starstolenwritings

Writing, Family and More

Nostalgia

paradox

I complain about losing a fair amount of my written work from years gone by. The fact of the matter is that I was never good about keeping backups of my documents and at the earliest of my career, I had things stored on five and a quarter inch floppies. Truthfully, I am not terribly good about keeping backups now… (runs off and throws his docs into the dropbox that he has just for this occasion).

However, I had a delicious stroll through my memory today. Well, actually, it was a stroll through a literary magazine I published while I was in high school. When I was in high school, the magazine that was published at the time was basically defunct and became a bit of a cliq unto itself. No one but members of the group could submit pieces to the magazine and reasonably expect to get in. Of course, that was my perception at the time (since I was determined to prove the world around me was against me…). However, my conviction was strong and I petitioned to create a new magazine that was completely student-run and allowed anyone to submit to it.

In my senior year, we managed to publish two issues of Paradox. I worked with a half-dozen others and we put out a quality magazine. After I graduated, I passed on the crown to an upcoming senior. In 1998, she produced one issue and passed on to the next person and they produced the fourth issue. To my knowledge, it might have died there. It was truly something special while it lasted though and I remember my first editor position very well.

And tonight, when my son was struggling over writing a poem about Angry Birds, I suggested maybe he read some other poetry and see what it was about. I dug around for a bit and found the second issue of my magazine, dusted it off and cracked open the hard-cover. Out of the 40-odd pieces in the magazine, I had selfishly included a handful of my own works, so I read them aloud to my kids. They laughed and they giggled. I have to admit – it was a lot of fun reading them. These are pieces that I wrote fifteen years ago and had completely forgotten.

They really weren’t as bad as I thought they were. I turned away from poetry some time ago because I felt I didn’t have a touch for it.

Some of the other pieces in that issue though were quite brilliant. I am astonished at how much quality was put into works at the time; I am privileged to have had the opportunity to bring a light to them.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on December 14, 2012 by in Uncategorized and tagged , , , .
Do Not Get Sick in the Sink, Please

Humor and Sex. Mostly Sex.

just a dad with disney questions

reading into things way too much...

Finding Faeries

My continuing mission to explore ... magic

Learning to Love Anywhere

it's a beautiful existence...

ffeathers

A technical writing and fiction blog by Sarah Maddox

My Hike, 2014

I don't want to get to the end of my life and regret that I didn't do this

18 Wheels and a 12-Speed Bike

It's a beautiful country, but you're going to miss most of it if you spend your free time in the truck stop lounge. Travel tips and pics for truckers and others.

kellysgratitudegarden

a gratitude offering...

Pierr Morgan

Wild Observations Walking

Karma on the Trail

"'That's good for a beginning,' said Frodo. 'I feel like walking.'"

Rejection Love Letters

or A thousand ways to say 'NO!'

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Shannon A Thompson

You need the world, and the world needs good people.

ChopperPapa

go to Chopperpapa.com

Musings of A Learning Pro

Writing, Family and More

Today's Author

Fostering a community of creative writers through articles, comments, writing prompts and a healthy, supportive environment.

Gabrielle Edits

Writing, Family and More

Annema

Anne chews the fat

Do Not Get Sick in the Sink, Please

Humor and Sex. Mostly Sex.

just a dad with disney questions

reading into things way too much...

Finding Faeries

My continuing mission to explore ... magic

Learning to Love Anywhere

it's a beautiful existence...

ffeathers

A technical writing and fiction blog by Sarah Maddox

My Hike, 2014

I don't want to get to the end of my life and regret that I didn't do this

18 Wheels and a 12-Speed Bike

It's a beautiful country, but you're going to miss most of it if you spend your free time in the truck stop lounge. Travel tips and pics for truckers and others.

kellysgratitudegarden

a gratitude offering...

Pierr Morgan

Wild Observations Walking

Karma on the Trail

"'That's good for a beginning,' said Frodo. 'I feel like walking.'"

Rejection Love Letters

or A thousand ways to say 'NO!'

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Shannon A Thompson

You need the world, and the world needs good people.

ChopperPapa

go to Chopperpapa.com

Musings of A Learning Pro

Writing, Family and More

Today's Author

Fostering a community of creative writers through articles, comments, writing prompts and a healthy, supportive environment.

Gabrielle Edits

Writing, Family and More

Annema

Anne chews the fat

