starstolenwritings

Writing, Family and More

Backpedal

So today was a pretty frustrating day all around. Nothing went well at work (or more specifically, some things went very poorly and will make for a bad week if things don’t turn around quickly), homework wasn’t done as well as I would have liked for my kids and I had to fight my daughter to get her to take a shower. I thought girls were supposed to be the clean ones?

I digress.

I did get some work on Jacoby Figurine tonight. I hadn’t really done much with it in the last couple of days and I think I’ve figured out why I’ve been having trouble with it. I’m not at all fond of the scene I’m currently working on and I think the root of this problem lies on one fundamental idea: rich people would pay more for goods on the idea of it being less risky.

As a somewhat frugal person, I have a hard time with this idea. I mean, I’m not into extreme couponing, but I will patiently wait for something if I have a reasonable expectation to save some cash on it and don’t have an immediate need to fill. The idea of paying more for something because the transaction is more secure though is a little foreign to me and I’m not sure if the idea even exists in our world today. Everything pretends to be a secure transaction, but the fact is there is a lot of risky purchases that could be made out there.

Maybe I’ve already taken away the risky possible transactions because they are beyond my comfort zone; I don’t care if that product is half the price, if you aren’t a merchant I am familiar with or a store I can walk into in the US, I probably won’t be purchasing from you. Of course, Jacoby Figurine is set in a fantasy world, so I can make up my own rules. That doesn’t mean I want to though and having this “other” market where the nobles are able to purchase under the promise of security from thieves and ne’er-do-wells doesn’t seem to ring too true to me.

I’m still working on the scene. I haven’t cut it. I might edit out the part of it that indicates that it is a “rich-person’s” marketplace though. I don’t think it particularly adds to the setting ultimately and I do think I have some issue with it logically as well.

My youngest. Again - a few years ago

My youngest. Again – a few years ago

Okay – that’s the last of my kids’ pictures for now. If anyone is curious, I decided to put them up because of the events in Newtown last week. I haven’t said much about it because I honestly don’t know what to say. I did find myself looking through my old pictures and can’t believe how big they are and how quickly they are growing. I really can’t imagine my life without them.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on December 18, 2012 by in Editing and tagged , , , .
Do Not Get Sick in the Sink, Please

Humor and Sex. Mostly Sex.

just a dad with disney questions

reading into things way too much...

Finding Faeries

My continuing mission to explore ... magic

Learning to Love Anywhere

it's a beautiful existence...

ffeathers

A technical writing and fiction blog by Sarah Maddox

My Hike, 2014

I don't want to get to the end of my life and regret that I didn't do this

18 Wheels and a 12-Speed Bike

It's a beautiful country, but you're going to miss most of it if you spend your free time in the truck stop lounge. Travel tips and pics for truckers and others.

kellysgratitudegarden

a gratitude offering...

Pierr Morgan

Wild Observations Walking

Karma on the Trail

"'That's good for a beginning,' said Frodo. 'I feel like walking.'"

Rejection Love Letters

or A thousand ways to say 'NO!'

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Shannon A Thompson

You need the world, and the world needs good people.

ChopperPapa

go to Chopperpapa.com

Musings of A Learning Pro

Writing, Family and More

Today's Author

Fostering a community of creative writers through articles, comments, writing prompts and a healthy, supportive environment.

Gabrielle Edits

Writing, Family and More

Annema

Anne chews the fat

Do Not Get Sick in the Sink, Please

Humor and Sex. Mostly Sex.

just a dad with disney questions

reading into things way too much...

Finding Faeries

My continuing mission to explore ... magic

Learning to Love Anywhere

it's a beautiful existence...

ffeathers

A technical writing and fiction blog by Sarah Maddox

My Hike, 2014

I don't want to get to the end of my life and regret that I didn't do this

18 Wheels and a 12-Speed Bike

It's a beautiful country, but you're going to miss most of it if you spend your free time in the truck stop lounge. Travel tips and pics for truckers and others.

kellysgratitudegarden

a gratitude offering...

Pierr Morgan

Wild Observations Walking

Karma on the Trail

"'That's good for a beginning,' said Frodo. 'I feel like walking.'"

Rejection Love Letters

or A thousand ways to say 'NO!'

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Shannon A Thompson

You need the world, and the world needs good people.

ChopperPapa

go to Chopperpapa.com

Musings of A Learning Pro

Writing, Family and More

Today's Author

Fostering a community of creative writers through articles, comments, writing prompts and a healthy, supportive environment.

Gabrielle Edits

Writing, Family and More

Annema

Anne chews the fat

