starstolenwritings

Writing, Family and More

Day 30: Goal 1667, Actual 0

I can’t help but feel I should have written some more today. I mean, the story was done, I had met my goal of 50,000 words, but I didn’t get the writing done today. In fact, with a series of unfortunate SNAFU’s, I actually had a much less productive day than I wanted.

Still, I am proud of myself for finishing. I am proud of my brother for finishing as well. I like going to my writing buddies page on the NaNo site and see that another person has finished that I either know personally or might have shared a forum post with at some point in the time in the past. I like seeing that people are getting it done.

nano2012-final chart

Here’s my final chart for the month. Supposedly it has two colors for below average days and two colors for above average days, but that 10k day is in there somewhere you just can’t see it (Hint: Its the 3rd Saturday). I like this chart though as it shows both the days I performed as much as I wanted, the days I still performed, but maybe not as well as I wanted and the days where I didn’t. It brings me back to where I started NaNo this year, with a quote from Chris Cleave’s 2011 NaNo Pep Talk:

The good days are when you perform; the slow days are when you learn to perform better. The only bad days as a writer are the ones when you are too cowardly or too lazy to sit down at the keyboard and give it everything you have.

I don’t consider myself cowardly or lazy for taking days off from writing during the month. On the contrary, I feel these are good days for rest and to get recharged for the other days. However, there’s a fine line between recharging and being lazy. This line is the one I don’t want to cross during the off-season.

So for the off-season, I am not sure what I will do with this blog. As planned, I am going to be working on editing Jacoby Figurine until it is done and I’ll certainly talk about that at length. Otherwise, it might be a fairly infrequent posting schedule. We’ll see though. This daily posting thing does keep me honest anyway, and having a place to publicly berate myself is appealing…

So yeah – stay tuned and we’ll see where this goes.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on December 1, 2012 by in Editing, NaNoWriMo and tagged , , , .
Do Not Get Sick in the Sink, Please

Humor and Sex. Mostly Sex.

just a dad with disney questions

reading into things way too much...

Finding Faeries

My continuing mission to explore ... magic

Learning to Love Anywhere

it's a beautiful existence...

ffeathers

A technical writing and fiction blog by Sarah Maddox

My Hike, 2014

I don't want to get to the end of my life and regret that I didn't do this

18 Wheels and a 12-Speed Bike

It's a beautiful country, but you're going to miss most of it if you spend your free time in the truck stop lounge. Travel tips and pics for truckers and others.

kellysgratitudegarden

a gratitude offering...

Pierr Morgan

Wild Observations Walking

Karma on the Trail

"'That's good for a beginning,' said Frodo. 'I feel like walking.'"

Rejection Love Letters

or A thousand ways to say 'NO!'

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Shannon A Thompson

You need the world, and the world needs good people.

ChopperPapa

go to Chopperpapa.com

Musings of A Learning Pro

Writing, Family and More

Today's Author

Fostering a community of creative writers through articles, comments, writing prompts and a healthy, supportive environment.

Gabrielle Edits

Writing, Family and More

Annema

Anne chews the fat

Do Not Get Sick in the Sink, Please

Humor and Sex. Mostly Sex.

just a dad with disney questions

reading into things way too much...

Finding Faeries

My continuing mission to explore ... magic

Learning to Love Anywhere

it's a beautiful existence...

ffeathers

A technical writing and fiction blog by Sarah Maddox

My Hike, 2014

I don't want to get to the end of my life and regret that I didn't do this

18 Wheels and a 12-Speed Bike

It's a beautiful country, but you're going to miss most of it if you spend your free time in the truck stop lounge. Travel tips and pics for truckers and others.

kellysgratitudegarden

a gratitude offering...

Pierr Morgan

Wild Observations Walking

Karma on the Trail

"'That's good for a beginning,' said Frodo. 'I feel like walking.'"

Rejection Love Letters

or A thousand ways to say 'NO!'

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Shannon A Thompson

You need the world, and the world needs good people.

ChopperPapa

go to Chopperpapa.com

Musings of A Learning Pro

Writing, Family and More

Today's Author

Fostering a community of creative writers through articles, comments, writing prompts and a healthy, supportive environment.

Gabrielle Edits

Writing, Family and More

Annema

Anne chews the fat

