starstolenwritings

Writing, Family and More

Getting in the Right Frame of Mind

brain

I’m not really a fan of the term “writer’s block.” Ever since I was able to work through the slow periods of NaNoWriMo by just pushing myself forward, I’ve really decided that it doesn’t apply. I’m much more inclined to call it lazy or even not being in the right frame of mind to write. A good deal of time, for me, the reason why I don’t write is because I am lazy. It is so much easier to do anything else. Almost everything else will have a shorter-term in order to gain success. Success in my writing, at this point, is getting myself published though and since very little of my work is ready to be published, I’m in a tight spot.

That said, there are times when I am not in the right frame of mind. Yesterday, I had a great day and was looking forward to writing in the night. However, a brief argument with my ex and the subsequent stewing that resulted left me tired and bothered. So instead of writing or otherwise working on Jacoby Figurine, I decided to just take it easy and try to get myself out of my funk.

Today, I kept two of my kids home from school because they were coughing. Generally, I prefer them to have a fever or some other symptom than just coughing, but this is really the first time they have had anything going on this year and I could tell they could use the break. Unfortunately, the extra care means I am more tired than usual by this point in the evening, so I’m not really much in the mood to get some writing done.

I can forgive myself these transgressions. Even tonight, I wasn’t really content to do nothing though, so I put together a post of my projects. I have plenty more short stories to add later, but I wanted to get the ones that I’ve worked on in the last few years first.

Also, the other day I put together a challenges page. I’ve added this to encourage others to challenge themselves and others to write. I don’t take credit for their originality, I just take credit that I will happily do them. Seriously, if you are looking for a challenge one night, shoot me a message and we’ll set something up. I’m all for a little cheap competition among strangers. It needs more “stuff” to it, but I think it is a solid start in any case.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on December 13, 2012 by in Uncategorized and tagged , , , .
Do Not Get Sick in the Sink, Please

Humor and Sex. Mostly Sex.

just a dad with disney questions

reading into things way too much...

Finding Faeries

My continuing mission to explore ... magic

Learning to Love Anywhere

it's a beautiful existence...

ffeathers

A technical writing and fiction blog by Sarah Maddox

My Hike, 2014

I don't want to get to the end of my life and regret that I didn't do this

18 Wheels and a 12-Speed Bike

It's a beautiful country, but you're going to miss most of it if you spend your free time in the truck stop lounge. Travel tips and pics for truckers and others.

kellysgratitudegarden

a gratitude offering...

Pierr Morgan

Wild Observations Walking

Karma on the Trail

"'That's good for a beginning,' said Frodo. 'I feel like walking.'"

Rejection Love Letters

or A thousand ways to say 'NO!'

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Shannon A Thompson

You need the world, and the world needs good people.

ChopperPapa

go to Chopperpapa.com

Musings of A Learning Pro

Writing, Family and More

Today's Author

Fostering a community of creative writers through articles, comments, writing prompts and a healthy, supportive environment.

Gabrielle Edits

Writing, Family and More

Annema

Anne chews the fat

Do Not Get Sick in the Sink, Please

Humor and Sex. Mostly Sex.

just a dad with disney questions

reading into things way too much...

Finding Faeries

My continuing mission to explore ... magic

Learning to Love Anywhere

it's a beautiful existence...

ffeathers

A technical writing and fiction blog by Sarah Maddox

My Hike, 2014

I don't want to get to the end of my life and regret that I didn't do this

18 Wheels and a 12-Speed Bike

It's a beautiful country, but you're going to miss most of it if you spend your free time in the truck stop lounge. Travel tips and pics for truckers and others.

kellysgratitudegarden

a gratitude offering...

Pierr Morgan

Wild Observations Walking

Karma on the Trail

"'That's good for a beginning,' said Frodo. 'I feel like walking.'"

Rejection Love Letters

or A thousand ways to say 'NO!'

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Shannon A Thompson

You need the world, and the world needs good people.

ChopperPapa

go to Chopperpapa.com

Musings of A Learning Pro

Writing, Family and More

Today's Author

Fostering a community of creative writers through articles, comments, writing prompts and a healthy, supportive environment.

Gabrielle Edits

Writing, Family and More

Annema

Anne chews the fat

