Love Letters

or A thousand ways to say 'NO!'

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Shannon A Thompson

You need the world, and the world needs good people.

ChopperPapa

go to Chopperpapa.com

Musings of A Learning Pro

Writing, Family and More

Today's Author

Fostering a community of creative writers through articles, comments, writing prompts and a healthy, supportive environment.

Gabrielle Edits

Writing, Family and More

Annema

Anne chews the fat

