starstolenwritings

Writing, Family and More

Jacoby Figurine

I’ve mentioned this story during NaNoWriMo already, but here’s a bit of background information on it:

I decided to do NaNo 2010 around July 2010. However, at the time, I hadn’t really written anything in the previous 7 years, so I was understandably nervous on just picking up writing again in November. I set myself a goal to write a story in August with a rather modest goal of 1000 words per day.

For the most part, that plan worked and at the end of the month, I had about 25,000 words and a reasonable confidence that I could try harder and do NaNo in November. Useful to this process though, I actually really liked the story I had written. I had written the bulk of the first scene without any sort of outline, but after I started on the second scene, I decided to write out where I was thinking about it going.

Once August was finished, I set the story aside and started brainstorming for ideas for NaNo and trying to get things written besides. I did plenty of stream of consciousness “Daily News” writing and sometimes I would step on upon a gem I really liked. Ultimately, I kept coming back to one particular idea that ended up driving me to flesh the whole thing out during NaNo 2010. And when I was done in that time, I decided I wanted to go back to Jacoby Figurine.

I did start my revision, but I wasn’t really sure what I wanted to do with it. I had some vague ideas of things I liked and didn’t like, but really, I realized I had so little practice in revising my own work, that I wasn’t even sure where to begin. I contacted a cousin of mine who writes and she offered to give her own perspective on the piece. It took her a few weeks, but what came back was 2500 words of comments about the general theme of the story, items she liked and didn’t like, what she felt worked and didn’t work, and then a bunch of page-by-page comments.

With that advice in hand, I did start to rewrite it anew, and with some greater push behind me, but I wasn’t getting far with it and, before I knew it, NaNo 2011 was upon me. Although I have done some additional work on it since then, I’m really only halfway through rewriting the first two scenes or so.

My plan is to get the story ready for publication. Part of this process is determining where it belongs. At 25k, it is at an awkward size for print books, but I know there is plenty I could cut if I wanted to transform it into a short story. On the other hand, I think there are layers of detail that could be added to it that would make it read better as a full novel. Ultimately, I’m leaning towards the latter, but I think the rewrite will determine that on its own.

Anyway, today, I spent some time with those first two scenes that I had already worked on. I wasn’t planning on writing with it; I just wanted to read them and get my mind wrapped in the story again. However, as often happens when you look at something you haven’t touched in a while, I found myself correcting little things here and there and making some notes of things I wanted to add more detail to.

I also reread the notes that my cousin had provided. They form my overall plan, but it was good to remind myself where I wanted to go, what I wanted to do, and have a plan.

This isn’t what I picture for the Jacoby Figurine, but I’ve always liked Atlas.

Also, for those who are still finishing NaNo this year, I got a bit of an inspiring message from my brother this morning:

Me: I’m really rooting for you as well you know. I keep coming back to the 3k short prediction you gave earlier in the month – it could be really close
My Brother: I’ve already decided it’s not going to be close. I’m taking this thing down. I’m too close to settle for almost.

He’s got a tough couple of days to produce the final words for his novel, but he is determined and that is the kind of mood you need to find yourself in when it gets close to the last few hours.

2 comments on “Jacoby Figurine

  1. Jill Weatherholt
    November 30, 2012

    I like your brother’s attitude. I’m sure he’ll meet the challenge.

  2. starstealer363
    December 1, 2012

    Well – he did in fine fashion.

    Good luck in everyone’s particular TGIO parties around the world. Mine is tomorrow and I’m definitely looking forward to it.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 30, 2012 by in Editing, NaNoWriMo and tagged , , , .
Do Not Get Sick in the Sink, Please

Humor and Sex. Mostly Sex.

just a dad with disney questions

reading into things way too much...

Finding Faeries

My continuing mission to explore ... magic

Learning to Love Anywhere

it's a beautiful existence...

ffeathers

A technical writing and fiction blog by Sarah Maddox

My Hike, 2014

I don't want to get to the end of my life and regret that I didn't do this

18 Wheels and a 12-Speed Bike

It's a beautiful country, but you're going to miss most of it if you spend your free time in the truck stop lounge. Travel tips and pics for truckers and others.

kellysgratitudegarden

a gratitude offering...

Pierr Morgan

Wild Observations Walking

Karma on the Trail

"'That's good for a beginning,' said Frodo. 'I feel like walking.'"

Rejection Love Letters

or A thousand ways to say 'NO!'

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Shannon A Thompson

You need the world, and the world needs good people.

ChopperPapa

go to Chopperpapa.com

Musings of A Learning Pro

Writing, Family and More

Today's Author

Fostering a community of creative writers through articles, comments, writing prompts and a healthy, supportive environment.

Gabrielle Edits

Writing, Family and More

Annema

Anne chews the fat

Do Not Get Sick in the Sink, Please

Humor and Sex. Mostly Sex.

just a dad with disney questions

reading into things way too much...

Finding Faeries

My continuing mission to explore ... magic

Learning to Love Anywhere

it's a beautiful existence...

ffeathers

A technical writing and fiction blog by Sarah Maddox

My Hike, 2014

I don't want to get to the end of my life and regret that I didn't do this

18 Wheels and a 12-Speed Bike

It's a beautiful country, but you're going to miss most of it if you spend your free time in the truck stop lounge. Travel tips and pics for truckers and others.

kellysgratitudegarden

a gratitude offering...

Pierr Morgan

Wild Observations Walking

Karma on the Trail

"'That's good for a beginning,' said Frodo. 'I feel like walking.'"

Rejection Love Letters

or A thousand ways to say 'NO!'

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Shannon A Thompson

You need the world, and the world needs good people.

ChopperPapa

go to Chopperpapa.com

Musings of A Learning Pro

Writing, Family and More

Today's Author

Fostering a community of creative writers through articles, comments, writing prompts and a healthy, supportive environment.

Gabrielle Edits

Writing, Family and More

Annema

Anne chews the fat

