starstolenwritings

Writing, Family and More

NaNoWriMo 2012 TGIO Party

celebrationToday was my area’s TGIO party for NaNoWriMo. This is pretty much the last time I see many of the local writers until next year. I might keep in touch with some of them via Facebook or through the NaNo web site, but otherwise, I don’t get out much. I probably should though, because they are a great group of people.

I had a great time at the party as usual, but since I had my kids with me, it took on a distinct different feel because some people decided to use more kid-friendly excerpts that wouldn’t necessarily have worried about otherwise. I appreciate their concerns and respect them for taking note of the young ears present.

I did read a short excerpt from my own work for the past month. It was the scene where the narrator realized he was being unreliable, and just trying to figure out the chaos. Of all the fifty thousand words, that short section of 500-1000 words really captured so well his despair and confusion. When I think back on the story, that is the scene that I feel made the story. I could probably cut or rewrite whole swaths of the story, and leave that section alone because I like it so much.

In other news, I also worked some more on Jacoby Figurine. I’m in the middle of the second chapter at this point and have identified areas that, as a reader, I’m already bothered about. The major issue here is transitions from one part of the story to the next, so I think adding some scenes in will help make that transition more smooth and logical.

I also noticed that I need much more character development in the first chapter because there are elements that really don’t fit in chapter two already. At the moment, these additional elements aren’t being added. I want to get through one full rewrite and fix the major style issues and then get back to the story. From memory (and from notes I already have), much of the last chapters will end up being chopped up anyway, so I’d rather know what I want to cut from them and either repurpose earlier or drop entirely.

One comment on “NaNoWriMo 2012 TGIO Party

  1. Jill Weatherholt
    December 2, 2012

    It sounds like a great party. Surviving NaNo is certainly something to celebrate!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on December 2, 2012 by in Editing, NaNoWriMo and tagged , , , .
Do Not Get Sick in the Sink, Please

Humor and Sex. Mostly Sex.

just a dad with disney questions

reading into things way too much...

Finding Faeries

My continuing mission to explore ... magic

Learning to Love Anywhere

it's a beautiful existence...

ffeathers

A technical writing and fiction blog by Sarah Maddox

My Hike, 2014

I don't want to get to the end of my life and regret that I didn't do this

18 Wheels and a 12-Speed Bike

It's a beautiful country, but you're going to miss most of it if you spend your free time in the truck stop lounge. Travel tips and pics for truckers and others.

kellysgratitudegarden

a gratitude offering...

Pierr Morgan

Wild Observations Walking

Karma on the Trail

"'That's good for a beginning,' said Frodo. 'I feel like walking.'"

Rejection Love Letters

or A thousand ways to say 'NO!'

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Shannon A Thompson

You need the world, and the world needs good people.

ChopperPapa

go to Chopperpapa.com

Musings of A Learning Pro

Writing, Family and More

Today's Author

Fostering a community of creative writers through articles, comments, writing prompts and a healthy, supportive environment.

Gabrielle Edits

Writing, Family and More

Annema

Anne chews the fat

Do Not Get Sick in the Sink, Please

Humor and Sex. Mostly Sex.

just a dad with disney questions

reading into things way too much...

Finding Faeries

My continuing mission to explore ... magic

Learning to Love Anywhere

it's a beautiful existence...

ffeathers

A technical writing and fiction blog by Sarah Maddox

My Hike, 2014

I don't want to get to the end of my life and regret that I didn't do this

18 Wheels and a 12-Speed Bike

It's a beautiful country, but you're going to miss most of it if you spend your free time in the truck stop lounge. Travel tips and pics for truckers and others.

kellysgratitudegarden

a gratitude offering...

Pierr Morgan

Wild Observations Walking

Karma on the Trail

"'That's good for a beginning,' said Frodo. 'I feel like walking.'"

Rejection Love Letters

or A thousand ways to say 'NO!'

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Shannon A Thompson

You need the world, and the world needs good people.

ChopperPapa

go to Chopperpapa.com

Musings of A Learning Pro

Writing, Family and More

Today's Author

Fostering a community of creative writers through articles, comments, writing prompts and a healthy, supportive environment.

Gabrielle Edits

Writing, Family and More

Annema

Anne chews the fat

